We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little bit of Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Seychelles

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Four Seasons Resort Seychelles to your Saves list
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Petite Anse | P.O. Box 1397, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“A little bit of Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

The Four Season Resort Seychelles was everything we could ever dream of. We spent the last 5 days of our honeymoon there and it indeed was the perfect place to end our trip.

We were upgraded from a Garden-View Villa that we booked to an Ocean-View Villa on arrival and the villa was beautiful in every detail. It was very spacious, beautifully furnished and decorated in a way that just felt perfect for the location. The bathroom was huge and had a big bathtub with view on the pool and the ocean as well as an indoor shower. The outdoor shower area (which we loved) was very big as well with direct access to the huge pool that offered a great view on the ocean. As the resort was built into existing vegetation with a lot of space between each villa it offers all the privacy you could wish for.

Our villa was located very well between the lobby and the beach and we could reach everything of interest by foot. As there is a lot of space between each villa the resort is in fact very big and the buggy service (that works very well) is definitely needed if you stay in a villa further away.

The resort has its own beach (Petite Anse) which is one of the most beautiful beaches we have ever seen or could ever imagine. There are sun chairs at half of the beach and there is always someone around in case you want to drink something or order some food.
You can do everything from snorkeling, paddle boat, to sailing at the beach and the equipment is complementary. The beach has a great snorkeling area just on the left side with great underwater wildlife. As one of the highlights of the beach, the sun sets just in the middle of the bay offering you a beautiful sunset.

We have also been at the SPA which offers an amazing view from above over the entire bay. The massage was great but even if you don't want a treatment it is worth going there just for the view.

The food was excellent everywhere and there is nothing more we could have wished for. As I was mentioning to the restaurant manager in a brief conversation that I was missing a tuna steak on the menu we were surprised on the same evening when he brought us exactly that.
We can definitely recommend the food and especially the japanese buffet in the sushi bar. Breakfast was a delight with so many great things that it was hard to pick.

The probably best thing of the entire stay was the service at this resort. Every single person on the staff was very friendly and attentive to details and quality. Every single little thing that we mentioned or talked about was followed up in the best possible way.

The Four Seasons definitely deserves its great reputation and it has made our stay very memorable.

Many thanks to the austrian restaurant manager whose name we can't remember but who was a delight to talk to and who took great care of us and also to Gamal who anticipated all our wishes at the poolbar and beach.

Room Tip: Try to get a Hilltop Ocean-View Villa if you can afford it. Besides that I believe all Villas with o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Dansku,

Thank you so much for your wonderful review of the Resort. We're absolutely delighted that you had such a fantastic stay with us.

We hope that one day you can return and enjoy another "little bit of Paradise" here in Petite Anse.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    75
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
131
334
9
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

We recently holidayed in the Seychelles with our two children, who are 8 and 2. We weren't staying at the Four Seasons but spent 2 days there and I can honestly not recommend it highly enough! When we return to the Seychelles, we will most definitely be staying there. They were incredibly helpful and friendly to the children - the choice of food for the kids was outstanding and the giant turtles, beautiful beach and great pool kept them entertained for hours. The service by the pool was outstanding, particularly Laura who was so welcoming to us. Although my daughter wasn't in the Kids Club she was invited to join in the Olympic Theme activities, a lovely touch. We were really impressed with everythinh about this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, August 17, 2012
Dear Kate R,

Thank you so much for this lovely review of your time at the Resort. I'm so glad your kids had such a fantastic time. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay very soon.

Warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

My wife and two friends were staying at the Kempenski Hotel close by to the Four Seasons (Fair hotel good rooms but relatively poor service and food). So on Sunday evening we visited Kanal restuarant at Four Seasons (about 10 minute drive away). Service from reception, in the bar and to Kanal restuarant was excellent. Special mention to Laura at Kanal for a very informative conversation and also to Sophia for the table service. We certainly will be back to stay at Four Seasons on our next trip to Seychelles.
Richard and Liz Singleton

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, August 1, 2012
Dear Richard and Liz,

Thank you so much for your lovely review of Kannel. I will pass on the great feedback to the team. We hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Seychelles, and look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
150 hotel reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
278 helpful votes 278 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

We had very high expectations for this resort, especially after a wonderful stay at the Four Seasons Mauritius.

First impression was disappointing. We drove to the resort with our own car and were told by the guard to wait at a welcoming pavilion. Well, the pavilion was neither impressive nor welcoming. It was an open air shack next to the parking lot. Although there were cookies and ice tea to enjoy, the pavilion was dark, remote, and no one was there to greet us. We arrived in the afternoon and it was hot and humid, we waited inside our car with air conditioning on. We phoned the reception a few times and after waiting for at least 30 minutes, a buggy finally came to take us and our luggage to our villa which was only 10 minutes away.

The villa looked nice, however, it was very hot when we checked in because the air conditioning had not been turned on. We were not pleased that our villa was so uncomfortably warm after a long wait in the parking lot/pavilion with the heat. We stayed in an ocean view hilltop villa. Outside, the patio and a private plunge pool ran the length of the villa. The bedroom was spacious. Bathroom had two sinks, a walk-in closet and a deep square shaped tub, a shower and another small alcove with a toilet. The villa had plenty of natural light and a fabulous view of the bay. Toiletries are poured into pump-style ceramic containers.
Most staff was friendly, some avoided eye contacts. The service for in-room dining was slow. For breakfast the delivery at 6:30am was about one hour and for dinner 90 minutes at least. Food was OK but nothing to write home about.

The resort is set on a steep hill (tough for some people to walk) and you need to use the buggy service to go around the resort. Buggy service was efficient within the main resort area. However, less frequent from the parking lot. One evening we waited for at least 45 minutes to get us back to our villa from the parking lot. We sprayed insect repellent constantly while waiting for the ride.

We have mixed feelings about this resort. It was certainly a fabulous location with the best beach in Mahe – private and secluded, but I do not think it lives up to Four Seasons leading brand as to its slow service and a distinct contrast to other Four Seasons Resorts we have visited.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, July 30, 2012
Dear sfonorth,

I'm sorry to hear your arrival experience was not what you would have expected from a Four Seasons property. We have had some fantastic reviews lately, which is why this one struck me so much. I totally agree that this is not what we would ever hope to offer any of our guests as a first impression. While we do offer the Welcome Pavilion as an option for guests arriving by their own transport, we would never expect you to wait any length of time there. I can only apologise and follow up with the team to ensure that we improve this service.

I'm glad you liked your Hilltop Ocean-View Villa, with its stunning views, but I'm sorry it was a little warm for you upon arrival. I will check the procedure for A/C switch-on for arrival. We are committed to supporting sustainability, by making sure that A/C units are not left on unnecessarily, but not to the detriment of your comfort upon settling into your villa.

We always try and follow-up on any feedback we receive from guests while they are with us in the Resort, and resolve any issues to ensure you have the best possible experience. I have checked our records and I can't seem to find any information on these issues during the month of July. I would be interested in hearing more from you, so we can hopefully resolve the negative experiences you had, so they don't take away from the rest of your stay. We are constantly striving to improve and feedback from our guests is the best way to day that. If you could perhaps find the time to email me at Alex.Porteous@fourseasons.com I would love to look into your stay in a little more detail.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

This is my first review on tripadvisor but I had to write it. We were getting ready for a great experience in an amazing location at what is meant to be a great hotel. What spoiled it was the fact that the main swimming pool seemed to never have been cleaned (and we stayed long enough to notice). The same bugs were floating around in different areas of the pool for days and days. Absolutely gross!!! They were only fished out after we asked but I have never seen the pool being cleaned although there were people standing around in the morning - presumably cleaners.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Pol K,

Thank you for taking the time to leave your feedback. I was disappointed to see that you weren't happy with the main pool. We have over 100 pools in the Resort (one in every villa and suite, and at least one in every Residence Villa, plus our main pool and kids pool in the beachside area) which are tended to by a dedicated team. They clean and check the pH levels of the villa and common area pools every day; a measure which is scheduled and recorded vigilantly. Being a tropical country, we do have a lot of wildlife which unfortunately can end up in the pool, but this would be removed by filters and manually with a net over the course of every day. It is possible that you were meeting new insects every day, but I would like to look into this further. If you could find the time, would it be possible to email me the dates of your stay? My email is alex.porteous@fourseasons.com I will ask the Engineering team to pull up their records for that period to see if there is anything unusual. Please be assured that I am taking this feedback seriously as cleanliness and hygiene are a top priority here at the Resort.

I look forward to hearing more from you on this, and any other feedback you are able to give. I do hope that the rest of your stay was pleasant and that this incident did not detract from your time in the beautiful Seychelles.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

We stayed just one day and night here as part of a special anniversary holiday. We’d already stayed in a brilliant place on La Digue, so we couldn’t imagine anything could quite compare with that.

In fact it was absolutely amazing. For a start, they’d found out from our travel agent (Seyexclusive) that it was a special anniversary, and when we got there, a cake and bottle of champers was laid out on the table! Sipping bubbly while relaxing in your own private infinity pool in your own individual villa high up on the hillside looking out over the most beautiful enclosed bay is pretty amazing. And everything else was absolute top quality as well. If you’re considering this place, take a look on the web – the rooms are really the ultimate in luxury.

The villas are generally quite a way from the complex, but it’s not really a problem because the electric buggies always come the minute you call.

The staff were also really friendly – always a “hello” and a smile. And our final meal in the Seychelles in the restaurant was absolute top notch. It’s very much a top end place on price, but we felt it was good value, and a wonderful place to finish off a dream holiday.

The beach is also very beautiful, and not at all too crowded. The website pictures are absolutely representative of what it's actually like. Plenty of shade if you want it etc. You have to be a bit careful with stoney and coral areas - you can cut/bruise your feet - but that's the same with all the other really beautiful beaches in the Seychelles: the price you pay for having fantastic snorkelling/diving etc.

We should also mention our travel agent, Seyexclusive. We were a real pain for them, because we wanted to explore lots of options, and we ended up with a really complicated itinerary, spending most of our time on La Digue, but also then going to one other place on Mahe before finishing at the 4 Seasons. We took hire cars at different times, ferries, etc. but they were absolutely brilliant – unfailingly patient, got us really good deals. Can recommend them highly.

Room Tip: There are villas very close to the beach, and villas up on the hill in the jungle with amazing sea v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear Allan H,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review after only a short stay with us. We really appreciate the feedback and hope you can return to the Resort soon to explore a little more of Mahe.

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Pakistan
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

I don't even know where to begin, my husband and I have always been huge fans of the Four seasons hotels in general, but this one was incredible in every way.

Service:

Every single person from the reservations staff to the the buggy drivers made us feel welcome, pampered and really taken care of all the time. Not in a clingy over eager way, but in a supremely warm and at home kinda way.

Bob Suri the resort manager introduced himself to us at a cocktail event held for guests and since then whenever he saw us around he always did something to make our stay better, whether it was arranging a drop to a nearby artist's studio or taking a photograph for me while i was fumbling with my camera.

What I noticed about everyone in the resort was that they would always observe and react to a guests needs in time. Every time my husband and I were toying with our camera, nearby wait staff or buggy driver would offer to take a picture. I thought that was a great touch to the already amazing service.

Concierge,
We took a day trip to Praslin and La digue that the concierge took detailed care to plan for us. They stayed in touch with our taxi driver on the island, they waited for us at the end of the day with cool towels as we returned from a long tiring day.

Villas:

The villas are stunning, the decor the bathrooms, the beds and the views are incomparable with any other resort i've stayed at.
I didn't think any place could beat the Maldives for me, (We stayed at anantara Veli there) this did. I can't wait to see what Fourseasons Maldives is like.


The beach is stunning and without a doubt the best beach in Mahe. The one next to Maia doesn't look half as nice.

Food:
They made italian food especially for us at their signature restaurant Zez even though they had a arabic themed night going on.
Even though there are only 3 places to eat in the resort you do not get bored as they keep changing it up and the food is very good. They even had a live band on one night with dancers which was really fun.

The facilities are excellent, the spa has phenomenal views and the veranda where one does yoga next to the spa has a gorgeous sunset view, its truly relaxing.

The water is warm and inviting even thought we went in what is windy season as it was winter in the seychelles.

I highly recommend this place and woudl go back in a heart beat! It's worth every penny!

Room Tip: Go for a hilltop ocean view villa, if you want to see the deep blue indian ocean right from your bed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alex_Porteous, General Manager at Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, responded to this review, July 20, 2012
Dear 111Mad,

Thank you so much for taking the time to post such a comprehensive review of the Resort. We really appreciate the feedback, as do our future guests.

Thank you for recognising the care taken by the team here during your stay, and the small touches that added to your experience. I have shared your review with the team - they love seeing feedback like this as it gives such a great sense of achievement.

We hope to be able to welcome you back again soon for more spa, yoga and Creole Sega dancing!

With warm personal regards,
Alex Porteous
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Four Seasons Resort Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Seychelles

Address: Petite Anse | P.O. Box 1397, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Seychelles 5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Seychelles’ best kept secret – a tropical amphitheatre of treetop villas circling the idyllic white smile of Mahé’s Petite Anse bay. Descend down lushly forested paths to the secluded powder-sand beach or rise to the dramatic heights of the contemporary spa, cantilevered off the hillside with views that stretch forever. The villa interiors are inspired by rustic Seychellois and French colonial style. Simple, whitewashed timber slat walls allow our carefully curated collection of objets d’art to sing. The verandah, day bed pavilion, and infinity plunge pool set off unencumbered views of tropical greenery, the white sand enclosed in the bay, and the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. With only 67 villas and suites raised on stilts amongst mango, jackfruit and cinnamon trees on a 180-hectare site nestled in the natural amphitheatre of Petite Anse, the resort is a haven of untouched nature and peaceful isolation. From castaway days to vibrant Creole nights, bask in the cultural and culinary essences of the Seychelles infused with legendary Four Seasons care.Treehouse villas have their own private infinity pool cleverly integrated into vast wooden terraces, indoor and outdoor showers and large ocean-view baths. Journey to wellness at the hilltop spa where yoga and invigorating treatments await. Relaxation next to the white powder sands and azure waters is taken to the next level by a beach service tailored to make your time in the warm Seychelles climate as comfortable as possible, while recreation activities bring fun and adventure to those looking to try something new. "Kids for All Seasons" will keep young guests entertained, allowing parents to spend private moments together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Escapio so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Hotel Baie Lazare
4 Seasons Resort Seychelles
Four Seasons Seychelles
Four Seasons Baie Lazare
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.