We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Okay stay - great staff” 3 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum

Save Saved
You added BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Washington Street, Watertown, NY 13601 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Carriage House Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Low Rate, Guaranteed
Ranked #7 of 16 hotels in Watertown
Wilmington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Okay stay - great staff”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

The hotel is due for redecorating and fortunately, is undergoing renovations, beginning on the top floors. The bathrooms which are very very small will be improved later in the year...not sure how you make them larger??

In our room, 143, the beds were only okay and a little saggy. The shower head wasn't functioning at full capacity, but we managed.

There was a refrigerator, microwave and coffee maker in the room, though we did not use any over our weekend stay. Coffee is provided in the lobby and at the complimentary breakfast. The breakfast was typical, but not impressive; with many starches and carbs. There was fresh fruit.

The location is excellent if you want to be in downtown Watertown. It is walking distance to local points of interest, including the beautiful Flower Memorial Library.

I will stay here again and look forward to the renovations. The staff was as nice as you would ever expect - kudos to all friendly faces.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us, Unfortunately you are correct, we can't really make the bathrooms larger. What we are hoping to do is update them and make them a little more functional. I am having my staff change both the mattress and shower head in room 143. Thank you for bringing these items to my attention. I am glad that our friendly staff took good care of you and would like to hear any suggestions you might have on different items for our breakfast buffet. We look forward to seeing you in your next trip to Watertown.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

318 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    73
    110
    76
    30
    29
See reviews for
108
83
22
51
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

We always stay at this hotel when we go to Watertown,The staff are always more than happy to see to all your needs. Our special people there are Chris and Kathy they make you feel like it was home.They truly do a wonderful job, they are always pleasant and have a smile on their face, We always enjoy the breakfast there, it does us for the day, We make use of the pool and sauna. We always tell our friends to stay there.We will return soon and can hardley wait to see the new renovated rooms. All their staff do a great job.
Thanks always Bob and Marg

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
Thank you Bob and Marg for your great review of our property. I am so pleased that our staff takes such good care of you and that you take advantage of all of the amenities that we offer. Thank you for sharing your experiences and for recommending us to your friends. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Watertown.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

Our smoke free room smelled of smoke and we had to switch rooms.the parking at nite was horrible. The walls must be very thin because we heard the people next door all nite!!! And whenever a door closed it felt like the room shook.overall not impressed !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am sorry that you were not happy with your stay at our property. We strive to make every guest experience a posititve one but in your case we did not succeed. We are in the process of renovating our guest rooms and becoming a 100% smoke free hotel. This should eliminate the residual smell that has lingered in some of our guest rooms. We would also be happy to place your room at the end of one of our hallways to provide a quiet area with less disturbance from our other guests. Please consider our hotel for your next visit to Watertown. I would be happy to take care of your reservations personally to ensure that the items mentioned above were taken care of.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
315-782-8000
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Picton, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We were on our way home from South Carolina and decided to stay. Saw it in the coupon book. We had quite a time to find it and ended up putting address in our GPS but it was worthwhile the time it took to find it. It is a beautiful hotel built in 1960 and although they are updated it and renovating it the rooms still are beautiful and they aren't the ones that have been renovated yet. The breakfast was good. It was in the ballroom and they had bacon, eggs, waffles etc. which was very nice. Their coffee was amazing and they had it available in the lobby at all time which was nice. We go over to Watertown throughout the year and would be happy and plan on staying there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Thank you for this great review. We are also very glad that you decided to stay with us. I apologize that you had some difficulty finding us. We are a bit off of the highway but I consider this a positive as you are able to walk around local neighborhoods when the weather is nice and see all of the beautiful old homes in our downtown area. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Watertown and are happy to welcome you to our Best Western family

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton Springs, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

We were looking for an affordable hotel to stay while we were working the Watertown Family Expo.. We were pleased with the Best Western Carriage House Inn.... The staff were very friendly
and accommodating ...we had planned on eating at different restaurants around the town and ended up eating all of our meals at the hotel... Very good food ..
We were told the rooms were going to be renovated starting the next day...Can't wait to come back next year to see the finished project. Thank you ...Don and Linda

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you for taking time to write a review about your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found our staff friendly and accommodating. I'm glad that you enjoyed our restaurant, Savory Downtown and am very excited about the renovations that started this week. Our staff is also anxious to see the finished product. We look forward to seeing you next year for the Expo.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ava, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

This is the second time we had a play date here with our grandchildren. Each time Corrie checked us in and our visits just get better and better. Due to the fact that I have to work Easter, we got together with our kids and grandkids the weekend before. They love to swim in the pool and then we have pizza. Corrie hid the Easter eggs at the front desk, then let us hide them all over the lobby. We placed paper bunny prints all the way up the hallway from our room. Corrie then called our room. We had our grand daughter answers the phone. Corrie asked her if she had seen the Easter Bunny in the hallway. She played it up soooooo well. Delila looked out the hallway and screamed "He was here?" All the kids ran out the door, down the hallway to the lobby for the Easter Egg Hunt. She was fabulous! She thanked us for making her night. Really??? Thank you soooo much to her and the great staff at this hotel including Chris at checkout. Don't think that everyone in the NYS Dept. of Corrections and our unions are not going to find out about this great hotels where memories are made. Watch out Disney! The Best Western Watertown has got it going on...

Room Tip: You can't go wrong at this hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jerimcgm, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum, responded to this review, March 26, 2013
Thank you so much for sharing this experience from your recent stay with us. We try to hire only the best personalities for our staff and I completely agree that Corrie is great. I am so glad that she was able to assist you in making this visit memorable. I have posted this for all of our staff to see and Corrie has been given the title of Star of the Week. This is an internal reward system that we have for employees that go above and beyond for our guests. Thank you for spreading the word about our wonderful staff and we look forward to seeing for your next scheduled play date with your grandchildren.

Jeri McInnis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum

Address: 300 Washington Street, Watertown, NY 13601 (Formerly BEST WESTERN Carriage House Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > New York > Watertown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Watertown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum 2.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Carriage House Hotel Watertown
Best Western Carriage Hotel
Best Western Watertown
Watertown Best Western

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Watertown Fort Drum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.