We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Washington Street, Watertown, NY 13601 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Carriage House Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #6 of 16 hotels in Watertown
Ontario
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Terrific value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Spent 2 nights here and was more than satisfied with our choice. The staff was pleasant and helpful all weekend. Our room met with the 3 C's..... clean, comfortable and cwiet. Our room
came with a king size bed and large flat screen TV. The buffet breakfast while not extravagant
was all we needed to start our day off nicely. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for letting us know how your recent stay with us was. I am glad that our staff took good care of you while you were with us and that your room met with the 3 C's. If you have any suggestions of items you would like to see possibly added to our breakfast buffet please let me know. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Watertown.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    78
    120
    80
    30
    30
See reviews for
111
98
22
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oshawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

No problems at all, all was well. Well worth the money. Staff excellent and a nice buffet breakfast. Adequate parking. Nice indoor pool and sauna Hotel is a little dated but that added to its charm. Centrally located to shopping and lots of restaurants

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our property. I enjoy hearing positive comments about our staff. I am glad that you had the opportunity to enjoy some of the many amenities that we offer our guests. Please let me know if I can be of assistance with any future reservations.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We booked our hotel through Hotwire.com. I was a little apprehensive when we paid for the hotel ($60!!) because it was a Best Western, and I didnt hear a lot of great things about it. Well, our stay was great! The staff there are very nice, and the room was perfect. We stayed in double bed guest bedroom. There was a free breakfast offer, but we decided to sleep in instead. The bed was very comfortable and exceptionally clean. The hotel itself is older, but beautiful. The only things i can think of that wasnt a 10/10 was the thin walls. It didnt bother us at all, but we could hear others talking at times. We really enjoyed our stay, and even left a bottle of wine for them!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive experiences at our property. I am glad that you found the bed comfortable and the room exceptionally clean. Thank you for not letting some of the negative reviews or the great deal you received from Hotwire deter you from staying with us. We hope to see on your next visit to the States.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Spent two nights here on a shopping holiday. Staff were exceptionally pleasant and location is good (quiet neighborhood).Quality of rooms has deteriorated since my last visit nearly 18 months ago but still a good choice. Beds are very comfortable, rooms were clean, bathrooms in the two rooms I saw were in serious need of a makeover. Room had a small fridge, microwave, and coffee maker along with a desk and extra seating. Hard to beat the value!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you found our staff exceptional. We pride ourselves on our customer service and the extra steps we take to care for our guests. I am happy to say that our guest bathrooms are scheduled for renovation this winter. We have already started working with a design team to make the necessary updates and plan to have this project completed by the spring. I look forward to hearing your feedback once they have been completed. Please let me know if I can be of assistance with any future reservations. We look forward to seeing you on your next visit.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

My daughter in law and I spend a weekend in Watertown every October, shopping for Christmas. We have previously stayed in the Holiday Inn Express and the Ramada Inn. This year my son bid on a hotel online and we ended up with the Best Western in Fort Drum, Watertown for the great price of $61 per night for two nights. Although it isn't the NEW hotel that the Holiday Inn Express is or the centrally located hotel that the Ramada Inn is, we found it to be surprisingly comparable to the Ramada Inn and only minutes away from all the shopping including the Salmon Run Mall. The rooms were clean with new carpeting. Although the entire hotel is old we found it to be perfect for our needs. Breakfast was tasty enough with plenty of seating too. The front desk staff were so helpful and pleasant. Although were were a bit apprehensive about the place ( especially after reading the reviews) we were pleasantly surprised and will no doubt stay here on our next shopping excursion.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 3rd floor facing the parking lot in the back. We stayed in 342 and found it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experience at our hotel. I am glad that you decided to give us a chance even with some of the negative reviews we have received recently. We will be continuing to make updates to our property to include the guest bathrooms, exterior, and more. Although we are the oldest hotel in the city we feel we are still the best choice. Easy access to shopping, good price which allows to for more shopping, and the best customer service. We look forward to seeing you and your daughter on your next shopping excursion. Don’t forget about all of the great after Christmas sales. Please let know if I can be of assistance with any future reservations.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Castorland, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Hotel is alright nothing special ok for a night. The pricing I think is off a little high. I see that a lot when hotels are near military bases. Yes they offer a military discount but even with the discount was high. even when its not a busy season. They should revamp pricing. Breakfast is nice in the morning and the lounge is good. Rooms are ok. Common areas by the rooms could be a little neater floors carpet stains and such.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am glad that you enjoyed our breakfast and lounge but apologize that you found our hotel pricey. Our hotel is priced on the lower end in comparison to the other hotels in our area such as the Hampton and Holiday Inns. We also try to keep our government discounts below per diem rates during the off season. We do offer several promotional rates throughout the year including Manager’s Specials, Room Saver Coupons and several internet only discounts. I would be happy to assist you in finding a rate that is more to your liking on a future visit to our area. Please let me know I can be of assistance.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Ontario
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We have stayed at this location on different occasions. The friendliness of the staff was as great as ever, and the room was not disappointing. Everything worked as it should. The only issue we had was with the breakfast. My wife found mould on a couple of pastries and I the same on the whole wheat bread. Although this will not deter us from staying here again, we will probably pass up on the breakfast, other than coffee or juice. The front desk person was very appologetic to our complaint

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of our hotel. I am glad that you found our staff as friendly as in previous stays and that your room was comfortable. I would like to apologize for the issues you had at breakfast. Our bread and danish are ordered weekly and kept refrigerated in the hope of preventing these types of issues. I have spoken with all of our breakfast attendants and told them to be more aware of what they are putting on the buffet for guests. I am glad that this will not deter you from staying with us again and hope that we can make your next stay with us perfect. Please let me know if I can be of further assistance.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum

Address: 300 Washington Street, Watertown, NY 13601 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Carriage House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Watertown
#5 Business Hotel in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carriage House Hotel Watertown
Best Western Carriage Hotel
Best Western Watertown
Watertown Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.