We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great beach stay on a real live African beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tama Lodge

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Tama Lodge to your Saves list
Tama Lodge
Avenue de la mer | Plage des cocotiers - BP 1524, Mbour BP 1524, Senegal   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 23 Hotels in Mbour
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
123 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Great beach stay on a real live African beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

I hovered between 4 and 5 stars on my rating - a couple of niggles on service brought it down but it could almost claim the top rating.

We had a "casa plage" - which is quite set back from the beach which is probably a good thing in light of the busy beach. Very nicely deocrated, comfortable bed and good hot water bathroom. The toilet is a bit "open" if you like your privacy! And then in front of our little house a little table and chairs a hammock and a couple of transits. And then the beach. Lovely. Daily cleaning. Aircon if you have to - we used the ceiling fan which was fine. Mosquito net - use it!

The food was really good. Choices for starters, mains and deserts. All good - take the half board option. You can add oysters or lobster for a supplement. Marvellous. Staff were really friendly and sweet, but they seemed incapable of coping if there were more than two tables to serve - breakfast on one morning was torturously slow.

The beach is wonderful, a real West African Atlantic ocean beach. The locals use it as a place to play, sit about, play football and do their workouts (loads of guys hopping, stretching, push ups, situps - an impressive display of muscle for the ladies!). There are also dogs, goats and horses. The sand is lovely, although there is rubbish when you move away from the hotel front (as is the case EVERYWHERE in Senegal) which the hotel clears, there are waves (this is the ocean) and also seaweed which they are no longer clearing as it protects the beach from erosion. You get some hassle from the local hawkers - selling their wares or trips into Mbour - you either go with it and haggle with them, or tell them politely no and they go away. The hotel has a security guy to help if ever they are too persistant although we never found this to be necessary.

We spent four nights here, very happy with our choice compared to some of the more seemingly soulless options in Saly which we walked past on our afternoon promenades. Lovely.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    19
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
48
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dakar, Dakar, Senegal
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

We live in Dakar and it was our 2nd time at the lodge in a beach bungalow. We're still as happy as the first time for the following reasons: 1) clean, practical bungalows, air conditioning for those who need it, wi fi available at the reception area 2) despite the fact that the beach is public, it's a very nice location. Public just entails that you will probably be disturbed by the numerous vendors, but this I guess is included in the Senegalese package. This is still a quiet and relaxing place ! 3) Service is excellent and professional, food is very good (restaurant is now only open to lodge residents). As other reviewers mention it, it is a bit expensive but I don't think that you can find anything similar in the area for less and I really don't recommend touristy Saly. So for a week-end away from Dakar, I think it's worth it. If I had one remark it would be regarding diner: it is served, candle-lit, in the beach open space which is actually romantic except that you quickly get assailed by bugs. This also comes with dining outside in Senegal, but I'm sure there must be a natural way to repel those cute bugs.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2011

One of my college roommates and I both happened to be in West Africa for work and chose Tama Lodge to meet for a girls weekend. It was the perfect choice. Tama is just outside of Saly in Mbour, so has a much more "authentic" feel. We walked down to Saly one afternoon and were very glad we weren't in the more "touristy" area of Saly. Tama sits literally on the beach, separated from the public beach by a small hedgerow. We didn't wear our shoes all weekend! The beach huts are very nice, air conditioned and comfortable. Only downside is the 'open' bathroom - so for 2 friends staying together - not ideal - but we had a nice sitting area outside to give the other privacy. The food was fantastic, and the service very good. We ate dinner in Saly one night, but this is definitely the kind of place that you could stay all weekend long without leaving and get great food, lots of sun and relaxation. Highly recommend. I'll be bringing my husband back next time!

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2011

Tama lodge is probably the prettiest of the petite cote hotels, but it's small, sits on a public beach and is very expensive for what you get. Think $300 a night expensive. So I have mixed feelings about the place. Downsides: dogs barking at night interrupting your sleep, public busy beach full of people really to jump out of the bushes to sell you something, food gets a bit repetitive. Upsides: beautiful decor, good service, great seafood and meat dishes. My suggestion is to stay in one of the garden rooms and then do demi-pension. That should bring down the costs a bit.

Tama Lodge est évidemment la plus jolie des hôtels sur la petite cote, mais elle est trop chère, et située sur une plage publique avec tout le monde partout. Bon, a mon avis, prenez une chambre de jardin et le demi- pension pour bien réduire les couts.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dakar
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2011

Very nice place and I relaxed in about 3,5 seconds after my arrival. Good place to forget everything - BUT big unfortunately the final bill gets one down to earth quickly.
Price - Quality relationship really needs some amendment, it is too expensive.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2010

We stayed at Tama Lodge for 4 nights and had a great time. It's right on the beach and is a great place to sit back and relax. This is a place that needs good weather as there is really nothing else to do but beachy things. The beach just outside the lodge is clean and well maintained but if you take a walk along the beach it's not as nice. Tama Lodge is away from the tourist area which isn't a bad thing but does mean quite a long walk to the restaurants. The food at the lodge was good. The staff speak very little English which proved a challenge at times as our French is poor. We stayed in the beach huts which are rustic and simply furnished but very clean and a good hot shower. It was great to wake up to the sound of the ocean and open your door and look out to sea. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Beautiful place! Quiet and yet accessible to Saly by 45 leisurely stroll along the beach! very relaxed - didn't wear shoes all holiday! Basic continental breakfast - just french bread which was disappointing. You could buy eggs etc but it was v expensive - 2000 sengalise for 2 eggs! (that's about £3!) however the rest of the food was superb! Always a fish, meat and pasta dish, which were all delicious! Very French - so if you are not confident in French then take a book as only a handful of words are spoken by the staff! You can pay by cash or credit card - there is a 3% charge for the latter.

The bar is very reasonable for beer and local wine however spirits are very expensive (£6 for gin and tonic!! Ouch!).

the beds are made out of foam mattresses which are not comfortable, and yet give you that rustic feel - ok to sleep on for a few days....

the beach is superb and is very clean.

Finally, the staff are lovely albeit a little laid back. Tama lodge is a peaceful , quiet tranquil locatoin - perfect to chill out and relax in! I would definitely go back!

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mbour hotels
1.7 mi away
Hotel Neptune
Hotel Neptune
#1 of 23 in Mbour
4.5 of 5 stars 448 reviews
1.7 mi away
Royam Hotel
Royam Hotel
#6 of 23 in Mbour
4.0 of 5 stars 250 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Keparanga
Hotel Keparanga
#5 of 23 in Mbour
4.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
La Teranga Hotel & Villas
0.6 mi away
Au Petit Jura
Au Petit Jura
#9 of 23 in Mbour
4.5 of 5 stars 17 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Rhino Resort Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tama Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tama Lodge

Address: Avenue de la mer | Plage des cocotiers - BP 1524, Mbour BP 1524, Senegal
Phone Number:
Location: Senegal > Thies Region > La Petite Cote > Mbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Mbour
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Mbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart on Senegal’s “Petite Cote” (the Small Coast), between Mbour’s fishing port and the seaside resort of Saly, the Tama Lodge preserves authenticity. The cabins are made of local materials, built on the sand of one of most beautiful beaches in the country, in a nest of greenery. In every one of the nine rooms, inspired from colours of Africa, with simplicity and elegance, you will find pieces of traditional handcraft : Kuba fabric from Congo, bed covers made of Mali’s bogolan, Touareg tent stakes, mortars and pestles… The whole lodge is full of charms of Africa, and offers, in its original setting, an exotic, mild and relaxing break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Tama Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tama Lodge Senegal/Mbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tama Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.