We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It´s like your house in the country…” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Maison Soleil

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Maison Soleil to your Saves list
Maison Soleil
Anse Soleil Road, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Baie Lazare B&B and Inns
Malibu, California
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
80 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“It´s like your house in the country…”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

We just finished a wonderful stay at Maison Soleil. Andrew was a terrific host and the place was beautiful. It´s very quiet and it´s like you are alone in your own country house. It was just lovely.

When you arrive there was the groceries in the fridge and they were certainly welcome. One night we had Andrew arrange for a Creole dinner that was absolutely delicious. We had the chicken curry which was great.

The only thing that you have to be careful with and this applies to anywhere in Mahe are the mosquitoes, they can be pretty ravenous. However you simply need to be prepared with the bug spray and that will keep them away. Andrew will supply you with mosquito coils for the patio which do a good job.

Some people who stayed with Andrew used rental cars however we arranged to have Alrick from Discovery Agri Tour to be with us each day which was terrific so a rental car was not necessary at all.

I would certainly recommend Maison Soleil, they are really friendly, helpful and the accommodation is excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    21
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
64
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Wels, Austria
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

We got this accommodation recommended and we were more than pleasantly surprised. It was charming. The room was full with small details and we had a little veranda and outside sitting and the kitchen was outside of the room so you do not get any bugs. Everything was nice and clean, we had a fan and aircon, no ants or other animals. The location was relaxing and quiet and the view was in to a garden. We had breakfast on our terrace and the kitchen was really well equipped. We even had a washing machine. In the kitchen was everything you needed for regular cooking and a fridge. The location is on the hill but you have an easy access to Anse Petite- which is stunning, Anse Soleil and Anse Gouvernement. It takes good 15 min walk, in our opinion you do not need necessary a car, we did not have any. For shopping it is good to make a list before you go to get really everything you need, because you need also at least 20 min and it goes up and down. But you can arrange a transfer with the owner. We were in a Jasmine Suite and really enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Diani Beach, Kenya
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We spent four nights at Maison Soleil! We stayed in the upstairs suite which was well furnished, clean and comfortable. The owner Andrew was very helpful and the housekeeper Christina was cheerful! In terms of location it was ideal as it was about a ten minute walk away to one of the best bays in Mahe. Accommodation in the Seychelles is not cheap so although it could be considered pricy compared to other parts of the world it still is a cheap way to enjoy the amazingly beautiful Seychelles! You will need a car to get around the island which can be organised by Ruby who takes the bookings for Maison Soleil.

Room Tip: Choose Vanilla Suite if budget permits! It has a veranda with really nice comfy chairs you can laze...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seoul, South Korea
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This place was actually much better than photos and information on the Tripadvisor. The room was more spacious and the kitchen and verandah/patio were very useful. The owner(and the painter) Mr. Gee is very much knowledgeable about the area. When we got there, he explained about his place and the area near by with details, which was very helpful during our stay in Mahe. The room rate doesn't enclude any meals but the fridge was filled with some yogurt, juice, milk, water bottles and bread. And even garlics!! So thoughtful idea.

The location was also good. It's close to the most famous beaches of Mahe such as Anse Soleil, Petit Anse and Anse Intendence. Close to the most recommended dinings (Maria's Rock and Anchor Cafe....) If you look for something high end or posh, the Four seasons and the Kempinski are also near by. Some stores are near by as well by 3-5 min car driving.

It's been a week already, but I missed there already.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bournemouth, Dorset
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

A real home from home – we couldn’t have asked for more during our stay in the Cinnamon Room a beautifully furnished and designed apartment. It has a wonderful ‘open air’ layout for the kitchen/dining/patio area– you are able to enjoy outdoors and make the most of the climate (which makes a difference when you have been cooped up inside for months in England!)

Andrew was very welcoming and on hand for advice – he even provided a ‘welcome pack’ in the kitchen for our arrival which was very much appreciated. The place was very well equipped and there were so many extra touches and attention to detail that make such a difference. Another bonus is the peaceful surroundings – we had our best night sleep over anywhere else we stayed which was a relief!

In terms of location, we feel it was the best place on the island. The 2 local beaches (Anse Petit and Anse Soleil) were the most beautiful we saw, and were an easy 15 min walk away. In our opinion, much more worth going to than Beau Vallon! The local supermarket is a fair walk down the road but to be honest you need a hire car to go around Mahe during your stay so this wasn’t a problem – and Andrew was helpful in running us down there quickly on our first day. Anse Intendance was also a great place to spend the day and is just up the road. For snorkelling, try the beach before Anse Royale, in the south, you’ll see the Surf Café by the side of the road – we saw Lion Fish amongst others! Police Bay in the very south is great to visit for dramatic waves and scenery, but wouldn’t recommend for swimming – you’ll see why! Having toured the island we were lucky to come back to Maison Soleil each day and we will definitely be visiting again, hopefully in the whale shark season! :0)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abtwil, Switzerland
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This was our second stay at Andrew Gees place Maison Soleil and again, we were not disappointed. This is the perfect location as long as you hire a car )which is not expensive in the Seychelles). The rooms are of an excellent standard in a calm setting surrounded by trees, but Andrews kindness is what makes the difference. He supports you whenever needed, but apart of that you have complete privacy. It's a 15 minutes' walk to the beach and to the excellent restaurant Maria's Rock. What we liked most: You do not feel like being in a unreal holiday resort, but really part of the real life of the Seychelles. And in case you want to enjoy a day or two in a resort, just go the Four Seasons resort next door to one of the loveliest beaches or have dinner there (excellent, but quite expensive).

We returned and will return again – absolutely recommendable!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
seygee, Owner at Maison Soleil, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Hi there,
It was indeed a pleasure to welcome you and your 4 children back to Maison Soleil again. Thanks for all the compliments regarding our improvements.
We were thinking of families like you when we added the walled garden for added privacy and safety. There is now an outdoor shower in there!
We look forward to welcoming you all back again in the future to your 'home-from-home' !
Regards
Andrew and team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcala de Henares
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Excelent in all respects. Very nice rooms, clean and confortable. Close to Anse Soleil, a place to stay several days, and move around. It is a good idea to rent a car to reach other areas of the island.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Maison Soleil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maison Soleil

Address: Anse Soleil Road, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Maison Soleil offers 3 stylish apartments in a tropical garden setting, with fabulous beaches nearby. It is located in the quieter southern end of Mahe Island. Two apartments,one upstairs one downstairs, have large en-suite family room, kitchen, terrace, and air con. Downstairs one double en-suite room with own veranda and kitchen and air-con. Owned by local artist and designer ANDREW GEE, whose gallery is next door. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Maison Soleil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maison Soleil Seychelles/Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Maison Soleil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.