We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Away from the crowds” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Kempinski Seychelles Resort to your Saves list
Kempinski Seychelles Resort
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Baie Lazare | P.O. Box 1356 Victoria, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Windhoek, Namibia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Away from the crowds”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

Located on the south side of Mahe, away from the main tourist areas it provides nice privacy. Kempinski pulled out all the stops in the design with ample spaces to kick up and enjoy any of the long list of cocktails.

Room Tip: It is worth spending the few dollars extra for the beach facing rooms. If travelling with kids get a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    170
    63
    21
    14
See reviews for
109
337
15
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

Spent 6 days at the Kempinski and must say I was very happy with the overall expeirence. Staff was amazing and so was the resort itself (despite some small construction going on). One thing that could be improved is the evening entertainment and also the Wind Song pool bar. A little music would create a more holiday feel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bray, Ireland
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
88 hotel reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2012

We had our wedding and honeymoon at this beautiful hotel and it couldn't have been better. The staff are faultless and extremely friendly, and were very helpful and flexible with all the requests we had for the wedding itself as well as the rest of the stay.

There is a laid back atmosphere around the hotel, with the layout down quite a long stretch of beach meaning there is a lot of space. The food at the three restaurants is excellent and imaginative, with a good selection of local flavours as well, but the evening buffet meal is extremely expensive by any standards - this is a bit out of character as everything else is reasonably priced. Rooms are spacious and well equipped.

In all, a perfect and unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2012

We spent 5 days in Kempinski hotel as a part of a package on Etihad Airways.
Hotel is very nice, staff extremely friendly, location is good, clean rooms, good meal quality and variety...
In brief: everything as you would expect apart from the sea, as it has lots of stones and algues (which is commono in some beaches in Mahe) and expensive restaurants.

Room Tip: For food, try the romantic Mary Rock Cafe restaurant, which is accessible from the beach and Chez Ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2012

We chose the Kempinski for our last minute weekend getaway to the Seychelles. It is newly reopened under the Kempinski name with remodeled rooms and brand new reception and dining area. The rooms were well done with a sunken living area in front of the beds which meant you could still have a nice view out your balcony if you wanted to be lazy in the mornings.
They have a nice big beachfront area and since the breakers are a little off shore, the snorkeling is quite nice with a little coral, fish and octopi. The gym is good for a hotel, as is the pool. The dining choices are a buffet which changes each night and an a la cart restaurant. We ate at both and found the food to be quite good.
Since we had rented a car, we drove around most of the island and think the Kempinski has a great location. It is actually in the same area as the Four Seasons. So here's an FYI....since the Kempinski is new they are not on the maps at the airport yet!! Follow the way to the Four Seasons. They are both actually on a side road off the main road around the island. It is possible to miss the sign!
Overall, seeing some of the other larger hotels to the north, we would definitely say this one is great value for the money.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_U_Stacher, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear mluvs2travel,

Thank you for taking time in posting your comment on Trip advisor regarding your stay at the Kempinski Seychelles.

We are pleased to have you in our care and are happy that we have met your expectations. Your lovely comments will be our inspiration to keep us on the right track in giving the best possible quality of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the resort.

Very best regards,
Pierre U. Stacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2012

We stayed at the Kempinski for five days in February, during its soft launch. The hotel had just recently opened and still had a "new" feeling about it but we absolutely couldn't complain as the staff were super-helpful and friendly and we got a really good value-for-money deal. After visiting other hotels of this standard in the Seychelles, we realized that we would have normally paid much more for the Kempinski.
The rooms are lovely - they have a nice kharma and we slept very well. Beach was also great but the tide only came in during the evening so not much time for swimming. Loved the landscape - it felt like something out of Jurassic Park! Especially with the huge boulders.
If you stay here it's a good idea to rent a car as it's expensive to take hotel transfers and to eat all your meals in the hotel; at least if you have a car you can shop for water and drinks, and eat out at local restaurants in the evenings.

We found lunch at the beach bar good - the salads were small but delicious, fresh and healthy. But if you are two or more people and going to eat lunch and dinenr plus snacks in the hotel, it can cost you as much as your hotel room for the night. We paid around EUR 150 for dinner for two people plus a bottle of wine - it's steep but that's not the fault of the Kempinski, all the resorts have hefty markups, whether it is tax or profit I don't know, maybe a bit of both!
Also found the entrance to the pool very strange - not sure if this was part of the startup phase but we had to walk through the restaurant area to get to the pool, or through the grass ..there was no path. Also the main pool is quite small and shallow ... would expect more pools for such a large hotel! Still, you're in the Seychelles with fantastic beaches, so it's a waste to sit by the hotel pool every day!
So, overall, enjoyed this property ... would be curious to go back in a few years' time to see how it changed, developed etc..

Room Tip: Didnt really get the difference between a beach room and sea view room as the only difference seemed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, Dubai, United Arab Emirates
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Stayed here last week & what a beautiful resort this one was. Service was great, Staff was very welcoming & friendly. From the minute you step into the lobby you can feel the positive vibe and helpful staff approach you for the check in- while you stand by the entrance stairs which over looks the pool, garden and the spectacular beach. My boyfriend & I dined at a table outside at the Lindochine (Not sure if I spelled it right) the first night & the last night at the hotel, the portions were small which the staff informs you well in advance- therefore just go for the traditional method of fine dining with Appetizers, soup, main course & if there is still room for dessert, go for it. :) The service was excellent! I'd rate it 5/5. The Chef passed by our table to ask how the food was, and was kind enough to offer us lunch packs for the next day if we wanted.
The bar upstairs was good too- with live music, which was good. The Buffet breakfast spread was very well laid out and again the staff service is remarkable. We visited few other 5 star hotels in Mahe but I'd recommend this hotel as luxurious yet cosy!

Room Tip: Ground level rooms facing the garden, with access to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pierre_U_Stacher, General Manager at Kempinski Seychelles Resort, responded to this review, July 17, 2012
Dear C-d90,

Thank you for taking time in posting your comment on Trip advisor regarding your stay at the Kempinski Seychelles.

We are pleased to have you in our care and are happy that we have met your expectations. Your positive comments will be our inspiration to keep us on the right track in giving the best possible quality of service.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back in the resort.

Very best regards,
Pierre U. Stacher
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kempinski Seychelles Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kempinski Seychelles Resort

Address: Baie Lazare | P.O. Box 1356 Victoria, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Kempinski Seychelles Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A world apart, yet within reach! The Kempinski Seychelles Resort – Baie Lazare is the ideal location for those seeking an intimate getaway or an island adventure. Baie Lazare offers an intimate and exotic tropical paradise surrounded by untouched natural beauty. It is a tidal beach protected by a reef around 200 meters out. The Resort is tucked only half hours’ drive from the International Airport and only 40 minutes away from the capital, Victoria. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Escapio, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Kempinski Seychelles Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kempinski Seychelles Resort Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kempinski Seychelles Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.