We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to spend a couple of hours” 4 of 5 stars
Review of New York State Zoo

New York State Zoo
1 Thompson Park, Watertown, NY 13601
(315) 782-6180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 16 things to do in Watertown
Attraction details
NJ
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend a couple of hours”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

The zoo is very clean and had lynx, puma, wolves, wolverines, bald eagles, otters, and moose among its animals. It also has a butterfly house. We had a lovely visit.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    26
    14
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kanata, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Not much but good experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

Small zoo, the best was the baby black bear. Our kids spent an hour at that section. Park needs a facelift with more animals and attractions.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Right At Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

My family loves the Thompson Park Zoo.. We do feel right at home. Most animals at the zoo are native to the northern NY area. We have a Grandparent membership and take our grandchildren quite often. A favorite at the zoo is the butterfly house. Watching the otters swim and play is really entertaining. We are looking forward to watching the new bear cub grow. At Christmas the Zoo now has decorative holiday lights and displays. They are just beautiful to look at as you walk through the zoo. If you are in the area please stop by. You will not be disappointed.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watertown, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“zoo with animals native to the north country”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The NYS Zoo at Thompson Park in Watertown NY, is in a lovely location in the city. It is for families and couples alike. There is a playground on the property, lots of parking, and plenty of places to have a picnic.
The zoo itself has many animals that naturally live in the north country, including farm animals and a petting zoo. My favorite place, and I have never seen another one like it, is the butterfly house. This special enclosure has butterflies in every stage, from caterpillars to cocoons and grown butterflies.
If you have a couple of hours or an afternoon to spend in Watertown, this is a fun, relaxing place to visit.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Nice familiarization of northern NY animals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

If you are looking for giraffes and elephants, this place is not for you. If you want a place that you and your kids can get acquainted with the North Country, this place is ABSOLUTELY for you. Our family was an annual member for four years-stopping our membership only because we left. When we left, our daughters were 9 and 7, and son 4. Even at that age, they never got tired of going and learned something new every time. This is one of the few zoos that is as active in the winter as the summer-because the animals are NY native. The zoo also entertains groups such as scouts and school classes for activities such as demonstrations and even sleep overs. Simply a great place. Thank you to the staff, Watertown and the donor members for keeping it going!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York State Zoo also viewed

 

Been to New York State Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York State Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.