We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Fairfield Ever!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   250 Commerce Park Drive, Watertown, NY 13601   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Watertown
Rochester NY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best Fairfield Ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We stayed just one night but wish we could have stayed longer! This hotel just opend last August. It is bright and cheery, everything is immaculate, and the bed was very, very comfortable. Loved the linens on the bed. Our room had a microwave and a fridge in it, although we didn't need it. The staff was very friendly and gave us good advice regarding nice restaurants, etc. We loved it here and will go back if we have the chance!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    26
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
45
32
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gainesboro, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

This was our first trip to this area & I found this hotel via trip advisor. The rooms are clean, the bathroom was spotless & roomy. Great value/great location. Conveniently located to restaurants and shopping malls. There is a 3 story mall located within an hour of this hotel in Syracuse.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy Z, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
We're so glad you "loved it" and enjoyed your stay! We're glad you took a chance on Fairfield Inn to check it out and we certainly look forward to seeing you again in the future! (Wish shopping bags in tote!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utica, New York
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I come to Watertown annually and this hotel is now my new favorite in the area. It opened over the summer I believe so it's technically brand new. The decor in the lobby and rooms is beautiful, and the hotel is very well maintained, too.

Our room itself was very clean and so was the bathroom. They were both spotless, and we didn't find any crumbs or hair or nasty stuff in sight, which is a plus. The rooms are equipped with microwaves and mini fridges, and there's the "market" downstairs with freezer meals you can heat up in the microwave if you need to. The beds were comfortable, too, presumably because they're just as new as the hotel! We stayed for two nights and felt that our room was spacious enough and suited our needs very adequately. The heating/cooling system was run by a thermostat you could set; we did struggle with that a little at first, but then we figured it out.

Housekeeping was very friendly, and the front desk staff employees were kind too. There was a work-out room and small indoor pool, but we did not have time to use either. The location of the hotel is awesome, I think. I read that someone thought it was off the beaten path, but it really isn't at all. It's on a little side road right off of Arsenal Rd. which is the main drag in Watertown- there are a ton of places to eat on it and the Salmon Run Mall is off of Arsenal Rd. too! It's not far to get off of/onto the highway either.The hotel's situated maybe 3/4 miles off of Arsenal Rd. which is good, since it's close enough to get places, but far enough off the main drag that you don't hear the cacophony of passing traffic. This property is very close to a Hampton Inn and a Comfort Inn. (I've stayed at both those properties prior to this stay, and the Fairfield is the nicest!)

I do want to mention a little fault when we were at the hotel though... It was rather scary and unsettling to me. We woke up in the morning and when I used the toilet and went to flush it, it did not flush. Then I went to wash my hands and the sink wouldn't turn on- there was no water. We decided we'd wash our hands and everything when we got down to the lobby for complimentary breakfast. (Breakfast was free and pretty good; there were a couple of hot entrees - like eggs, bacon, sausage - available each morning to go along with the typical Continental Breakfast stuff.) Anyway, we got out of the elevator to find water gushing from the ceiling above the front desk and in the lobby area. When I say gushing, I mean gushing. It was pouring out of the light fixtures and I was fearful the ceiling would collapse altogether. Mind you, people were still just sitting in the breakfast area eating like it was nothing. I will say the dining staff tried to keep everyone calm. However, the people at the front desk trying to tend to the pounds of water dumping from the ceiling were somewhat frantic- but what can you expect from them really; I mean, I'd be freaked out in their situation too. Anyway, they had to shut off the water in all the guest rooms until they repaired a pipe that broke or something, and they just had let the remainder of the water flow, by breaking a hole in the ceiling in one part. This all went on for at least 2-3 hours. It scared the daylights out of me, and we also weren't able to shower until 11:30 AM or so. They gave everyone a late checkout who needed it because of this. We complained about the inconvenience and the manager was very apologetic and friendly in dealing with everything. She handled us very well, and gave us the night free. There's the moral of the story: Things happen that are out of a hotel's hands, but it's how the manager deals with it that makes all the difference.

We'll be returning to this Fairfield next year. I doubt there will be any more freak occurences, but just was compelled to mention this one to demonstrate how great the manager and staff at this hotel are. This is an excellent choice if you're going to be in the Watertown area.

The price is fantastic, too. We actually found that if you're traveling on the weekend, the price is cheaper if you book it a couple days before. We booked it a few months before for something in the 120s, then it went down to 110 a couple weekends before, and by the weekend of, it was even cheaper, so we called Marriott and were able to get that better rate. Plus, we had a AAA discount. For the quality of this hotel, the price is a bargain!! :)

-R.

Room Tip: No matter what side of the hotel you're on the room's going to be quiet. Ask for a room away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy Z, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Wow! Thank you for sharing your experience in such detail! There's nothing better. Our guests get a real feel for the hotel when our prior guests explain their stay so well. I really apprecaite you taking the time to do so!

Your story sure brings back the memories of that crazy day! It was a first and hopefully a last! We removed several gallons of water that day. I'm most sorry that you lost your water in your room, but unfortunantly we had to turn it right off in order to stop the madness. The clean-up efforts went well once we got the water off. The staff did an amazing job that day! I was so proud of them and very impressed with our great guests that were so understanding! So, THANK YOU!

We look forward to having you back on your next visit to Watertown without the waterfalls!

Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We stayed one night during a cross-border shopping trip. The hotel is a little hidden, located behind most of the other hotels in the same area, but it is brand new and has a very nicely decorated lobby. Check-in was efficient and the staff was friendly. Our kids enjoyed the pool - the water did seem cloudy, maybe due to too much chlorine, but we didn't suffer any ill effects if this was the case. The room was nice and pretty spacious for a budget hotel. Beds were comfortable and the breakfast had lots of choices, including the kids' favourite - the make-your-own waffles station. Overall we were really happy with our choice of hotel, particularly for the price (we used our CAA discount). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel over Easter weekend.

I was entitled to an upgrade due to the Marriott points I'd collected and the hotel reception was happy to comply. Unfortunately we required two beds in the room and they had nothing in an upgrade available to accommodate this, so we went without the upgrade.

The hotel is quite nice - very new and well-appointed. The staff is friendly and efficient.

Two minor negatives - the location is off the beaten path, which could be a positive, depending on what you're looking for. The other has to do with the complimentary continental breakfast - not bad for the price ;) but the juice available from the dispensers was extremely watered down, to the point that it was undrinkable.

Despite the above minor issues, I would recommend this hotel and plan to stay there again - I'll just plan to use my car to site-see, and I'll avoid the breakfast juice options.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christy Z, General Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for the post. We're glad you liked the hotel. I am so sorry you encountered watered down juice. I'm assuming it must have been time to change the concentrate and that it hadn't been caught just yet. We'll certainly attempt to keep a better eye on that for you so that doesn't happen again. I'm glad you will be back. We look forward to it!

Thanks.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gatineau
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights for a nice shopping therapy in Watertown and Syracuse. The hotel is nice and bright with funky designs. Loved the breakfast set-up and the food was great. For us, we had a young kid that was runing up and down, jumping off the bed over our heads,, it went until 10h30 pm and started back at 6h30 am,, the walls are thin so we could here the people sneeze, cough and just talk in the other rooms,, we told front desk,, and we were lucky they did not stay for our second night,, so was much better,, the only thing it that they had to close the pool ,, no last dip before we did our long drive back home :-( and the mattresses could have been a bit more firm,, we are tall and strong built so we were rolling in the middle,, gave us back pain,, but we are coming back in May,,, and we did ask for the 3rd floor,, no more jumping on our heads :-)

Room Tip: We had an excellant price because we are a military family,, ask for your discount :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

Clean rooms, tastefully decorated, comfortable beds. Travelled with our 2 teenage daughters. The breakfast had lots of tasty choices and healthy options as well. Large dining area with ample seating for hotel guests. Fairly new hotel and the fitness room had wonderful commercial grade treadmills. Very nice for a hotel. We stayed at the end of a hallway and had a very quiet room. Didn't use the pool so I can't really comment on it, I did observe that it is rather small. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands

Address: 250 Commerce Park Drive, Watertown, NY 13601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 16 hotels in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only Fairfield Inn & Suites by Marriott® gives you confidence that your trip will be a success because we consistently deliver a hotel experience that's just right. We provide you with just what you need, and skip what you don't, so travel is easy and productive. Our knowledgeable and courteous staff is available to help 24 hours a day. Take advantage of our complimentary amenities at every Fairfield Inn & Suites, including breakfast, in-room high-speed Internet and Wi-Fi in the lobby. Enjoy comfortable and spacious guest rooms that allow you to work and relax. Relax and unwind with our plush mattresses and fluffy pillows. Or work off some steam in our pool and exercise room. Whether you're traveling for business or pleasure, Fairfield Inn & Suites provides everything you need to make the most out of your stay. Great value and great service, all backed by a name you can believe in: Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Watertown Thousand Islands, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.