We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“don't stay in this motel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rainbow Motel

Save Saved
You added Rainbow Motel to your Saves list
Rainbow Motel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Rainbow Motel
1.5 of 5 Motel   |   24480 State Route 12, Watertown, NY 13601   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in Watertown
Tel Aviv, Israel
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“don't stay in this motel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

terrible ,dirty ,old motel with vry old facilities

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    0
    0
    2
    6
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    1.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2 of 5 stars
  • Value
    1 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    1.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Binghamton, New York
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2011

My band stayed here one night awhile back when we were on tour. All of the other motels/hotels were booked so we drove around and found this one. When we pulled in, I noticed a small tree growing in what used to be a swimming pool. As soon as I stepped into my room, the smile was wiped off my face. There was a cockroach in the tub, the TV was broken and found a pair of brown underpants in one of the beds. We did have quite a friendly welcome from the guy working at the desk though! It does beat sleeping in a car with a bunch of smelly dudes, but not by much.

Probably one of the most miserable yet most hilarious nights on the tour.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bellvue, NE
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2010

The entry into the room is about 12 inches high , hard to get in, The mirror in bathroom is to high could not see oneself. Water temperature was extremely hot. Curtains are frayed and very old. stained walls in bathroom. Overpowering smell when entering room of potpourri. Windows old and not secure and hard to open and close. However , the bed was very comfortable and clean towels daily.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2010

You will be very, very sorry. I do mean sorry!!!!!!!! If for some reason you do bring Bug Spray. Tape for cracks in windows and doors and noseplugs for the smell and that is just the tip of the iceburg. PLEASE DO NOT DO IT!!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2010

Probably the grossest place I've ever stayed at - and we are budget travelers. Where to begin - The stairs going up were treacherous. The room was tiny and very, very shabby, there was an ashtray in a nonsmoking room, cigarette burns on the disgusting looking chair, old, yucky curtains that barely closed, and gross, ancient upholstery. It was filthy under the microwave (not that we dared to eat there). The sheet DID NOT EVEN COVER THE WHOLE (old, gross mattress) BED! When we went down to ask for another sheet, the proprietor didn't want to give us one, saying that "it was a full-size sheet on a king-size bed" as if that explained it! We did not see any bugs, but from what I've read about bedbugs, if they were anywhere, they'd be there. But thank goodness we only encountered flies. We didn't dare to shower, and got up early and high-tailed it out of there. I'm still recovering.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happy Valley-Goose Bay, Canada
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2010

It was stinking, old, the carpets and curtins were there since the 60's. The tiles on the ceiling were stained and leaking, towels were yellow and stained, would not dare get a shower. Got up in the morning to a large puddle of water on the bathroom floor. No security, the windows don't lock. The only thing that kept me from sleeping in the truck was I had kids with me, and just spent 2 hrs or more looking for a hotel from an 8 hour run so it was like 11pm and all the hotel in watertown were booked solid. The only thing good abour this hotel was a comfortable bed and fresh smelling sheets.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for rooms, adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rainbow Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rainbow Motel

Address: 24480 State Route 12, Watertown, NY 13601
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 hotels in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rainbow Motel 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Rainbow Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rainbow Hotel Watertown

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rainbow Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;