We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Save Saved
You added Kempinski Seychelles Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baie Lazare | P.O. Box 1356 Victoria, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Baie Lazare
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I had read the previous reviews on tripadvisor and was a little nervous as what to expect. we stayed at the Kempinski for a special occasion. As we are strict vegetarians I had emailed the hotel in advance and Laurelle replied back with menus and also suggested we could speak to the chef directly once we get there and also provided a complimentary eggless cake for my mum's birthday.

Great service from all staff, from the recreational staff to the kids club, but especially the chefs as they did cater for us. The hotel is lovely, the rooms are spacious and clean. The minibar was free for the first set of drinks but mainly soft drinks. Wifi is free but slow and the other negative was that the food and drinks were really expensive. We did not go half board and the buffet cost 980 srp which is £55 pp. The a la carte restaurant worked out better and the portions were generous. The beach was nice but there are better ones if you drive a round the island. The four seasons hotel has a nice beach which the public can use but is a long walk so will have to ask for a club car.

All in all great place, great staff and atmosphere. Definitely recommend to everyone in terms of service and hotel amenities. The best time to probably go would be around Nov for best weather and calm waves. Thank you Laurelle and the whole team for a great stay!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    279
    153
    55
    18
    8
See reviews for
94
280
10
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rhodes, Greece
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

The hotel had an african styke that we liked..it has an amazing garden with a pond, the scenary outside our room with tha hufge granite rocks and palm trees was truly magical. The swimming pool was very nice but it could have been bigger. Also I think a 5 star hotel should have an indoor pool so guests can swim when there is rain. The rooms were great. The hotel restaurant had a diifferent theme evey night which was niice but it needs a better touch since most food wasnt thet tastefull.

Room Tip: Beach view rooms lead to beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mariasarikas,

Thank you for taking your time in posting your valuable comments on Tripadvisor in regards to your stay at Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

We are delighted that you enjoyed the resort and its scenery. We truly appreciate the constructive feedback which we have shared with the team.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our resort!

Sunny regards from the Seychelles!

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I am sitting here in Room 501 and writing this, instead of enjoying this beautiful Island. But I have to, as I am getting annoyed by every day I stay here.
I don't mind, to pay a bit more, for good food, good service and cleanliness.
I really feel sorry for families with Children. We had yesterday evening (Two Person) a very low average Buffet Dinner with two Ginger Ales and had to pay for this 2090 Rupee's (about 160 Euro) The food was simply shocking for this price, and I am not a fussy eater. Then this afternoon we went to the Beach Bar a place visited by families with their children We had a Coffee and a Banana Milkshake. the cost for this 210 Seychelles Rupee's ( 16 Euro)
Then this evening to top this I took a Bath in my room only to find a thick layer of accumulated dirt on the grid across the bath holding some wet salt and some oil in a container.
I have attached to this some Photos so that you can see for your self. We complained to housekeeping. They sent someone who looked at it, took the grid and then asked me " Any thing else Sir? !
To simply finalise this, What are these hotels on the Seychelles getting paid for? For the Service or the magnificent Nature?
It seems to me:Nature

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, September 8, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review .I regret to read that your expectation had not being fully met during your journey with us.Feedback from our guest allows us to constantly improve our service to ensure a memorable experience and Kempinski discovery.

I have shared your shortcoming with the department Heads in order to take the necessary action to improve all aspect that were at concerns.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back and show that this was a mistake which more has been dealt .

Sunny regards,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Stayed during the soft-opening (with promotional, introductory room rates) although the hotel was fully operational, immaculate and had a very pleasant "open-air" setting throughout. A great place to return to after exploring other parts of the Seychelles. The tropical gardens, beach and pool are all magnificent - lunch is slightly over-priced so worth an all-inclusive room rate if staying for more than 3-4 nights. Also nice to visit the Four Seasons resort which is 5 minutes away by car for evening drink/dinner. Disappointing massage at the spa (staff poorly trained) which was the only concern at this magnificent resort. Staff all very helpful and restaurants/room service serve-up excellent food. Hire a small car once clear on directions around Mahé - much cheaper than taxi/transfers. A highly recommended hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Baoluo8,

I am happy to learn that both of your enjoyed your stay at Kempinski Seychelles Resort very much and left the resort with fond memories - thank you for taking the time to share your review on TripAdvisor.

We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed the accommodations and level of service here during your stay with us. However ,it is with our sincere regret to learn of your disappointment with the Spa.The issues which you have mentioned have already been addresses with our Heads Department to prevent ,it from Happening to our future guests.

Thank you once again for your stay with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back again to our luxury resort.

Sunny regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

All staff are friendly and helpful and services really good. As we went to the pool and beach quite often, they clean up the room every times(around 3-4 times per day!) and this surprised us.

Location is distant, hence the "private" beach becomes our favourite. Car rental is recommended since the shuttle bus transfer is costly, though I think it's common in Seychelles hotels.

Meals are perfect. We have both breakfast and dinner in the hotel. Benedict eggs with a coffee The buffet dinner is around 398 rupees excluded VAT. Drinks are neither included.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms are preferred.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Cally,

Thank you for taking your time in posting your valuable and kind comments on TripAdvisor in regards you stay at the Kempinski Seychelles Resort.

we hope that during your stay you have experience the true magic of our island of paradise and were able to return home with many happy memories.We were pleased to read that we had exceeded your expectation and you were satisfied with the overall services and facilities provided, that had helped in making your stay an unforgettable one.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you soon again to our luxury resort.

Sunny regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

Enjoyed my stay there, the rooms are well appointed rooms, with excellent facilities, good food, friendly staff. They have a restaurant rfom where you can order a la carte.
The hotel is quite far from Victoria if you want to go there but is a good honeymoon destination or i one want privacy. Beach surrounding hotel is quite peaceful and clean. I enjoyed my stay and would go back if on holiday.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good, for noise reduction, an upstairs room is better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Wema,

I am very pleased to read your comments and to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us.Thank you for visiting Kempinski Seychelles Resort for your holiday and for taking to post your kind review of your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments regarding our resort facility and our variety of food we provided had been greatly appreciated. It is certainly our intention to ensure you are well looked after and that our service standards exceed your expectations.

We certainly look forward to welcome you back to Kempinski Seychelles Resort in the future.

Sunny regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The resort was as expected, Kempinski standard so nothing missing and very comfortable with all the trimmings. The food was lovely and reasonably priced. However, it was the staff that brought the real feel good factor. From Govind and Elna in the restaurant, to Antonio in Planters bar, to Phillip in recreation and lastly the lovely Shyra our host, the genuine feeling of well being and warmth simply made our holiday. The service level is 2nd to none and we would certainly recommnd Kempinski Seychelles without hesitation. Thank you.

Room Tip: We stayed beach side which is well worth the the extra as paradise is simply outside your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JeanMarcMichel, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Dear Andy,

Thank you for posting your kind comments in regards of the amazing service that the Team Members of Kempinski Seychelles Resort deliver. I am pleased that it had exceeded your expectation and had made such a great impact .Your kind comments had been shared with Govind, Elna, Antonio, Philip and Shyra., which will certainly be a motivating factor to perform better.

Thank you for your endorsement and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back at our resort in not too distant future.

Kind regards from the Seychelles,

Jean-Marc Michel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Kempinski Seychelles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Address: Baie Lazare | P.O. Box 1356 Victoria, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Seychelles Resort 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world apart, yet within reach! The Kempinski Seychelles Resort – Baie Lazare is the ideal location for those seeking an intimate getaway or an island adventure. Baie Lazare offers an intimate and exotic tropical paradise surrounded by untouched natural beauty. It is a tidal beach protected by a reef around 200 meters out. The Resort is tucked only half hours’ drive from the International Airport and only 40 minutes away from the capital, Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Kempinski Seychelles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Seychelles Resort Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Seychelles Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.