We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to relax” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Sunset Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Sunset Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glacis, Mahe Island 22440, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place to relax”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

We stayed at Sunset Beach for a week during Oct 2012 & had a wonderful time. The resort is perfect for couples who just want to relax and snorkel. The food was great and the views spectacular. Just remember that men need to wear long pants at dinner.

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms closest to the dining room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    63
    28
    30
    18
See reviews for
22
139
9
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
156 reviews 156 reviews
153 hotel reviews
Reviews in 104 cities Reviews in 104 cities
307 helpful votes 307 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

It is a beautifully located hotel with a wonderful atmosphere. The adjacent beach is just lovely, peaceful and quiet (I had a look at about seven beaches around and this one was the nicest).
I suppose it would be a great choice for the honeymoon or a romantic getaway.
Room service was to die for!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guernsey, Channel Islands
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We have just spent two wonderful weeks at the Sunset Beach celebrating our ruby wedding anniversary. The location is fabulous with its 'On the Rocks' bar overlooking the crystal clear blue sea from which you can feed the tropical fish and snorkle, its private beach and excellent restaurant. We started out in a Junior Suite which is really excellent but there were a couple of faults. The telephone didn't work and as we wanted to phone locals and receive calls without using our roaming mobiles (we used to live in the Seychelles in the 1980's) this was a problem to us. then the a/c broke down and we were upgraded without cost for the second week to the amazing villa overlooking the pool area. The staff were excellent throughout. We hired a car and you do need one if you are going out regularly (we chose the B & B option because there are very good eating places at Beau Vallon) but local buses pass by the hotel fairly regularly. A great place to enjoy the main island of Mahe from.

Room Tip: Get a Junior Suite if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

My wife and i got married at the sunset beach in 1987
The staff then were friendly and helpful,when we returned 25 years later,the hotel was slighty bigger but still as beautiful and staff helpful and friendly,this place has a touch of magic about it,the hotel only has 20 or so rooms but the staff levels are high,all the staff were lovely and could not do enough for us,and the rest of the guests,everyone was happy and smiling,we would recomend this hotel to anyone,but in our opinion the best hotel on mahe!!!!

Thankyou all at sunset beach hotel
for making our time there so special!!!!

John and lorraine nealxxxxx


A

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

If you want to have a great time, relax and let it loose for a while, that's exactly the right place.
Wonderful nature, a small but very idyllic beach, clean and comfortable rooms, an excellent service and a kitchen that meets European upper class restaurant's standards for relatively moderate prices (lunch is average but dinner rocks!!!).
The staff is very helpful at organizing trips on or to other islands and basically reads your wishes off your eyes.
Perfect place for snorkelling, too.
I'd come back any time...
Thank you Sunset Beach Crew!!!

Room Tip: If you want to, ask for a room directly at the beach, basically 10m away.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

Went there for lunch, the place is absolutely fantastic. The view, the best so far in Mahe. You can watch the fish while eating. The staff are really helpful, attentive and nice. Food really nice and good portion too. Bring your snokelling gear, best place. Couldnt had a better day out.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Recommend this place. Especially if you go in a large group - you can get a decent discount. I loved the location and especially coz u can do a lot of water activities - kayaking, snorkelling, diving. They dont try to rip you off like a lot of the other hotels and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sunset Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Hotel

Address: Glacis, Mahe Island 22440, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Glacis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Glacis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunset Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Glacis
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Hotel Seychelles/Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.