We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good views and great service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunset Beach Hotel

Save Saved
You added Sunset Beach Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sunset Beach Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Glacis, Mahe Island 22440, Seychelles   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Glacis
Jersey City, New Jersey
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good views and great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2012

Recommend this place. Especially if you go in a large group - you can get a decent discount. I loved the location and especially coz u can do a lot of water activities - kayaking, snorkelling, diving. They dont try to rip you off like a lot of the other hotels and very friendly staff.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    63
    54
    22
    27
    17
See reviews for
18
118
8
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2012

It's our first time to visit Seychelles and stayed in this hotel for 4 days. As soon as we arrived, we were welcomed by a mixed fruit drink and did the check in at the garden with the view of the Sunset Beach. The hotel was beautiful, although a bit old as we felt that it wasn't maintained properly by the management. I would suggest the management to keep the hotel on the same look but at least maintain it to its tip top shape. Peggy, the one who assisted us, upgraded our Ocean Room to an Ocean Villa (a 2 bedroom, 2 storey villa). We were so overwhelmed and thankful as the villa gives you a more space and a fantastic view of the sunset in the Indian Ocean. It really made our stay extra special and memorable. The 2nd room's aircon in the villa wasn't working properly but I didn't bother since it was not that hot. There's just one instance that we have an uninvited guest, which was a 3-inch spider in the toilet. It wasn't that dangerous and was removed by hotel staff quickly, I guess it is normal for a tropical country to have it. Peggy prepared a comprehensive "on our own travel" itinerary to Praslin and La Digue when we felt awful from the outside money-making agents who are arranging trips to the island. She made also the costing and the taxi arrangements and explained thorougly how to go and what are the highlights to see. She was really like a mum to us and we felt like we're "home". The buffet breakfast was ok, we love the fruits and the omelette. The creole dinner was not bad at all. It's actually better than Hilton's sea food buffet when we had dinner there and it's even half the price. The bar was a bit old but nice as there's an area for fish feeding. The bar man and staff were friendly and warm. Over-all the stay was great and I would recommend this to people who wanted a more personal touch and to try something different out of the common regular hotel chain service. Look for Peggy and am very much sure that she will cover up all the small shortcomings of the hotel by the service that she is providing to hotel guests. We shall return soon! :)

Room Tip: There are two sides of the hotel for rooms. Don't choose the one on the beach side as sometimes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
delhi, india
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2012

Although this was our first trip to Seychelles, we frequently travel all over the world and this was truly a travel highlight. We were so impressed with the resort - we stayed in a separate cottage which opened out directly onto the beach with the azure Indian Ocean water at our feet.

The food at "On The Rocks" water-side bar-restaurant exceeded expectations. Breakfast menu is buffet and offers everything, lunch and dinner are delicious no matter what you order. We were not dissapointed once. The staff are extremely freindly and attentive without being overbearing. They really accommodated all our special wishes with a smile, considering that my wife is a veggie and there were really very few eating options there for veggies.

Thoroughly enjoyed, would definitely go back knowing we enjoyed every moment.

ONLY GLITCH - the AC was not up to the mark and effective enough, considering the hot tropical climate there :(

Room Tip: Book a cottage which opens up directly onto the beach.....you will never forget the experience :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Had a lovely stay here. Great view from room. Just felt it is looking a bit tired and run down. The plastic on the roof did not look good. Clean and tidy and staff really nice and helpful.
Breakfast good and lovely views from restaurant. The meal we had of evening was not so good. Food from bar was nice though.
Bit out of the way and did feel you could not walk into Beau Vallon.
Do try the buses they are an experience and only 5 SR.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palo Alto, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2011

Stayed here on short notice-- decent place.

Highlight is a beautiful lobby and restaurant. Pretty beach and pool.

The room felt clean. However, the bedding was a bit cheap and there were a few tiny ants around the flowers in the room, and there was almost no water pressure.

Internet is expensive-- you can buy a SIM from C&W at the airport to get data on your phone more cheaply. The wap setting is "internet" and use #155# to change data plans.

Cabs can be hard to find-- mine from the airport was 400 rupee. Later I found a better driver: Jimmy 271-5525. He's a professional guide for Mahe and a great guy.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 95 cities Reviews in 95 cities
358 helpful votes 358 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2011

We went in the Seychelles for a week for our friends wedding. As they stayed at another hotel, we joined them there but we wanted to come here at least for drinks just to see this place again. Well, the place looks lovely. Everything was clean, the staff in the bar were friendly and helpful. We watched so many beautiful fishes from the bar. The cost of the drinks is very reasonable.
We visited this hotel twice during our week stay in the Seychelles and in the hindsight we wished we stayed here and only visited our friends in the other hotel. Sunset Beach is a paradise place, well kept and small, intimate. If we ever come to Seychelles again, we would definitely stay here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

Sunset Beach, Seychelles

2 stars out of 5 (but not all bad)

There is nothing wrong with this hotel. Not the most intriguing start to a 2 star review, but please bear me out. The hotel/resort (spot the confusion already) has all the makings of a great holiday centre but it just misses the point of what it is trying to be. "What it is" is obscure: not full-service enough to be 5 star; not distinctive enough to be a boutique and too expensive to be just run of the mill.

The setting is wonderful. A beautiful bay on the North-West coast of the Seychelles. The development is exquisite. A collection of rooms and suites snuggled around the bay, yet each with a feel of privacy and seclusion. Yet, that certain something is missing. It just isn't quite right.

At sunset on the third night, we retired to the bar for a sundowner. At Sunset Bay, this should be sans pareil... Drinks came, but the specials cocktail menu was a sticky laminate promising the same over-sweet rum punch "special" as the last two sunsets. Poor, but at least we could have some bar snacks? "Sorry no, the kitchen is closed", came the reply. Pleading revealed 2 options. Walk to the convenience store on the hill or share the dinner snack of the bar tender. We walked. But at least we gained an insight into the wonderful generosity of the people of the Seychelles. The barmaid doesn't want to see me go hungry, so offers her meal to fill the gap. I love the barmaid. I'm not so sure about the management...

Morning calls. Our safe is jammed. It has been for 2 days (and we have kept telling them). My companion has to work and her laptop is in said safe. Things are not going well. It's Sunday, and "having to work is no emergency" are not the most comforting of words, especially as we've had the problem since Friday. Much debate ensues and eventually a safe cracker is called to open the safe. The deed is done, but the staff somehow make us feel like we are at fault for causing the fuss in the first place.

The next day, we are offered an upgrade to a suite. We decide to accept. It's only after we move in that we discover the suite has no hot water. It has the taps, just not the connection. However, it is very nice, so we soldier on. Mistake! In the evening, the whole water system fails and we are reduced to third world levels. No showering, no brushing and no flushing! Not nice.

For 24 hours, we complain at the front desk and shower in public by the pool. Eventually we get taken seriously, and another room appears. But we don't want to move again. We're only here for one more night... A third room is not what we want! We just want to shower and go home...

As for facilities. No gym, no spa, nothing on the beach and internet access only through a shared (and extortionate) cable at reception. Breakfast barely adequate if you get up on time and other meals good but only at times set by the hotel. No 24/7 or room service here.

Our local friends tell us that the hotel is simply punching (i.e., pricing) above it's weight. That may be true. For £80 a night, this might be a good hotel. At £240 it certainly is not.

The fundamentals are right. Let's hope the owners and management can grow to match the setting with which they have been blessed.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sunset Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Beach Hotel

Address: Glacis, Mahe Island 22440, Seychelles
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Glacis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 hotels in Glacis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sunset Beach Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Venere so you can book your Sunset Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Beach Glacis
Hotel Sunset Beach
Sunset Beach Hotel Seychelles/Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunset Beach Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.