We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and gourmet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Teranga Hotel & Villas

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added La Teranga Hotel & Villas to your Saves list
La Teranga Hotel & Villas
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bp 14 Mbour | Saly Nord, Mbour, Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 23 Hotels in Mbour
Neuilly
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Peaceful and gourmet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

We spent one week at the Teranga and really enjoyed it. It is better to expect a good 3 star hotel than a 4 star deluxe, but the first asset of the resort is its staff. A perfect and smily service that makes you forget some small details. We were in a villa which was very comfortable and spaceful inside and outside, just ideal when you want to feel at home but with the service of a good hotel. The second asset of the resort is it's restaurant which can suit everyone with buffets or local menus, including barbecues with many varieties of tasty fish and meat. We did not feel in a club but appreciated shows and bands almost every night. There is no more beach but access to the ocean through a gangway is no problem and we could swim twice a day.

Room Tip: Rooms and villas closer to the sea are better to avoid some noise from Saly nightlife. Villas are be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

125 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    42
    7
    4
    4
See reviews for
44
45
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Rawalpindi, Pakistan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2011

I stayed here in Sep 2010 - there was a sun out every day - and in spite of being quite tame-looking, gave me a sunburn... so put on your sunscreens. I stayed in one of the double rooms - there are different types of accommodation - there are full villa sized suites and very large, spacious rooms. The bedding, linen etc. was quite clean and so was the room itself.

There is not much to do here - there is a tiny patch of sand with some benches, you can lie down there - there is a pool, which is quite chock full of children most of the times (if you are there during the holiday season). You can walk to the bazaar nearby which has some souvenir shops, a quite well stocked supermarket and a pharmacy/chemist.

No one speaks English so make sure you know French for hot, cold, food, salt, pepper, water, french fries (pom freet), small, large etc.

I am South Asian so the food here, for me, was quite inedible - I never ate the buffet but a sandwich I ordered here was horrible - breakfast was quite basic - and yes the flies, they are just everywhere - whooshing them away and trying to eat at the same time will give you a brain aneurysm ( I was there in the rainy season and this was pretty much everywhere in Saly, really)

Overall, the thatched roof huts, dispersed among the giant baobabs felt quite magical at times. I enjoyed my stay here and would go here again.

Room Tip: There is no internet in the rooms, but try to catch the room right next to the lobby, the wireless r...
See more room tips
Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maastricht
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2010

We organized a two-weeks training program with more than 30 participants at the Teranga Hotel. It was the perfect place. Very friendly and helpful staff everywhere from the reception to the restaurant and the many others. It is a beautiful environment with a perfectly maintained tropical garden. The rooms are simple but spacious and clean. The food was excellent. Especially the patisseur deserves a compliment for his cakes, pies and cremes. Very difficult to resist.... The view is gourgous, with the sea in the background, many places to sit and relax and a wonderful pool. Thank you very much for this unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torino
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2006

exellent hotel, big and clean room, the best restaurant in all senegal (better a la carte then buffet). Beautifull baobab garden

  • Liked — Restaurant and pool
  • Disliked — beach
  • Tips/Secrets — restaurant a la carte
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to La Teranga Hotel & Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Teranga Hotel & Villas

Address: Bp 14 Mbour | Saly Nord, Mbour, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Thies Region > La Petite Cote > Mbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Mbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — La Teranga Hotel & Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your La Teranga Hotel & Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Teranga Hotel And Villas
La Teranga Petite côte
La Teranga Hotel & Villas Senegal/Mbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Teranga Hotel & Villas, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.