We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK hotel - We had a nice stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Savana Saly Hotel

Save Saved
You added Savana Saly Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Savana Saly Hotel
Le Petite Cote, Mbour, Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 23 hotels in Mbour
Dakar, Senegal
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“OK hotel - We had a nice stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent three nights in this hotel. We very much enjoyed our stay! It was not in the tourist-season and the hotel was almost empty. Staff very, very committed and friendly. Food was good, with the exception of the breakfast, which I did not like at all because it was all sugar. The rooms are a bit run-down, but if you insist with the reception, the necessary repairs (window-mosquito nets with holes) are being done quickly (but not the not-so necessary ones like the burnt light bubs). 2 tennis courts, nice swimming pool. Big disadvantage outside the tourist season: The bar closes quite early (7-8pm) if no customers are expected. In most hotels in Senegal, the beds are not equipped with mosquito nets - unfortunately the Savana is no exception.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    5
    3
    4
See reviews for
3
7
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Monterey CA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

Based on a good experience one of its sister hotels in Dakar, we reserved 2 nights in April 2012 at this hotel in Saly Portudal, Senegal. While it was apparently a very nice resort at one time, it really needs some help and upgrades. The setting is beautiful: right on the ocean with a lovely large pool. But the rooms were quite dirty, A/C only partially working, and the staff was indifferent at best. A shame, because with just a little investment and care, this could be a great spot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2009

Our experience at the Savana was a somewhat troublesome one.

The rooms were correct , clean but nothing fancy, but the service was lacking. They are very friendly but do not expect them to serve you quickly or efectively as time will pass before you have to ask someone to bring you a knife/fork after sitting at your table for over 10 minutes. This happened everyday we were there, breakfast and dinner!

The food was very poor (dry chicken / fish and pasta or rice was all we got for dinner all week) We were force to pay over 130E for the New Year's dinner, which was more than limited (we got left overs in consecutive dinners) and only included ONE drink during the entire dinner, a rip off!! Not to mention the show, which was absolutly appaling, nowhere near the rest of the hotels.

They speack several languages and are friendly enough at the front desk, they are flexible with the check out times (it's always good since most flights leave in the late afternoon) but do not expect them to solve even the simplest of problems you may have.

All in all I would say you pay very high european prices for an almost non existing service and poor amenities. Certainly the poorest entretainment in the entire strip of hotels in Saly.

  • Liked — Location right on the beach was mazing and the pool was not bad.
  • Disliked — The service was VERY poor, overall way too expensive for what we got in return.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2006

The Savana Saly was a decent hotel. The staff spoke English which was helpful, and they were friendly and accomodating (in terms of check in and check out time). We went in the off season and hotel was near empty. We thought it would have been nice of them to offer an upgraded room as a discounted prices or something that extent. This would have defiantely caused us to spend more money there (via dinner, activities etc.) The room was okay. A bit dirty and had ants in the bathroom. The breakfast was okay. We did love the pool. It was big and had lots of chairs. The beach access was not great as the beach chair are raised up and needs stairs to enter the beach. Overall, okay but would probably chose another hotel if was going back to Saly as there are so many to choose from. Not a bad option though.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Savana Saly Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Savana Saly Hotel

Address: Le Petite Cote, Mbour, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Thies Region > La Petite Cote > Mbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#13 On the Beach Hotel in Mbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Savana Saly Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Savana Saly Hotel Senegal/Mbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Savana Saly Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.