We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Totally amazing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Seychelles

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Seychelles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Petite Anse | P.O. Box 1397, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Baie Lazare
Mombasa, Coast, Kenya
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Totally amazing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

We stayed at a hilltop ocean view villa for our honeymoon in February this year and it was just perfect. The hotel staff, food, service, location, views and attention to detail...everything worth every dollar spent here. The full moon beach party with sky lanterns was the highlight.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear jworks1983,

Thank you for leaving such glowing feedback. It's wonderful to see such praise. I'm glad you enjoyed our Full Moon party with the beautiful lanterns. We're now doing a Half Moon party instead - all the fun, but without the difficulty that the big tidal range that comes during a Full Moon.

We hope you can come back and experience it yourself soon.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    65
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
121
294
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

We stayed at Four Seasons on the Seychelles 4 nights on our honeymoon. The resort is excellent and very beautiful. The bungalows are amazing and the snorkeling/scuba diving is pristine. The food is excellent, the people very nice and welcoming and the spa was just great. However, one of the owner’s had placed half his family at the resort at time we were there, which meant, that apparently, they came first in every way. Our rooms was made in the afternoon, room service took over an hour, orders were mixed up, and the buggy service, which you will use quite often, as the villas ar atop steep hills also took quite a while. We voiced our complaints and we got a bottle of champagne, I guess the guest relations manager was quite embarrassed, but they were just overwhelmed with serving the owner’s family and the other guest.
All in all, it is a beautiful resort, but if you are on honeymoon and you pay that amount of money, there should be no lapse in service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear UrlaubimSueden

My thanks for taking the time to leave your feedback here. I'm pleased to see that you loved the resort and the food, but I'm sorry to hear that you experienced some issues with the timing of service.

Please be assured that the importance of attention to detail and the overall experience of all our guests is held in equally high regard. I'm pleased that you were able to voice your issue at the time, and that our guest relations team were able to address it and offer some sort of compensation. If you have any specific points that you feel are unresolved then I would be pleased to discussed them with you personally. My email address is Alex.Porteous@fourseasons.com

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

Though I stayed here two years back. I cudn't do justice of writing other reviews without writing one for Four Season's Seychelles. Simply the best resort I have stayed in so far. The location, the beach, the room, the sun, the private pool, the champagne the hospitality... Awesome ! Always looking forward to go back !
Keep up the great work Four Seasons!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear simran_tiwana,

Thank you for your kind words. We can't wait to welcome you back soon.

Some things have changed and, we hope, improved since your last visit. I'm sure you'll love the Resort now even more than before!

WIth warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This was one of the best holidays ever. This is not an hotel. It is a wonderful place located in an exotic part of the island with a secluded beach which is gorgeous. The villa with private pools are amazing and the view has been one if the best I've ever had. Even the big bats become lovely to watch when you are sipping a nice drink in the pool. We would go back every year if not foe the long trip. Only downside is that after a while food menu becomes a little boring. Amazing place. Travelled Easter 2011

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Dede F,

I'm so pleased you enjoyed the incredible natural beauty and tranquility of our Resort. Those bats really are amazing, aren't they? I hope you can come back to visit again soon. We are constantly changing and improving our menus, and experiementing with pop-up concepts, and customising our service to your needs, so I hope our F&B team can create something amazing for your next stay.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgium
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

This is such a special place! We knew from the entrance that it was going to be hard to leave...

The common parts were well designed and the room was certainly one of the most comfortable we have ever seen. Everything was well thought out with an incredible attention to details. The bathroom was, without any doubt, the best part of the room with an amazing bathtub and a view on the bay.

I have simply no word to describe the private infinity pool.

The hotel is surrounded by a long white sand beach, one of the most (if not the most) beautiful we have seen in Seychelles. The service on the beach was also excellent with complimentary water and fruits.

Only few small points of improvement:
- It's not pleasant to walk around the resort as all the roads are made for buggies;
- Food was good (specially on breakfast and on japanese and creole nights) but not exceptionnal.

But, actually, our major issue was that we felt so good about the hotel that it was difficult to leave this place to visit the island!

Thank you Four Seasons for these magical memories.

Room Tip: Go for a hilltop villa. Our room 415 was really nice and private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Georges_AS,

Thank you for such high praise of our little piece of Paradise. Unfortunately without the hills we wouldn't have the beautiful views, but they do mean you have to rely on the buggy service, if you are in the villas in steeper parts of the Resort, unless you are super fit!

I'd love to hear some more detailed feedback on our food, if you have a moment to drop me an email to Alex.Porteous@fourseasons.com. Any suggestions from our guests' point of view are always well received.

I hope we can welcome you back to to Seychelles again soon.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

The property is perfect- only a few years old so everything is new and well maintained and styled in a modern manner. We ended up spending ALL of our time in the room, lounging outside of the villa in the lounge chairs or in the private pool. We did spend one afternoon down at the beach, but with the privacy and convenience of the villas there was no need to go down at all. The gym was also very modern and well equipped.

The only problem was that the service could use a lot of work. It takes FOREVER for the villa to be cleaned- each time it was at least 2hrs. We'd try to time it so they would do it while we were at breakfast or at the gym, but even after killing 1.5+hrs they would STILL be hanging around "cleaning". I guess it is partially because of inventory control reasons- the person cleaning had to note all items to be replaced, and it would be slowly delivered by a colleague from room food/services dishware or mini bar refill, towel/linen services, etc. UTTERLY slow. Also, lots of times we ordered food and it was not 100% correct- fish curry was instead chicken curry (not even on the in villa room service menu) with no explanation, an order of green tea was instead black tea... and we speak with a very generic American television accent.

The spa experience was also not particularly positive- we had "Blissful Connections" as a couple and really could not wait for it to be over after 150 min. Not particularly relaxing or well done.

Breakfast was a mix of a little of everything- cold items such as cheese and hams, breads and sweet baked pastries, eggs made to order or the typical rich potatoes and sausages, and a rotating on a daily basis type of "Asian" rice/noodle/fried item option. At breakfast you would run into who else was staying in the resort- a split of couples or large young families.

We also took a "dinner on a beach" and I guess how it goes really depends on the weather. For us it was scatters of rain, which was bearable, but the wind kept blowing out the torches so we were basically sitting in the dark, the tides and waves kept getting higher as it became windier, while the person managing our food and experience was struggling to serve everything in time. But he worked hard to turn a bad-weathered situation around.

Pickup service and drop off at the airport with the hotel's car was very pleasant and no problem- always ready with a hot pot of coffee and a bamboo basket of mini muffins and other rich chocolate baked treats.

In general, even though service was an issue for cleaning the room and ordering food, the property is AMAZING so we would stay again without a doubt if we return to Seychelles.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Peachtreec,

Wonderful to see you had such a wonderful stay with us. I'm sorry to hear that you felt our housekeeping service was slower than you would have liked, but I hope the result was up to your expectations.

It is most unusual to hear any negative comments regarding. The only thing I can think is that perhaps that there was a disconnect between you and your therapists, which is why you did not feel the full benefit of this treatment, which is usually received with nothing but praise.

Despite this, it is heartening to see that you are so keen to return to us in the future. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

Travelling through the islands to write a feature for an upmarket yachting magazine we stayed here for just one night. It was enough to convince me that I would love to stay here longer. Quiet, private villas set in the jungle like garden staggered across a hill side overlooking a pristine bay. Great Beach, wonderful food and very attentive staff. Complaints? Gosh no not really but one word of warning! If you want to enjoy the wonderful view from your stunning bath set it to run long before you plan to get in it. It is deep and voluminous and takes for ever to fill. But sitting back with a glass of champers among the bubbles it is well worth the wait.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear BolshyNomad,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback here. Wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. I hope the rest of your time in Seychelles was as wonderful.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Seychelles

Address: Petite Anse | P.O. Box 1397, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Seychelles 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Seychelles’ best kept secret – a tropical amphitheatre of treetop villas circling the idyllic white smile of Mahé’s Petite Anse bay. Descend down lushly forested paths to the secluded powder-sand beach or rise to the dramatic heights of the contemporary spa, cantilevered off the hillside with views that stretch forever. The villa interiors are inspired by rustic Seychellois and French colonial style. Simple, whitewashed timber slat walls allow our carefully curated collection of objets d’art to sing. The verandah, day bed pavilion, and infinity plunge pool set off unencumbered views of tropical greenery, the white sand enclosed in the bay, and the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. With only 67 villas and suites raised on stilts amongst mango, jackfruit and cinnamon trees on a 180-hectare site nestled in the natural amphitheatre of Petite Anse, the resort is a haven of untouched nature and peaceful isolation. From castaway days to vibrant Creole nights, bask in the cultural and culinary essences of the Seychelles infused with legendary Four Seasons care.Treehouse villas have their own private infinity pool cleverly integrated into vast wooden terraces, indoor and outdoor showers and large ocean-view baths. Journey to wellness at the hilltop spa where yoga and invigorating treatments await. Relaxation next to the white powder sands and azure waters is taken to the next level by a beach service tailored to make your time in the warm Seychelles climate as comfortable as possible, while recreation activities bring fun and adventure to those looking to try something new. "Kids for All Seasons" will keep young guests entertained, allowing parents to spend private moments together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Hotel Baie Lazare
4 Seasons Resort Seychelles
Four Seasons Seychelles
Four Seasons Baie Lazare
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.