We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best price in the area” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Inn to your Saves list
Royal Inn
2.0 of 5 Motel   |   25791 Route 37, Watertown, NY 13601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Watertown
Buffalo, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best price in the area”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Watertown has tons of over priced hotels but royal inn is by far the best value. It was very affordable had a really nice room with all the amenities of most franchises. The room had nice furniture and all new mattresses. The diner next door is great for both dinner and breakfast. Best part is the hotel is family owned and operated so they are the most helpful. They even offered to give me a ride to the Watertown airport. Definitely would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    2
    6
    0
    4
See reviews for
3
4
1
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Gananoque, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

My wife and I had booked several days ahead via Booking.com and when we arrived around 2pm, no one was to be found at the reception. I buzzed and buzzed the bell to no avail. I heard a noise at the end of the hall and located someone there to book us in. I showed her our online reservation for a non-smoking room and she said she did not have any. She showed us a substitute (smoking) room and we took it. The room was basic, as expected, but okay.
In the morning just before we were about to leave the room at about 830am, we heard someone trying to access our room door lock. They were able to open the door (there was no deadbolt), saw us, and left. This person then walked down the hall and unlocked and entered another room. We have no idea if it were a staff member (they were wearing a hoodie, but I won't pass judgement). There was no one at the front desk so we left the key as were were asked to.
We will not return!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vermont
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

In an area of overpriced motels, the Royal Inn was a find. The rooms are basic, clean, and comfortable. Cups are plastic, towels are thin, and there is no free shampoo. But our room, probably one of the more spacious, had a microwave, a fridge, an air conditioner that worked fine, and two reasonably comfortable beds. The desk person, the son of the owner I believe, was extremely friendly and helpful, and there was freshly brewed coffee in the lobby each morning. Budget travelers could do far worse.

Room Tip: Our second floor non smoking unit, in the back of the motel and above the office, was nice and quie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

The service was terrible, guy at the front desk was very rude and unhelpful. The room smelled terrible and was dirty. The people above us were making a lot of noise and the front desk refused to do anything about it. I would rather stay under a bridge than stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Watertown
6.5 mi away
Relax Inn
Relax Inn
#10 of 16 in Watertown
3.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
4.8 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites
Quality Inn and Suites
#6 of 16 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 stars 157 reviews
4.7 mi away
Comfort Inn & Suites
Comfort Inn & Suites
#5 of 16 in Watertown
4.0 of 5 stars 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum
3.0 mi away
Microtel Inn by Wyndham Calcium/Near Fort Drum
4.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Watertown-Thousand Islands
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Inn

Address: 25791 Route 37, Watertown, NY 13601
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 16 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Royal Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.