We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay away if you have expectations of service” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Victoria, Glacis, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
30% off Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Stay away if you have expectations of service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

We made the mistake of coming back to Northolme, thinking they had improved since last year. Sadly, the hotel seems strongly committed to providing sub-par service.

Booked two villas, one for me, wife and kid, the other for my sister. In advance, we had requested an early check-in at 12 noon. This was not available, which is OK, so we came back at 1400, only to be told our villas were not available at the moment, but we could sit and have lunch in the bar. No further information was given, so at 1530 we asked the bar staff when our villas would be ready, to which they replied they would be ready at 1800. OK, a hotel can make mistakes, but at least the hotel should take care to inform their guests at timely intervals.

We then went to the reception to ask why they were not ready until then. The reception staff then replied that one of the villas had been ready since check-in at 1400, and all our luggage (incl my sister's luggage meant for the other villa) had been brought there. We then received the keycards for the one villa that had been ready, one and a half hour after checking in.

The other villa for my sister would not be ready until 1800, and she would be compensated with a 20 min massage in the spa for the inconvenience. She was not interested in getting a massage, only access to her villa, as she wanted to freshen up after traveling from Praslin, relax in her villa, and use the pool, beach etc.

We went to the reception again to inform them that this was not a good start for our stay, and suggested that a dinner discount would be acceptable as compensation for the long delay. Not so for the staff, which insisted that the lunch we had been served cost in excess of €200 (the total amount came to about SCR 1000 ~ €40), and that we could expect no more from them. Needless to say, we ate dinner elsewhere, and will never again return to Northolme - which is a shame, since the hotel itself is absolutely beautiful.

Just now we got a call from the reception at Northolme (we are now in an other hotel) and they offered nothing but an apology (since we have received a free lunch (well, we paid dearly for it by not having our villas available) and hoped we would be back for a third visit.

Someone in the management must be extremely short-sighted to believe we will return. Maybe we are just unlucky, but our experience with this hotel is absolutely not good at all. The service and staff commitment is clearly non-existent, to be honest, we've stayed i B&B's which have had far superior service. On the other hand, Hilton's junior staff, such as the gate guards, ground keepers etc, which are all very friendly and attentive.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

626 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    137
    51
    18
    13
See reviews for
21
492
15
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

We were on our honeymoon to seychelles and chose this property to stay with
i must say out of the various choices we do have there and it being so difficult to choose our choice of choosing Hilton was just perfect
the whole arrangement by the management made us feel so special and welcoming
from our pick up to drop everything was simply perfect
the rooms are superb with great views of the ocean from your balcony where you van just lie back and enjoy the beauty of nature around you
the balcony faces the ocean and the rooms are surrounded by plush greenery
so when you are lying back in the balcony you actually feel you are the only ones there seeing the ocean and enjoying the greenery around
the rooms are spacious and the beds comfortable
the bathroom is very spacious with a very funky shower area and a large tub
the tub was filled with water and rose petals etc for honeymoon couples
the restaurants were great and they chef was sweet to help us vegetarians with some yummy vegetarian flair
the spa was amazing and one shouldnot miss it
and then a small swim in the pool
overall this is a property that must be considered before deciding on any other

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2011

Fantastic resort, one of the best Hilton I have ever stayed in.
Spacious room, dvd player, flat screen TV, balcony with a wonderful view. The bathroom is huge and the infinity pool is just beautiful.
If I have to fault it, I would have to say the food wasn't great and pricy, however you can find cheaper restaurant on the island. We also had a driver for a day who took us to the beach and back. I highly recommend it.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2010

My husband and I went here for our honeymoon in October. Coming from the United States, it was a LONG trip, but well worth it. The Seychelles were BEAUTIFUl! I studied that reviews for the Hilton and found them to be very helpful. The resort is small (one employee told us it's the smallest Hilton in the world), but we liked the intimate feel. We didn't see very many guests until the weekend came. We were in a hillside villa for one night and then got upgraded to an ocean side villa. They were the exact same on the inside, just the view was different. The beach is small, but we didn't find it to be a problem. The snorkling at the hotel is some of the best we experienced while we were there, and I wish we would have discovered that earlier in our stay. You can walk to Beau Vallon, which we did one afternoon, but it is a public beach and we found it to be more crowded than we would have liked. The pizza place on the beach is outstanding! We ate at the Hilltop every morning for breakfast and didn't need to eat again until dinner, which saved us more money. We rented a car one day and drove around the island. It was a little difficult to get out of Victoria, but the beaches we saw on the southwest part of the island were stunning. With a 5 minute walk from the hotel, you can get to a shop and purchase water, beer, snacks, etc for much cheaper prices than the hotel. We took advantage of the welcome massage and also got a couples massage. We loved the spa! I also used the fitness center. While not huge, it was clean, had new equipment, and a great view.
Overall, we were impressed with this hotel and would recommend it for anyone looking for a relaxing/romantic vacation.

Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2010

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon in August - there is no such thing as early check in at this hotel, even if you ask for it & unfortunately half the flights that go to Mahe from Dubai are night flights and so this is quite a common problem for them that they need to address.

The views were wonderful, the breakfast was overpriced for what it was - v. Simple buffet food.

The infinity pool was v. Small, room service made a lovely welcome arrangement of foliage on our bed & then forgot to clear it away for serveral days - so we were left with what can only be described as a little clump of twigs on the coffee table!

Room service was ok, but they forgot to clear the trays away after we'd eaten, so they were left in the room for a day or so also. A bit lacking in service for such a pricey hotel I'd say.

There are other nice hotels on Mahe & I have no complaints about their Spa, you can book that externally so you don't need to stay there to experience that.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire,England
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2010

We selected this hotel on the basis of the virtual tour which showed the huge bedrooms and en suite bathrooms with views through palm trees to the Indian Ocean. We were not disappointed by the room or the location of the hotel, and the small number of villas gives the hotel a particularly private, select and friendly atmosphere.

We did have one surprise on arrival where we found that all the Hillside villas are (vertically) semi-detached, which hadn't been made clear on the Hilton website, or in any of the Trip Advisor reviews we'd read. We were shown an Oceanfront Villa as a detached upgrade alternative, and decided that the additional quiet and privacy were worth paying for. The views from our private verandah were outstanding. and our stay wouldn't have been as special if we'd had been able to hear noise or conversations from guests directly above or below us in a Hillside Villa.

We found the staff very friendly and attentive, and this more than outweighed any service shortcomings or misunderstandings. The spa was particularly memorable as an oasis of calm with charming staff.

We felt let down in only one significant respect. There were two eight year old children staying at the hotel for the whole duration of our stay. Their parents seemed to believe it was appropriate to allow the boys to fight or throw plastic bottles in the small infinity pool. When we raised our concerns with the General Manager, he made it clear that the Hotel was prepared to relax its "over 13's only" policy for regular Hilton customers, even if it had an inevitably negative impact on the relaxed and select ambiance of the resort.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creede, Colorado
Top Contributor
289 reviews 289 reviews
82 hotel reviews
Reviews in 117 cities Reviews in 117 cities
351 helpful votes 351 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2010

This resort, Villa only property is five stars in every way! Incredible customer service! They greet you at the gate with a cold drink and never forget you throughout the entire stay. After a quick tour of the grounds and facility you go to your room. From that point on all the staff stop to greet you as you pass and they are quite friendly. Even more surprising we only stayed for two days but most of the staff even the ones we never met seemed to know who we were, where we were from and our Villa

We were assigned to the Ian Flemming suite (Villa 114). It is the location where Ian Flemming wrote the plot for “For your Eyes Only”. The Villa is decorated to honor his history complet with the DVD and Book set of all his movies. It even has a round bed as in the movie. It is located at the end of the row of villas and provides excellent privacy. REQUEST this Villa it is one of a kind.

This all villa property has all spacious villas each independently situated with their own balcony. The balcony has large sitting and sun chairs. The Villa has a large sitting room with couch, leather chair and step up platform bed.

The bathroom is HUGE with large Jacuzzi tub and open shower. Villa is furnished with dark wood floors, walls and ceiling providing an intimate feel. Large work desk with high speed internet, flat screen swivel TV, large closet, surround sound and mini bar (complete with cholate body paint)

The food was five star! Buffet breakfast that you won’t believe. Hot items are cooked to order. Large selections of breads, cold items for every taste including healthful choices. Large selection of fruit and unlimited fresh squeezed juice. Dinner Buffet with rotating theme. Again very large selection with fresh grilled proteins cooked to order. Dining staff was very attentive and friendly.

The property is located about 45 min from the airport depending on traffic. $200 SCR from the ferry dock, $300 SCR from the airport. Caution though the hotel will charge $700 if they arrange the taxi.

The beach is small but private. Medium sized infinity pool with three levels of chairs to sun for sun.

We did have a small problem during our visit. One of the water mains to our villa broke. The hotel staff responded quickly. They had a temporary line run within 20 minutes, offered us free drinks while they worked on it and make sure that all repairs were satisfactory. GREAT SERVICE!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa

Address: Victoria, Glacis, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Glacis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Despegar.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Hotel Glacis
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort And Spa
Hilton Glacis
Glacis Hilton
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.