We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Yummy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maria's Rock Cafe

Maria's Rock Cafe
Anse Gouvernment, Baie Lazare,, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island 575544, Seychelles
361812
Improve this listing
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Karachi, Pakistan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Yummy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

we ate at Maria's the night we were leaving, wish we'd tried it earlier so we could have done it twice. Maria herself was serving us as her staff was off that day, so thoguh we had to wait a while it was worth it. It is really fun to cook your meats and vegies in front of you on a hot rock and the sauce and saffron butter make it taste great!

The prices are shockingly low compared to the Fourseasons or any other resort. I would recommend people try it for lunch s well, because I hear there is a sculpture studio underneath which is closed at night.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

84% Recommend
    86
    91
    26
    2
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great find- worth the trip !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

Great restaurant in the middle of nowhere but handy if you have a car and are at the nearby Kempinski or Four Seasons.
Limited menu but what they do, they do very well! Maria and her team are fantastic hosts and at circa £40 for dinner and drinks per couple, you couldn't ask for more.
Book ahead, as she pulls in a crowd every night .

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun place to go”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

We enjoyed our visit to this restaraunt. It was a bit weird at first but once they bring the raw food out to you and show you what to do you can just get on with it. It's different and quite a fun evening out. You probably should book as there doesn't seem to be many tables. The restaraunt is like a pirate ship!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
“we love the food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

maria is an amazing lady very friendly and she got nice wood carving gallery

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Nice change from resort restaurants!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2012

cooking your own food on a hot rock was great fun!

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Maria's Rock Cafe also viewed

Victoria, Mahe Island
Mahe Island, Seychelles
 
Mahe Island, Seychelles
Takamaka, Mahe Island
 

Been to Maria's Rock Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maria's Rock Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.