We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic, clean, and comfortable.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rodeway Inn

Save Saved
You added Rodeway Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rodeway Inn
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   652 Arsenal Street, Watertown, NY 13601 (Formerly Travelodge Watertown)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 16 hotels in Watertown
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
“Basic, clean, and comfortable.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

My wife and I found this to be a perfect place to stay while spending a weekend shopping in Watertown. It's not much to look at from the outside but don't be deceived. Upon entering we were suprized at how spacious and clean the Lobby and adjoining breakfast areas were. We were checked-in promptly and cheerfully by a very friendly staff member.
We had a standard sized room with a queen-sized bed, mid-sized fridge, microwave, coffee maker and good sized TV which made things a little tight for the two of us to move around at the same time, but this was not a problem for us as we only wanted a place to lay our heads at night.
The room was clean, and had a large window which opened all the way which was great for letting in the fresh air. (I turned on the large air conditioner once for about ten minutes after returning to the room from a few hours of shopping and it cooled the room quickly).
This place met our criteria perfectly for clean, safe(24 hr. desk clerk), and economical accommodations, and we will definitely return on our next visit to Watertown.
,

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemant1340, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking some time in order to put some good review for us.
I am really happy that you liked your stay at our Rodeway Inn Hotel in Watertown, NY.
We really appreciate your comments because people like you help us in making our services better for future customers.

Thank you again!
Hemant Panwala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    5
    6
    7
    13
    24
See reviews for
12
21
7
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

I needed a place to crash on my travels and stayed at the Rodeway, It was clean and comfortable and I didn't have any issues. The owners (I think) went out of there way to make sure I was comfortable.

I would stay again oin my way through.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie L, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
We're very happy you enjoyed your stay with us. If there's anything that could have made your stay even better, just let us know!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, New Jersey
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel with my 14 month old daughter. I am always very weary about where we stay as I want to be in a safe area that is also affordable. The hotel has clearly been remodeled. Its not perfect, but its worth the money if your working class or a traveling family. The room was clean and the staff friendly. Did not stop down for the breakfast except to grab a bagel and some juice for the baby, but it was nice to have something to eat when we were on our way out. If your looking for something affordable and comfortable then this is the place for you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemant1340, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking some time in order to put some good review for us.
I am really happy that you liked your stay at our Rodeway Inn Hotel in Watertown, NY.
We really appreciate your comments because people like you help us in making our services better for future customers.

Thank you again!
Hemant Panwala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013 via mobile

I don't understand what all the problems were for the past reviews, but whatever the case this place must have completely changed. I was put in a new 2 queen bed room which was very nice. The staff was great and I enjoyed the breakfast waffles as well. To all the past reviews if your wanting the Hilton then spend some more money and stay there. Im a poor working class man and this place was great for myself and my family. Thanks again for the stay!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemant1340, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking some time in order to put some good review for us.
I am really happy that you liked your stay at our Rodeway Inn Hotel in Watertown, NY.
We really appreciate your comments because people like you help us in making our services better for future customers.

Thank you again!
Hemant Panwala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Dirty, dirty, dirty! I wish I had seen the reviews BEFORE booking! It's dirty, it smells and its loud! Their free breakfast sucks! My choice of beverage was cranberry juice or coffee with no real cream. The stairs and hallways are so dirty, it's sick!
Shame on Hotwire for having this place on their site!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie L, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
I do greatly apologize for the experience you had at the Rodeway Inn. I'm the new manager here and I assure you I'm doing everything I can to bring the hotel back to the standard that you, not only expect, but deserve! I do thank you for your review, as it has certainly helped me to put together a well detailed plan to get us back on our feet. Thanks again!



Very Sincerely,
Stacie L
MGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manlius, New York
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

I've stayed here several times. It's not the Ritz-Carlton for sure. However, Watertown, NY is an expensive place to stay. Why? I have no idea - maybe the demand from Ft. Drum and it's soldiers (and family's) pushes the price up. I can stay in a Hilton in Long Island or New Jersey for less than I can stay in a comparable place in Watertown.

The Roadway Inn is a budget hotel. Rooms are smaller and amenities are few. However, the rooms are clean and quiet. Granted, traffic on Arsenal St. is always present; however, this is a small city and it dies down after 10pm. Plus, there is a great restaurant (Pete's) right across the street.

Only complaint is the carpet on the main stairway - it's always dirty. Don't know why they can't run a vacuum cleaner over this part of the hotel. The floors in the rooms are always spotless...spend a few minutes on the common areas!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hemant1340, Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 22, 2013
Thank you for taking some time in order to put some good review for us.
I am really happy that you liked your stay at our Rodeway Inn Hotel in Watertown, NY.
We really appreciate your comments because people like you help us in making our services better for future customers.

Thank you again!
Hemant Panwala
Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

After driving for 5 hours on our way upsate, my husband and I needed a place to just crash overnight. As we pulled into the parking lot we noticed a guy coming out of the bushes, then he just hung out in the lot. We sat in the car and decided to wait him out. He finally left and we proceeded to go inside. The second clue we knew it would be a problem is the "one hand" bandit would not honor the rate he quoted us on the phone. It was only a ten dollar difference, so we shrugged it off. But before registering, we asked to see the room -as we always do if the establishment looks shady. He agreed to let us see the room, and took us to a room around the corner from the desk. It was the smelliest room we had ever been in! My husband checked the bathroom and I checked the bed. Both were less than desireable in the clean department. We walked out the room and I inquired about the safety of the parking lot and he replied "Are you always this picky?". That comment cemented our feelings to walk. We told him we would go grab a bite to eat and will be back if we decided to stay. We got halfway through the lobby when he shouted from behind the desk "[--]!". It took a bit for me to restrain my husband from going back in there to confront him. So for lacking in safety, cleanliness and professionalism, I would recommend any and everyone to stay clear of this fleabag spot! We ended up getting a room down the street at the EconoLodge for $15 well spent dollars more! The staff was superb, room was clean and comfortable, and breakfast the next day more than made up for the price difference.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stacie L, Front Office Manager at Rodeway Inn, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
I do greatly apologize for the experience you had at the Rodeway Inn. I'm the new manager here and I assure you I'm doing everything I can to bring the hotel back to the standard that you, not only expect, but deserve! I do thank you for your review, as it has certainly helped me to put together a well detailed plan to get us back on our feet. Thanks again!



Very Sincerely,
Stacie L
MGR
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rodeway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rodeway Inn

Address: 652 Arsenal Street, Watertown, NY 13601 (Formerly Travelodge Watertown)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 16 hotels in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rodeway Inn 1.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are located in a prime area very close to all dining restaurants & shopping areas on Arsenal Street in Watertown, NY. I am very happy to inform you that we have entirely renovated our facility to ensure our customers and their family a wonderful stay at our hotel. I am also pleased to announce that to better serve our community; we have lowered our rates so that all soldiers can lodge at more affordable price! Rodeway Inn offers a very comfortable setting with complimentary breakfast along with Belgium Waffles starting at 6:00 AM every day. We offer free Wi-Fi internet in every rooms. A business center with 2 computers & printer along with free incoming or outgoing fax services is available in the lobby for our guests to use while staying with us. We have a 32" flat screen LCD TV plus an activity table with 2 chairs in our newly constructed rooms with 2 Queen Beds. All our guest room comes with amenities such as: Individual AC/Heating Units, Fridge, Microwave, Safe Deposit box for laptop computer & personal belongings, Alarm clocks with AM/FM Radio, Digital Cable with HBO, Coffee machines, Hair Dryer and Iron with Ironing Board. Wake up calls are also provided upon request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia and Venere so you can book your Rodeway Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Watertown
Watertown Travelodge
Watertown Travel Lodge
Travel Lodge Watertown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rodeway Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.