We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort with a few disappointments” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Seychelles

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Seychelles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Petite Anse | P.O. Box 1397, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Baie Lazare
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort with a few disappointments”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

We spent the first half of our honeymoon at this hotel. We were very impressed on arrival, we were offered cool drinks and several key members of staff introduced themselves to us before we were whisked off to our room. They had made a special effort to cater for my husband's food allergy which was appreciated.
We paid for a hill top villa, ours was probably the lowest of all within this price range but it did seem to be a little more private (nearly all the villas are overlooked by the spa at the top of the resort) The accommodation was of a very high standard and looked beautiful. We were welcomed with a honeymoon cake, fresh fruit, pink champagne and a lovely full bath.
The standard of cleaning was a minor let down. Whilst the room wasn't dirty there were little grubby bits on the floor in places and odd smear marks on some of the windows, it wouldn't have been hard to avoid this! Similarly we weren't very impressed by housekeeping. The lounger cushions by the pool were put away in the evenings (except for a day when they forgot!). On a few days housekeeping didn't visit us until around 4pm, this is not ideal if you want to spend the day in your villa with no outdoor towels and an unclean pool. Similarly, the cover on the gazebo bed was never changed and was increasingly covered in little lizard poops!
The buggy service which you cannot live without was generally very good with buggys arriving within 10 minutes, on a couple of occasions we were waiting for nearly half an hour though, again a minor issue which the hotel could have easily dealt with! The drivers were lovely and friendly though!
The biggest disappointment for us was the in resort dining options. The restaurants are priced along the same lines as fine dining establishments in the uk which we were prepared for, unfortunately the food doesn't match up. One evening I ordered a chicken dish and my husband sushi. My dinner came out half an hour before his and we were forced to eat separately. On top of this, my chicken was slightly bloody in the centre and we were charges for a more expensive sushi dish than we ordered. This kind of service is appalling from a cheaper restaurant let alone one with the prices we were charged!!
Despite this we did enjoy our stay, the spa is amazing, the beach beautiful and clean and the rooms of a high standard. I have left such a detailed review as a lot of this minor issues that left us with a bad feeling could be so easily rectified.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Jenny G,

Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback here on TripAdvisor. We do read and respond to each one, as we are constantly looking for ways to build and improve our guests' experience. The details that we missed during your stay are inexcusable, so please accept my sincere apologies. I would like to look into them in a little more detail. If you are able to drop me an email to Alex.Porteous@fourseasons.com, I would really appreciate it. Please be assured that we do not take these comments lightly, and I would like to personally follow up on these issues with you.

I hope that these issues did not take away too much from an otherwise wonderful stay, and look forward to hearing from you.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    399
    65
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
122
301
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

i been in this hotel just for a 1 day but its was enought to give me impression ,hotel realy look nice, the stuff r extra caring and helping but its make u feel like they spy u and never leave u alone. always around. which is annoying. even if its a goal to make u feel happy. hotel looks beautiful,beach is good also. but i dont think that this hotel is worth this money which they ask per night...in general if u r very rich and dont mind to pay 1500$ more then its deserve then ok let it be.i saw better hotels for this $.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear lexa l,

Thank you for leaving your feedback with us. I'm so glad you loved the look of the Resort, and noted the attentive service from the team. Most of our guests really appreciate the customised service that we can offer by getting to know them and noting their preferences, but perhaps you did not experience the results of this as you were unfortunately only with us for one day.

I hope you can join us again another time, and experience our service to its full potential.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family decided to visit the Seychelles for the first time last year in December 2012. Being a family of 15, we booked the Five Bedroom Residences, but were later offered, 2 Four Bedroom Residences, which was a pleasant surprise!

Breakdown:
1. This property is huge, and though I place the Maldives as my most favorite place to visit, the fauna and flora at this FS property was stunning. The beach with its stunning limestone rocks, was a mystical and beautiful sight.
2. The Beach: The water was amazing, and though a little bit rocky initially, the further you went in it was perfect. The staff puts in a lot of effort to maintain the beach, constantly cleaning excess seaweed, and making sure we were taken care of (Cold Water, drinks, food, etc). Though there are not a lot of motorised water sports, there was plenty for everyone in my family to do. Also the staff responsible for the life jackets and water sport equipment was most helpful. We had planned a fishing trip and so nicely they had let us borrow the life jackets and snorkelling equipment.
3. The Villa: There are no words to describe the residences at FS Seychelles. They are huge giving everyone the privacy and yet the large pool and communal areas were perfect for gatherings, playing games, and just hanging out at the pool. The amenties plus the plus beds and family lounge were so comfortable. It was home away from home. Our Butlers Carolina, and Steve were so helpful and had a just say yes policy to everything whether it was arranging for fresh coconuts, or toys for the kids, or our bbq at the villa.
4. The Spa: The buggy ride to the spa was beautiful and surreal. The views from the spa were just so amazing and even before the treatment had started one was relaxed. I tried the massage and scrub, and though it was good, it wasn't the best I've had.
5. Food: I felt that the food was a huge let down at this property. There are not many choices besides the two restaurants to eat in the resort, and I wish they could somehow incorporate some more places to eat. On top of that the food always took so long to come out. Nevertheless, Laura at Kannel, was so so helpful and tried to accomodate our food choices as much as she could.
6. A special shout out to Bob Suri. He was so courteous and always had a smile on his face. He welcomed us so nicely and even when we left he knew our names and the kids loved him!
7. Also a special shout out to the diving instructor Juliet. She was so good with the teens in our group who were scuba diving for the first time. She even let the rest of us come on the boat for a ride. She really was a lot of fun!

Overall a great experience from another FS property. They seychelles is a beautiful and relaxing place to go visit. And the FS property has to be the best one there!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear ZulekhaTabba,

Thank you for choosing us as the venue for your family reunion, and for leaving such glowing feedback here on TripAdvisor. I have passed on your appreciation to those team member mentioned in your review.

I hope you will be able to join us again in Seychelles for another amazing stay.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freienbach, Switzerland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for five nights in the Four Seasons. Fortunately we got one of the most beautiful Hilltop-Villa (102) which is located on the top of the resort and offers fantastic views and absolute privacy! The Villa is modern and has a lovely private pool. The hotel beach is one of the most beautiful beach in Mahe! Also the Service is outstanding and all employees are helpful and friendly.

The problem is the food at the restaurant ZEZ! ZEZ just reopened end of June. Unfortunately the quality of food is dreadful and highly overpriced. I do not have problems paying a fortune for dinner but then I expect good quality, especially in a Four Seasons Resort! The tenderloin was stinking and came well done instead of medium/rare. Guess this kind of beef was spoiled. Then we ordered a red snapper instead. This one was like a meal out of the fridge, it might have been deep-frozen food. The smashed potatoes were tastless. The day after we had breakfast at ZEZ. The omelette buffet was unattended for almost half an hour and the birds were attacking the buffet. The hotel manager was sitting right beside it (meeting with two other people) but he didn't react.

The resort is like real paradise but the food destroys this beautiful memory of it. Avoid ZEZ, go to Steak Shak if it is open. They serve fresh food from the grill.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear love_gourmet_food75,

I'm so glad to read that you loved the villas, beach and service at our beautiful Resort.

I'm sorry to hear that you found the food fell below your expectation on a couple of occasions. Let me assure you that our Red Snapper is locally caught and freshly brought into the Resort every day, and our Chefs are fastidious in ensuring that our food is of the freshest and highest quality throughout the Resort. The Cape Grimm beef steaks we serve in Steak Shack are from the same supplier as those in ZEZ, so please let me assure you that it was perhaps that the beef was a little too well cooked for your preferences, rather than anything to do with the quality or freshness of the beef.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

The pool villa was well-appointed, large with a spacious bathroom and a great outdoor area that includes a pavilion. The villas were built in such way as to take advantage of the fantastic view while ensuring privacy of the villa guests. The grounds of the Four Seasons was huge but there are always staff with golf buggies ready to shuttle one around the resort. The spa was located on top of the hill with an amazing view of the bay. The massage was average but the experience was enjoyable nevertheless- especially chilling out at the lounge area with a delicious cinnamon tea drink. We ate at the restaurants every single night and found that on the whole it was good with a few exceptions. The fish that was recommended by our helpful waiter was over-cooked and dry. We were also quite disappointed with the Indian-themed fare as the lamb was again over cooked. The sushi and the sashimi at the Japanese restaurant were so-so. The breakfast, however, was excellent. We spent a lot of time at the beach and we did some snorkeling just off the shore and were able to spot quite an interesting array of fish and coral. All and all, the resort has exceeded our expectation and we hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

What an amazing place for a Honeymoon – From the minute we arrived to a personal greeting at the front gate to the minute we left, this resort exceeded our expectations in every way. The personal greeting by the management team on arrival in reception was a nice touch and they checked with us a number of times in passing during our stay as to how we were enjoying ourselves. The personal customer service and courteous nature of ALL staff from the cleaning staff to the Beach, Spa & senior management was the best we have experienced anywhere in the world. It makes a massive difference.

As for the resort, the Beach View Villa (401) was very well equipped with an amazing view, lovely pool and top class toiletries and linen. It was also situated in a brilliant location, close enough to walk everywhere without having to rely on the buggy service. Although we did bag a buggy for a guided tour of the resort and a trip to the Spa. The resort is very hilly so in the higher villas, whilst the view would be even better, you would have to rely on buggies a lot more. We were treated to a lovely cake and a bottle of chilled champagne on arrival and a rose petal scattered warm bath was waiting when we arrived in our room, although we were keen to try the pool first. The joint Spa treatments we had were a wonderful experience and the Spa rooftop is the best place to see the beautiful sunset early evening, where we were also given complimentary Champagne.

The beach here is probably the loveliest and cleanest beach we have ever been on with a brilliant beach side service providing soft towels, iced water a waiter service and a man who comes to clean your sunglasses! Also free treats of fruit lollies and smoothies and even free back and shoulder massages from time to time. There was an option to take a guided snorkelling trip for a small donation which was also excellent (Thanks Lindsay). The cocktails at the pool bar were also lovely, especially the “Fruit Berry Champagne Daiquiri”.

The quality of the food here is excellent with a wonderful breakfast buffet and a good choice for lunches and evening meals. The only slight disappointment for us was the slow evening service in the Zee restaurant. We ate out a couple of times at local restaurants which were both lovely and took a tour of Victoria in a Four Seasons organised car. We were truly sad to leave for our next Island and would wholeheartedly recommend this resort to anyone wanting a wonderful honeymoon or romantic break. Pure Luxury and worth every penny.

Room Tip: The Beach View Villas are actually not right on the beach but are in an easy walking distance and ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear T3TDL,

Thank you so much for your fantastic review of the Resort.

I hope you will be back for more relaxation and Fruit Berry Champagne Daiquiris in this corner of Mahe very soon,

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

Just returned from the Four Seasons. The villa was excellent and had fantastic views, the resort staff very friendly and the service generally was excellent. We didn't ask for much as were there to just chill but always encountered friendly and helpful staff whatever we needed (only small complaint is that housekeeping can be a little slow, we always rang as we went to breakfast but often returning an hour and half later they were still in villa). Highly recommend the private beach dining if you have a special occasion, this was a true highlight. Following other reviews I think there is room for improvement on the food, some meals were great, others average, but there was a good variation of themes on different nights which as we stayed for 10 nights gave us plenty of choice. I would definitely recommend a stay here if you are looking for a relaxing beach but also be aware that the bill for food and beverages can add up!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear BIshTL,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. We take great care to read and respond to all our guests' feedback.

I'm so pleased to see that you had the opportunity to experience a beach dinner. So many people echo your sentiments, saying that it was the highlight of their stay.

I hope you can come back to this beautiful party of the world for another stay.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Seychelles

Address: Petite Anse | P.O. Box 1397, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Seychelles 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Seychelles’ best kept secret – a tropical amphitheatre of treetop villas circling the idyllic white smile of Mahé’s Petite Anse bay. Descend down lushly forested paths to the secluded powder-sand beach or rise to the dramatic heights of the contemporary spa, cantilevered off the hillside with views that stretch forever. The villa interiors are inspired by rustic Seychellois and French colonial style. Simple, whitewashed timber slat walls allow our carefully curated collection of objets d’art to sing. The verandah, day bed pavilion, and infinity plunge pool set off unencumbered views of tropical greenery, the white sand enclosed in the bay, and the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. With only 67 villas and suites raised on stilts amongst mango, jackfruit and cinnamon trees on a 180-hectare site nestled in the natural amphitheatre of Petite Anse, the resort is a haven of untouched nature and peaceful isolation. From castaway days to vibrant Creole nights, bask in the cultural and culinary essences of the Seychelles infused with legendary Four Seasons care.Treehouse villas have their own private infinity pool cleverly integrated into vast wooden terraces, indoor and outdoor showers and large ocean-view baths. Journey to wellness at the hilltop spa where yoga and invigorating treatments await. Relaxation next to the white powder sands and azure waters is taken to the next level by a beach service tailored to make your time in the warm Seychelles climate as comfortable as possible, while recreation activities bring fun and adventure to those looking to try something new. "Kids for All Seasons" will keep young guests entertained, allowing parents to spend private moments together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Hotel Baie Lazare
4 Seasons Resort Seychelles
Four Seasons Seychelles
Four Seasons Baie Lazare
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.