We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Rock Cafe

Maria's Rock Cafe
Anse Gouvernment, Baie Lazare,, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island 575544, Seychelles
361812
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
london
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Amazing place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Sick of over heaped buffets in resorts then find this place for simple tasty grub with inexpensive wine. The setting is worth the trip and in daytime you can explore the house, gallery and nature walk all of which are Bonkers but great fun. Everything is home made by the owner and very different. Food wise you cook at the table fresh fish and or meats served with salad an rice or French fries. Ice cream with papaya jam was wonderful. If staying at the kempinski do not be afraid of the 20 min steep walk as long as you have a torch.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    100
    27
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
İstanbul, Türkiye
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“simple and fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

It was a nice experience to have one of the meals outside of the hotel. Maria's Rock Cafe offers simple, local and fresh food.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Scary shhh....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

After a scary walk over from the Kempinski, it's worth mentioning that they called the restaurant in advance because "it's usually busy and you should reserve"...and they armed us with torch lights because you couldn't see anything! When we arrived we were greeted by the lady in charge, a lady you didn't want to mess with! Who asked us if we made a booking (at which point we looked around and there wasn't a soul in sight) so we replied "yes we booked" which seemed to reassure her, strangely as we were the ONLY customers!
After this introductory episode, we thought to ourselves might as well make the best of it... So we ordered the only thing on the menu, the hot stone BBQ. Basically you get a hot plate and you grill the meat and fish yourself.
The food was good and fun to do yourself and the beers were cheap. We even played with the local skinny cats that enjoyed the prawns's heads we served them.
Desert was a cold pancake with ice cream and papaya jam, not recommended.
In the end we got a postcard bill and a dozen of mosquito bites to remember them by.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice hideaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Off the beaten path restaurant... we loved it..The fact that you had to cook your own food on the hot rocks and also the old form of air conditioning (the fans) was really nice.. just back to nature and basics

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice for a cchange”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

An interesting location, away from the beach set into a hill, no view to speak of but ideal and fun location for children. You get to cook your own food on a "hot rock" and I suggest if hungry that you order the mixed meat and fish option, with a plate of French fries. Drinks arrive in plastic bottles, but at least they are 500ml. Nothing fancy, but worth a drive out there for the overall experience.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Rock Cafe also viewed

Mahe Island, Seychelles
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 
Victoria, Mahe Island
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 

Been to Maria's Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Rock Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.