We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax and enjoy on Mahé” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Save Saved
You added Kempinski Seychelles Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baie Lazare | P.O. Box 1356 Victoria, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Baie Lazare
Madrid, Spain
1 review
“Relax and enjoy on Mahé”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Two weeks as couple in an environment where everything's been done so that we had been able to perfectly relax and enjoy our stay. A wonderful location (although not exactly with the same charme as Banyan Tree or Four Seasons) with long-stretched beach of white sand and crystal clear water, a resort that offers all you need from comfortable pool space over gym and spa to high quality, diverse food & drinks carried from all over the world as the Seychelles do not produce a lot of own food & drinks. Well equipped and spacious guest room, in particular the very comfortable and large bed. Very friendly and efficiently working staff, with personal attention (try the fruit bat curry). Each day a lot of organized activities like yoga on the hill, aqua dancing or kajak fishing. And if you fancy to feed some big turtles, that's possible, too...

María José and Dirk

Room Tip: There are sea view and hill view rooms. The hill view isn't that bad but, of course, if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Maria Jose and Dirk,

I would like to personally thank you for taking the time to write such wonderful notes about your experience, in regards your recent stay at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

Our Resort is totally committed to exceed the satisfaction of every guest who walks through our doors, which is why it is so rewarding to get feedback like yours. We are glad you enjoyed our quiet and environmental location.

When it comes to dining, one of our goals is to provide our guests with an abundance of variety and quality and it appears from your review that you enjoyed many of the selections that we offer.

We hope that you find the time to revisit us in the future, so that you can once again relax in luxurious style.

Sunny regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    153
    55
    18
    8
See reviews for
94
280
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Crowthorne, Berks
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We stayed two nights on return from Denis Island, beautiful hotel, great location, but so expensive. We were booked in Bed and breakfast, our choice, but did not realise how they charged . Buffet dinner, over £100, wine £8 per glass,a G&T £9, simple lunch no drink, over £40.
Seems place set up for half board only, as noticed guests removing vast quantitie of food, when leaving after breakfast

Room Tip: Don't go B&B , too expensive. We had a beach facing room, worth extra cost
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Dave,

Thank you for choosing Kempinski Seychelles Resort for your recent stay on Mahe after your return from Denis Island.

We have read your comments about our Resort and we greatly appreciate that you took the time to write them on Tripadvisor as our guest’s satisfaction is our main priority.
Your comment about the price of our F&B service has been noted and pleased be inform that price are well in line with the current market trend in other 5 star Resort in the country . Thus, we hope the explanation clarifies you concern and seek your understanding in this regards.

Thank you again and, we will be waiting for you on your next stay.

Warmest Regards,
Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Finally got round to doing my review of Kempinski from our Wedding in August this year.
We live in Seychelles, on Mahe, and had been to this resort a few times before during the day. We ended up choosing this venue to get married after another hotel majorly let us down three weeks before the wedding, by upping all the prices at the last minute.
We e-mailed Kempinski and they were able to give us an amazing, cost effective and detailed quote straight away, which was within our budget and also we could see that compared to the other hotel, they weren't making extra money off us for things like the registrar and certificates, photographer and hairdresser.
We met with Anna Pothin, one of the Sales Managers, who was amazing, answering all our questions, especially all my typical bridezilla nagging! They really put our minds at ease and were very friendly and professional. The package that we decided on was good value for money, and they were very good at sorting things out for us that we weren't sure about, for example booking the band and hairdresser.
The actual wedding day we had an amazing time, and everything went absolutely perfectly. It is a truly amazing setting, and we felt it was very private even though it was near the pool, we had our own little section. The food was amazing, the chef came and chatted to us and made sure that our guests with allergies were catered for and pointed out to them exactly what they could eat. The children were also well catered for. The hairdresser, flowers, band and photographer were all great, just what we had asked for. All the staff were so lovely and friendly, collecting us from the room in the golf cart and even helping me hide when my family wouldn't get out of the bar!
The rooms were amazing, really high quality and they have really thought about the space and how to make the most of it. Massive selection of toiletries, separate bath and shower, free beers and soft drinks in the mini bar, and the comfiest bed ever. The maid had come in while we were away and cleaned up all the 'getting ready' mess and laid slippers out. We were treated to wine, biscuits and a lovely floral arrangement on the bed when we arrived.
The next day we had a lovely breakfast, loads of choice and very courteous and friendly service. I can not recommend this venue anymore if you want a wedding in paradise in a high quality but unpretentious hotel. Feel free to contact me if you have any other questions!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear Pee Jay,

Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay with us.

Reading your review, it was a delight as offering a warm and attentive service is in the core of our values. We are pleased to read that our Team Members especially Anna Pothin, had helped to create a celebration that you will never forget. Please rest assured that I have personally, shared your wonderful review with them.
We are pleased that you were able to enjoy all of our dining options, your room facilities and our quality of service, which had surpassed your expectation.

We thank you for your loyalty and your high recommendation of our resort and we looking forward to welcome you back to Kempinski Seychelles Resort in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

I had a very pleasant stay at Kempinski along with my wife for the honeymoon. Excellent property, with both sea view & hill view rooms. I had stayed in a hill view room. Though I couldn't enjoy the beach view, the hill view is equally good. Rooms are excellently maintained. The housekeeping staff were helpful, with no sign of annoyance. The beach facing the resort is good - long enough to have a good morning/evening walk with your partner. Even if the beach can't be compared with the awesome blue beaches in this island nation, it's still a good one. Besides these natural assets, Kempinski offers a short paid helicopter trip around the area - atleast when I was staying there. For snorkeling lovers, the resort offers snorkel, fins (shoes) etc. for free usage - not just within the resort beach, but also allows you to take them with you when you go around the island. The hotel staff definitely needs a special mention. They guided us with all local information that you need - like good restaurants etc. Also, they helped in planning our day tours, provided us with all that needed for the tour (like towels, snorkel etc.). Not to mention, the breakfast in the resort was awesome for us to start the day. Besides, the resort has the standard stuff - like Spa etc., which I didn't use though. Overall, it was an awesome time in the resort for us. Thumbs up to Kempinski!

Room Tip: The property is vast. So if you are a beach lover and want to be in the beach most of the time, choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 21, 2013
Dear Amal Joe,

Thank you for the wonderful review that you posted about our Resort. It is a real pleasure to read that your stay with us was delightful.

The Team Members and I are delighted to know that you have carried back fond memories of your stay. We are particularly pleased to note that you have enjoyed the various aspect of the resort. Your positive feedback will further motivate us to ensure that we continue our efforts to meet and exceeded the expatiation that our guest rightfully wait from us.

We are looking forward to welcome you back in our resort in the near future.

With warmest regards from the Sunny Seychelles,
Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town, Western Cape, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Fantastic hotel with awesome rooms and views. What made our stay even better was the staff and their willingness to go the extra mile for the guests. And that was right through from housekeeping to the front desk, IT, waiters etc.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Nadia,

Many thanks for choosing Kempinski Seychelles Resort, as the place to spend your vacation in the Seychelles. It was a pleasure welcoming you and ensuring the highest quality of service during your stay.

We appreciated so much your lovely comments which have already been shared to all our Team Members. Our Guest’s comments mean a lot to us and help us to move forward in the right direction to exceed our guest’s expectations. Our aim is to satisfy our guest by providing the most personalized service with highest standards and courteous manners.

We hope you were able to experience the true magic of the island and take home with you to South Africa, so many happy memories.

Sunny regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

I hate to be an iconoclast but the Seychelles really didn't do it for me. The islands are lush because it rains a lot, something the tourist blurb forgets to tell you. The honeymooners pretend it's all great because they don't want to look like mugs. If you need guaranteed sunshine, laughs and relaxation you'd really be better off going to Spain or Greece.

The local Seychelles people are alien to customer service, it's just not in their blood so service always feels awkward and uncomfortable or even worse faked.

The Kempinski is a resort hotel whose delights also passed me by. It started by arriving very early morning in July in a freezing shower of rain to be met by two members of staff dressed inappropriately in white cheesecloth uniforms and straw hats offering a cold drink and a cold flannel. Just what you need on a freezing cold morning. Didn't anyone think to offer a hot drink and a hot towel?

I will say that the room was gorgeous. You'll love the rooms, which is just as well as this is where you will be most of the time. Seaview or pond view, they are all really nice and spacious.

Someone may need to measure the swimming pool as it doesn't appear to be an Olympic size pool. Short by about 3 feet. It also doesn't really look like a pool. I'm guessing it was just a water feature in front of the restaurant in a previous incarnation. Do you really want to swim right under the noses of people eating?

The restaurant too has hygiene issues. I found a 3 inch long human hair baked into my bread roll. I got a £5 discount when I complained. I had to insist on a discount. The surly, miserable waiter treated it as if 'no one else complains about the hair in the rolls'.

Also regarding hygiene the friendly pool attendant cut open a fresh coconut for us using a knife out of his pocket. He didn't wash his hands or wash the knife. The holiday could have been ruined with serious tummy bugs had we not secretly put the coconut in the nearest bin.

The evening entertainment is miserable. That's a fact.

The general manager was unfriendly and cold. I bet he hates all of us.

If this was my honeymoon I guess I'd be divorced by now. Admittedly, there are better hotels on the island.

If I was going back to Seychelles for some reason I would definitely stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Mr Nomad,

We appreciate your feedback and are glad that we had a chance to host you, for your vacation in the Seychelles.

By reading your comment we realized we did not exceed your expectation and we want to express our sincere apologies for this. Should you decided to come back to Kempinski Seychelles Resort, pleased do not hesitate to contact me personally, which I will ensure that your expectation will be meet to the fullest.

With my best regards,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

We stayed at Kempinski Seyshells for a week in August loved the resort and enjoyed the peaceful, friendly environment of the hotel and the surrounding.
Rooms are nicely furnished and very clean with the luxury bed and exceptional room management.
Friendly staff in every corner answering all our requests.
Would recommend Seychelles as destination with Kempinski hotel and definitely would visit again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, October 15, 2013
Dear Vanderstar,

Thank you for taking the time out to leave us such a great review! We are happy that you’ve enjoyed your stay at the resort and you have felt much relax in our peaceful environment.

Our dedicated Team Members are always delighted to hear that our guest’s stays with us have been a memorable one. I have already passed your compliments to them on how a professional, yet personal service can make such a difference.

Our main objective is to provide you with an exceptional service and overall experience so that you would return to our property and recommend us to family and friends.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back with us in the near future.

Warmest regards,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Also consider these accommodations in or near Baie Lazare
Luxury, Beach...
Show More
11.8 mi away
Hilton Seychelles Northolme Resort & Spa
Free internet...
Show More
10.4 mi away
Le Meridien Fisherman's Cove
Romantic, Free...
Show More
2.5 mi away
Banyan Tree Seychelles
Banyan Tree Seychelles
#6 of 34 in Mahe Island
4.5 of 5 stars 486 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Romantic, Free...
Show More
11.7 mi away
Petit Amour Villa
Petit Amour Villa
#1 of 3 in Glacis
5.0 of 5 stars 46 reviews
Beach, Pool, Lu...
Show More
13.0 mi away
Sunset Beach Hotel
Sunset Beach Hotel
#3 of 3 in Glacis
3.5 of 5 stars 180 reviews
Free Parking, B...
Show More
10.4 mi away
Coral Strand Smart Choice Hotel Seychelles
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kempinski Seychelles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Address: Baie Lazare | P.O. Box 1356 Victoria, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Seychelles Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world apart, yet within reach! The Kempinski Seychelles Resort – Baie Lazare is the ideal location for those seeking an intimate getaway or an island adventure. Baie Lazare offers an intimate and exotic tropical paradise surrounded by untouched natural beauty. It is a tidal beach protected by a reef around 200 meters out. The Resort is tucked only half hours’ drive from the International Airport and only 40 minutes away from the capital, Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Agoda, Otel and Venere so you can book your Kempinski Seychelles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Seychelles Resort Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Seychelles Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.