We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All you can expect from a Seychelles holiday” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Four Seasons Resort Seychelles

Save Saved
You added Four Seasons Resort Seychelles to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Petite Anse | P.O. Box 1397, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Fourth Night Free!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Baie Lazare
Boulogne-Billancourt, France
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“All you can expect from a Seychelles holiday”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011

Second time for us at Seychelles after visiting Lemuria resort a couple of years ago. Four Seasons is a great resort. Only villas, with a huge space, private pools, and great bathroom including an external shower (I became addict about it...). The beach is to my opinion the best in Mahé (we compared with the ones from Gaia, Banyan Tree and FS is better). Staff, gardens, pool area are wonderful. I would give a triple AAA if the food was as good as the Lemuria. The Chef is not at the same level of the rest of the resort. Not bad. But not aligned with FS's standards. But I would definitly recommend this on Mahé Island, more than the others ones.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    65
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
121
294
7
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

Highly recommend this hotel to couples and family. Not cheap but worth every penny. Great if celebrating a special occasion. We went there for our honeymoon and was great as we felt very special. Was quite refreshing as not everyone was there on there honeymoon as well, which I experience at another hotel. Fantastic rooms. breath taking views. Rec a ocean view room as they are slightly closer to the restaurants and activities ect. Love the golf buggies which you rely on to get from a-b. Not great if you have trouble getting around. Rooms are very luxurious with all the amenities. The beach is amazing and very secluded. The service is impecable especially room service. The food wasn't amazing especially for the prices at the restaurants especially when compared to other four seasons resorts. The service was abit slow however the room service and breakfast was really good. You can't get bored at this hotel as you have own private pool (little), inhouse movies, gym,
beach, pool table and pool...so lots to do. Not much of a night life but it's not that sort of hotel. Gets dark really early..people seem to apear early and retire to there rooms early. Some never leave there rooms! I never felt on top of people the hotel is very private and spread out.

I rec you grab breakfast at the hotel before leaving the hotel for the airport as there is nothing really there! At the lobby there is copy and pastries supplied complimentry by the hotel!

Room Tip: rooms are chic and big. Private and secluded. Pools and spa baths in all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

The best place on island MAHE.
Restaurants with very hospitable personnel. Lived in 505. In the evening behind a wine glass on a verandah of a country house heart simply faded with delight!

Room Tip: Nice kind from all country houses Hillside
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2011

My husband and I spent 5 nights at the Four Seasons in Mahe as the final leg of our honeymoon at the beginning of August.

We were a little hesitant that our 5 days would not live up to the rest of our honeymoon trip (sarafi, followed by 5 nights Denis Island, then 5 nights at the Four Seasons) due to some of the reviews on this site indicating that the food was average and very expensive, and service poor. I am pleased to say we didn't find this to be the case during our stay.

Our room was ready for us on arrival, and we received a lovely welcome at reception, with drinks and a refresher towel provided while we checked in. Our Villa (407) was beauifully kitted out, fine size for the two of us, we had complementary champagne waiting for us. We were pleased with the size of the plunge pool - I imagined it as much smaller than it was.

The buggy service (a necessary give the steep cliff side roads) was excellent - we didn't wait for more than 5 mins for one ever, and when preordered were always on time.

I have to say the weather was a bit changable - one day it rained all day, and most days we had showers in the morning.

My husband and I had a massage at the Spa, which we thought was wonderful. The spa is located right at the top of the cliff and the views are amazing. I thought the massage itself was very good and at a level I would expect from the Four Seasons.

We did find the food and drinks to be on the expensive side, but we arrived thinking it would be more expensive than it was. The pricing is made worse by the hotel converting everything into Euros for payment from Seychelles rupees on the menu at a bad exchange rate versus what the rate would be if we converted it ourselves.
This isn't a place to come if you're going to have to watch the price of everything you order, but we found it very much on par with what you'd pay in London (where we live) in one of the central hotels. We spent on average about 80 Euros on lunch, and 200 Euros per dinner, but this includes a bottle of wine or a few beers at each.

We went to the Arabic and Japanese buffets for dinner during our stay, we thought both were excellent quality, and we particularly enjoyed the grilled meat cooked to order in front of you. I also recommend the sushi bar highly.

I thought the staff at the poolside restaurant were generally very good and attentive. There was maybe two occassions when I thought they were being a little slow, but being a normal London dinner I can be a bit impatient too. Overall I don't really have any specific complaints here.

The only thing that did really annoy us was the little birds jumping all over the tables at breakfast. They were a huge pest and people feeding/encouraging them really didn't help. It did not make me feel like I was having a relaxing breakfast! (But I thought the food was good).

The poolside was lovely & quite large - loved the made up cabana beds, the beach was very nice too but we felt not the largest beach in terms of length. You can't compare the beach to that on say Denis Island, but the sand was very white, clean and the sea was calm for swimming (apart from one day it was stormy). The snorkling is good for beginners but a lot of the coral is dead. There was a plentiful selection of colourful fish to see.

One day we paid 100 Euro and hired a driver to take us on a tour around the island and into Victoria so we could do some sight seeing. Thought this was a good way to do it - but take our advice - book through the hotel and not your travel agent. Ours offered the same thing for 80 Euros more than we paid through booking at the hotel. There isn't much to see in Victoria though, certainly not much shopping, and very mixed quality environment. The fish market was really interesting in the centre.


Overall we really enjoyed our stay. Make sure you pack some strong mosquito spray for the evenings. We would return again, thoroughly enjoyed it.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2011

I stayed in Four Seasons Seychelles last September on business. The setting in amongst the hills of the island is absolutely breathtaking. The beautiful private beach looks like something out of a film. The service was first class at all points.

The rooms are, in typical Four Seasons style, pure luxury with every last whim catered for. The choice of food in the resort is limited but delicious.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, UAE
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

We stayed at the Four seasons for five nights in August and we found the resort, the service and the ambience a once in a lifetime experience. We were looking for a child friendly hotel as I had an eight month old baby, and a resort to unwind with one of the best beaches in Seychelles, by the end of our stay we were totally wowed by the total experience.

We stayed in a garden view villa, short walk away from the beach, not that you do much walking here as the buggy service is superb and plays an integral role in the whole experience. From the check in to the last minute of our stay, the service we had received was like no other, they really went out of the way to make our experience one to remember.

The beach was just amazing and I have been told by countless local taxi drivers, it's the best beach in Mahe.

In terms of room for improvement, I would like to see more variety in the resturants, the private pool in the villa was too cold and would like to see individual temperature controlled pools, other then this, they were pretty much spot on.

The prices was high, however, if you want the best, dont look too far.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
houston
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

We stayed here for 5 nights on the first part of our honeymoon vacation. The views alone would bring me back to the Seychelles, and the rooms and service would take me back to the Four Seasons. The rooms are no short of amazing -- they are large, luxurious and the private plunge pools are all incredible. We did have an upper level unit, so the Bugey did have to be called each time we wanted to go down to the beach. But, it was worth it for the view. Unless you have a beach level unit, a bugey ride is essential as the pathways are pretty narrow for walking. We were very pleased with the service. Yes, as past reviewers have mentioned, there is a difference between the service level of the local FS employees and the International FS employees -- but the locals weren't rude -- it was just a cultural difference. We found the service overall great and indicative of the Four Seasons. We particularly found Robin, the water activities director, very helpful in leading our snorkleing trips. I am very fearful of the water and he made me feel very at ease. As others have commented, the food was the one area of dissapointment. Yes, it's pricey, but we expected that after reading the reviews and since it's an island and a Four Season. However, the quality of the meals were very bifurcated -- it was either terrible or fantastic. The fish was generally all delicious (including the sushi bar, which we highly recommend trying) but the very much hyped, Creole Night, was mediocre at best. Unfortunately there aren't many outside options as cab rides to other restaurants are very expensive (50euros each way) and then the food at the outside places aren't any less expensive. We also used the gym and spa during our stay and found both to be fantastic, particularly the spa as its location at the top of the hill provides the most spectacular and relaxing views. We would highly recommend this resort and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Four Seasons Resort Seychelles? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Four Seasons Resort Seychelles

Address: Petite Anse | P.O. Box 1397, Baie Lazare, Mahe Island, Seychelles
Phone Number:
Location: Seychelles > Mahe Island > Baie Lazare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Baie Lazare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Four Seasons Resort Seychelles 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover Seychelles’ best kept secret – a tropical amphitheatre of treetop villas circling the idyllic white smile of Mahé’s Petite Anse bay. Descend down lushly forested paths to the secluded powder-sand beach or rise to the dramatic heights of the contemporary spa, cantilevered off the hillside with views that stretch forever. The villa interiors are inspired by rustic Seychellois and French colonial style. Simple, whitewashed timber slat walls allow our carefully curated collection of objets d’art to sing. The verandah, day bed pavilion, and infinity plunge pool set off unencumbered views of tropical greenery, the white sand enclosed in the bay, and the azure waters of the Indian Ocean. With only 67 villas and suites raised on stilts amongst mango, jackfruit and cinnamon trees on a 180-hectare site nestled in the natural amphitheatre of Petite Anse, the resort is a haven of untouched nature and peaceful isolation. From castaway days to vibrant Creole nights, bask in the cultural and culinary essences of the Seychelles infused with legendary Four Seasons care.Treehouse villas have their own private infinity pool cleverly integrated into vast wooden terraces, indoor and outdoor showers and large ocean-view baths. Journey to wellness at the hilltop spa where yoga and invigorating treatments await. Relaxation next to the white powder sands and azure waters is taken to the next level by a beach service tailored to make your time in the warm Seychelles climate as comfortable as possible, while recreation activities bring fun and adventure to those looking to try something new. "Kids for All Seasons" will keep young guests entertained, allowing parents to spend private moments together. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Four Seasons Resort Seychelles reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Hotel Baie Lazare
4 Seasons Resort Seychelles
Four Seasons Seychelles
Four Seasons Baie Lazare
Four Seasons Resort Seychelles Mahe Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Four Seasons Resort Seychelles, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.