We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Day” 3 of 5 stars
Review of New York State Zoo

New York State Zoo
1 Thompson Park, Watertown, NY 13601
(315) 782-6180
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 16 Attractions in Watertown
Attraction details
Clayton, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Fun Day”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

This is a very nice zoo for the local area. Very well run with animals well cared for. Good place to take the kids for the day!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    27
    13
    2
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Evans Mills, New York
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place to visit and for ALL ages!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012 via mobile

I really enjoyed this zoo!! My husband and I came here and had a really good time! There were a couple things closed down when we came and we didn't get to see some of the animals.....kinda disappointing. Overall great attraction and highly recommended if visiting the North Country!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice Zoo. Small enough to see in a couple hours yet lot's of fun!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2012

Don't expect Panda Bears and Lemurs.
Expect Wolverines, Bears, Elk, Wolves, Bobcat, Lynx, Mountain Lions, Eagles, Otters, and a bunch of other animals that are from New York State or were once from NYS.
The entrance fee is low enough that I take my 4 year old daughter here several times a year.

Nice wide paths lead you around to the different animal habitats. Some of the animal habitats are large enough to give the critters room to roam, but they can also hide and are sometime hard to see. The Zoo has some great interactive displays indoors in the main building. The "night animal" house is being renovated, but that is cool too. Also, there is a section with some farm animals like pigs, chickens, donkeys and llamas. There is a snack bar available and clean restrooms. We always end our visit with a few minutes on the big playground nearby at Thompson Park.

This is a perfect place to spend a few hours outdoors. If you or your kids like animals you will love it. Plan on visiting at least an hour after they open so most of the animals are in their habitats. If you go too early they may still be in their cages for the night...

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
23 attraction reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Small packs a great punch!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

This place is a great attraction for this smaller community of water town. It may not have the hugest selection as the San-Diego Zoo does but who does. For what this zoo has it has made the exhibits amazing and beautiful. Our favorite was the otter exhibit I would have to say much better the the San Diego zoo's one. The otter's were so very playful and lively, and were in a position to been seen and not to have a place to hide very enjoyable. Will most certainly be coming back to this again and again!!

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
“Good place to spend the day with the kids.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

This zoo is part of a lovely old city park. Bring a lunch and have a picnic and then visit the zoo. It is not the Bronx Zoo or Sandiago Zoo but it is a nice day with the kids.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed New York State Zoo also viewed

 

Been to New York State Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage New York State Zoo, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.