We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Arsenal Street, Watertown, NY 13601 (Formerly Travelodge Watertown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Watertown
Belleville, Ontario
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

This isn't an awful place and certainly we didn't feel unsafe but, even with the price factored in, it was a poor experience.

The staff were very friendly so 4 stars for them. The halls were pretty dirty but the room was ok. The wifi was spotty and did not work in our room (it worked fine in the lobby). The worst part was the location of the room. If you get a room on the south side of the hotel you are quite literally next to the roadway and it's unacceptably noisy when trying to sleep. Turning on the fan on the AC unit helped but did not drown it out. The price was right but unfortunately the experience matched it.

The best thing about this Inn is that is right across the street from a great Italian restaurant called Pete's Trattoria! However, there are other lodging options within a short drive to Pete's and we'll likely choose on of them next time (and still go back to Pete's!) .

Room Tip: Ask for lodging on the North side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    7
    13
    24
See reviews for
12
21
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chandler, Arizona
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

If CLEANLINESS isn't a big deal for you...this might be a great value for you. We don't fall into that category. We know it's a motor hotel, but or the price ($70ish) we expected WAY more... Like a paycheck for cleaning our rooms!
Pro: not horribly expensive (although we still didn't consider it a good value-- read "cons" below); "Carrie" from the front desk tried very hard to provide great customer service (she's the only reason this place didn't get a TERRIBLE rating from us); didn't feel unsafe; car was OK overnight; in spite of smoky-smelling lobby, our rooms on the 2nd floor (at the end) didn't smell of smoke. Also the hotel did not appear on the online bedbugregistry list of known-problem hotels. Beds were decently comfortable, but we didn't trust cleanliness of the comforters & the uncleanliness combined with loud road noise made for a less than restful night's sleep.
CONS:
- When we pulled up to the hotel to check in, a very loud car alarm was going off in the adjacent parking lot (for hotel guest use). Not their fault, but when combined with other details, it created a horrible first impression.
- Lobby is next to "smoking wing" of the hotel, so upon entering we were assaulted with the smell of stale cigarettes. We worried that our rooms wouldn't SMELL like non-smoking rooms in spite of their designation (but they were fine in THAT respect). Some of the smoking wing guests smelled, as they walked through the lobby, like they'd been smoking something more "potent" than cigarettes...Again, not the hotel's fault, but poor first impression.
- Lobby, stairway to 2nd floor, hallway, and room were all less than "clean." Upon entering our 2 second floor rooms, we immediately inspected the 2 bathrooms for cleanliness (clean really matters to us). Toilet in one bathroom had 3 dark brown streaks from the underside of the lip into the water. Both bathtubs had hair and dirt in them. Carpets had visible hair on them, especially bad in hallway and the steps were filthy. We immediately called down to Carrie, the nice woman who checked us in and had informed us that we had the last 2 rooms and that the other hotels in town were sold out. When she heard about the bathrooms, she went herself to the housekeeping closet, got some cleaning supplies, and spent a good 20 minutes trying her best to clean out the toilets and bathtubs. Turns out, the dark brown streaks in the toilet didn't budge...not sure if that's a good thing or a bad thing...? We appreciated her efforts very much, and she was apologetic while explaining that she's not with housekeeping but would do her best to make us happy. We felt bad asking her, especially at 10:30 on a Saturday night... But the rooms weren't free... She had a great attitude and her manager should thank her profusely for the bump up in our rating from TERRIBLE to only POOR.
- After Carrie's kind efforts, we still got out our antibacterial wet wipes to go over the toilet seat, faucet handles, door knobs, light switches, etc. Let's just say, we went through several wipes because things were filthy (especially the toilet seat, which we watched Carrie clean!)! We wouldn't walk barefoot anywhere in our rooms, nor put anything in the fridge. The place just didn't feel clean! If we'd arrived earlier and weren't so exhausted, we would've looked for other options. We took Carrie at her word that other places in town were sold out and sending RodeWay their overflow.
- During the night, we heard a lot of street noise (cars peeling out, sirens, etc.) So although we were exhausted after a cross-country flight, we still didn't rest well. The beds weren't bad for comfort, but we examined the sheets carefully (looked OK) and didn't use the comforter, given the other cleanliness issues we didn't want to chance it!.
- Overall, we were disappointed in the cleanliness, and did not think it was a "value" considering that so much cleaning had to be done after we got to our rooms. We'd booked the room before the most recent poor review had been posted. The July review wasn't too bad, so we took a chance on this place (and lost).
- "Cheap" does not NEED to equate to "unclean." Luckily we are much happier at the following night's stay in Nappanee, Ontario, Canada at the Fox Motor Inn.

Room Tip: Check your room carefully for cleanliness (if you care and if you have time to switch hotels if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seville, Spain
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

The hotel had 2 wifi network, one of them was short-range and didn't reach enough my room (I had to go out to to the corridor to get connected), and the other one didn't work. Finally,during the check-out, I left 2 postcard to the reception woman to be posted, but never arrived to destination, so I guess she lost my postcards.

Regarding the breakfast, if you were going downstairs late, you couldn't find anything, because there was no orange juice, the trash full to the top, and everything dirty.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

Driving back from a weekend in the Daks and it was getting too late to keep driving. All we wanted was a clean, quiet place to get some shut eye and this inn was perfect. The staff were super friendly when I called ahead, when we checked in, and in the morning when we checked out. The room was super clean and comfy. It's basic of course but that's what we wanted. The free breakfast was great with waffles and lots of extras. If I need a place to sleep coming through Waterrtown again, I will absolutely head back to this place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carleton Place, Ontario, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We just recently stayed here for 3 days. The room itself could use a paint job, but other than that, it was clean & comfortable, The Staff were extremely helpful & friendly. The rates were excellent. There was not a lot of water pressure in the shower, but it still worked good. Some hotels we have stayed in, the water temperature would fluctuate dramatically, but it didn't do that here. Our room had a fridge, microwave, coffee pot, A/C, all the things required to make our stay comfortable. We enjoyed our stay & would recommend staying here! Also, it was one of the few motels that still offered a smoking room, which we really appreciated as we are smokers. We will stay here again the next time we visit Watertown, NY. :)

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

I've been here a few times lately. Stayed in a few different rooms. First, room 203 does most definitely have that nasty stain on the side of the mattress as a previous reviewer posted. It's definitely not blood(as the previous reviewer suggested, most likely coffee) but the owners refuse to even admit that the stain is there, they won't even walk themselves to the room to check.
I overheard another guest asking for shampoo because there was none in his room. It was around 10 pm. He was told that housekeeping would bring him some the next day. House keeping visited my room around 11:30am the next day. How would that gentlemen start his day with no shampoo until after breakfast!!!!!!!! You can't just get some shampoo for him!?!??! Why? Because you're lazy! You expect people to pay you, but you don't want to do anything to take care of your guests.
You're angry at anyone who has a problem with their room. Instead of being angry. FIX THE PROBLEM. It's your job!!! And it's your fault there's a problem. It's not the guests fault there's no shampoo. It's yours! It's not the guests fault you charge people for a night stay after they cancel their reservation. It's yours!! Would you pay for a room you didn't use??? No, you wouldn't. But you expect everyone else to.
You're rude with people on the phone. You tell people who call to speak with a guest, not to keep calling back if the person isn't in the room. That's ridiculous. That person won't ever come back because of YOU!!! And how bad you treat people.
You think just because you have cheap rates that people will stay with you. That's just not true. I will gladly pay more money to get GOOD SERVICE. You serve expired jelly in your cramped breakfast area that seems to never get swept or mopped or anything! The tables are sticky and the chairs are covered in dust.
The people staying in your hotel are the people that feed you and pay your bills. If you expect someone else to give you money for a room so that you can pay your bills, then maybe you should get up and do some work, stop being lazy and make your hotel a friendly place to stay. It's not your rooms, it's not the bedding, it's not the other hotels. IT'S YOU.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I found this to be a perfect place to stay while spending a weekend shopping in Watertown. It's not much to look at from the outside but don't be deceived. Upon entering we were suprized at how spacious and clean the Lobby and adjoining breakfast areas were. We were checked-in promptly and cheerfully by a very friendly staff member.
We had a standard sized room with a queen-sized bed, mid-sized fridge, microwave, coffee maker and good sized TV which made things a little tight for the two of us to move around at the same time, but this was not a problem for us as we only wanted a place to lay our heads at night.
The room was clean, and had a large window which opened all the way which was great for letting in the fresh air. (I turned on the large air conditioner once for about ten minutes after returning to the room from a few hours of shopping and it cooled the room quickly).
This place met our criteria perfectly for clean, safe(24 hr. desk clerk), and economical accommodations, and we will definitely return on our next visit to Watertown.
,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemant1340, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking some time in order to put some good review for us.
I am really happy that you liked your stay at our Rodeway Inn Hotel in Watertown, NY.
We really appreciate your comments because people like you help us in making our services better for future customers.

Thank you again!
Hemant Panwala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 652 Arsenal Street, Watertown, NY 13601 (Formerly Travelodge Watertown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in a prime area very close to all dining restaurants & shopping areas on Arsenal Street in Watertown, NY. I am very happy to inform you that we have entirely renovated our facility to ensure our customers and their family a wonderful stay at our hotel. I am also pleased to announce that to better serve our community; we have lowered our rates so that all soldiers can lodge at more affordable price! Rodeway Inn offers a very comfortable setting with complimentary breakfast along with Belgium Waffles starting at 6:00 AM every day. We offer free Wi-Fi internet in every rooms. A business center with 2 computers & printer along with free incoming or outgoing fax services is available in the lobby for our guests to use while staying with us. We have a 32" flat screen LCD TV plus an activity table with 2 chairs in our newly constructed rooms with 2 Queen Beds. All our guest room comes with amenities such as: Individual AC/Heating Units, Fridge, Microwave, Safe Deposit box for laptop computer & personal belongings, Alarm clocks with AM/FM Radio, Digital Cable with HBO, Coffee machines, Hair Dryer and Iron with Ironing Board. Wake up calls are also provided upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Watertown
Watertown Travelodge
Watertown Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Watertown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.