We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local animals” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New York State Zoo

New York State Zoo
1 Thompson Park, Watertown, NY 13601
(315) 782-6180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Attractions in Watertown
Attraction details
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Local animals”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2014

The first time we visited I was disappointed. We had expected to visit a larger zoo with the typical animals you would find, not one filled with local animals and a petting zoo. However the enclosures are large and the animals were active when we went. We came back a year later and took part in "Boo at the zoo" it's a nice place to spend an hour or so before heading to Thompson park next door.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    27
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Potsdam, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Much improved since I went years ago. A nice afternoon!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Hadn't visited in several years and had heard good things had happened since then, so stopped by to check it out. It was very well maintained, the exhibits all looked great - filled with lots of vegetation, hiding spots, and things for the animals to interact with. The animals themselves looked good too. It was early afternoon and lots of them were sleeping in the sun, but the bears entertained us climbing trees for quite a while! The butterfly house was staffed with a very helpful staff member who made sure to point out caterpillars and eggs on the leaves. The "night" exhibit was great too - a nice chance to see some animals up close you wouldn't normally see. A nice place to spend a couple of hours with the kids.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, New York
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful Small Zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014

This was my first trip here. I was very impressed! The habitats blend secure enclosures with nature! The animals seem to be very well adjusted & happy. My favorite exhibits were the black bear & the wolves! The black bear was VERY entertaining! She had all of us viewers in stitches laughing so hard. The staff are friendly, helpful, & informative. I highly recommend this for people of all ages including the very young!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“quaint small zoo”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

we spent approximately one and half hours at this zoo, which was a good amount of time, not enough time for children to get bored, very clean and friendly staff.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“A quiet, pleasant morning”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

With my dad and 3 year old in tow, we made a trip to the zoo on a weekday morning. The entrance cost was not expensive, and there were only at most a couple dozen other people, which made the visit seem more intimate and personal. My daughter was able to enjoy running around, and I had no worries that she would be in the way of other people. The smaller size allowed her to become more involved in the experience, rather than spending the whole trip tired in a stroller. The grounds and animal areas were well maintained, and the walk through was enjoyable. The animals are all native, or had once been native, to New York State. It provided entertaining moments for us, as well, as the animals were more active than I've seen in other locations ( particularly the black bear). All in all, a very pleasant way to spend a couple hours in the morning. It doesn't take long to get around the park.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York State Zoo also viewed

 

Been to New York State Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York State Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.