My husband and I stayed here on on our honeymoon for 4 nights after doing a 9 day safari in Africa. It was exactly what we needed - a very tranquil, quiet and relaxing vacation. The property caters to adults only. We were upgraded to an ocean villa, which was incredible. We heard the waves crashing every night and had an amazing view. There's a jacuzzi for 2 that looks out to the ocean, which added a romantic touch. The private decks on each villa have ample seating and lounges, with lots of privacy. The room was well sized and had all the amenities one could need. The sinks are too small though, so water splashes out - not the smartest design. Bath products are top notch.
All of the staff was incredibly friendly and accomodating.The chef even came out to speak with us one night and made us a custom meal. We didn't opt for any of the buffets since we're picky eaters, but all of the meals we had in the Ocean View Lounge were excellent, especially the soups. The food is extremely expensive, but that's to be expected given the location. The complimentary champagne at check in and during the breakfast buffet (which is excellent) was also appreciated.
There was live music one evening in the bar - the musicans were VERY talented, I can't say enough about how incredible they were. The hotel has a very small private beach and cove that you can swim and snorkel in. We also went out in a kayack, which was fun. The infinity pool isn't heated and was quite cold, but offers amazing views of the ocean. There's a larger beach you can walk to in 20 mins if you want to swim or lay out.
The hotel has Mason Tours come in, which can help book tours of Mahe and surrounding islands. We opted for a day tour to two other islands - which we regretted after we went. It was insanely expensive and we thought it was a private boat with other guests, but we ended up on public ferries. It was a really long day when we would have rathered stayed on the property and relaxed. In retrospect, I wouldn't have done this as our stay was so short. But if you are there for longer, then it might be worth it. The other islands are truly beautiful and we visited a world heritage site as well.
The only negative experience I can comment on was the invasion of a colony of red ants on the deck the first night. I had to call the front desk twice (they can be slow to respond and aren't very helpful with qsts.. better to ask in person) and two girls came to spray the deck. The ants disappeared as fast as they came, but as someone that is terrified of insects, this wasn't the best start to the vacation. I never saw another one our entire stay and there were no bugs inside the villas. Not something to worry about (apparently they came out after it rained), but look out for them if you're on the deck.
The hotel also offered a cookie baking class for free, which was something entertaining to do in the afternoon. The class is actually to watch one of their chefs prepare batter (you can eat fresh cookies after), which was good to learn, but I was expecting to make it myself. The hotel should consider allowing guests to actually cook in the cooking class.
We opted to take a taxi from the airport to the hotel and back, which was very smooth and cost effective at 600 Shillings per way.
Overall, we had a lovely stay and would absolutely return again. One of the biggest charms to this property is that it's the smallest Hilton in the world. We heard rumors of expansion - which I would be very much against. There are plenty of other properties that cater to mass tourism on the island, and this one should maintain the intimate environment that truly separates itself from the other hotels. You won't be disappointed if you stay here!
All of the villas are exactly the same on the inside, so you can't really go wrong, but the ocea...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Report response as inappropriate
First, I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your recent stay with us at the Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort and Spa. I hope that during your stay for your honeymoon you were able to experience the true magic of the islands and were able to return home with many happy memories.
I was very pleased to read that you were content with the sea view from your villa, the friendliness of the hotel team, the food at the restaurant and the entertainment.
I have well noticed your feedback on the pool facility, the cookie class as well as the comments about the ants, kindly accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused. Your valuable comments have been well noted.
Once again I would like to take this opportunity to thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us and rest assured that all your feedback is shared and discussed with my team to further improve on our services and facilities.
I look forward to welcoming you once more to Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa.
With best regards,
Marc O. Schumacher
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.