We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for a calm, relaxing weekend” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Keur Marrakis

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hotel Keur Marrakis to your Saves list
Hotel Keur Marrakis
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Serere Souf, Mbour 10000, Senegal   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 35 Mbour B&B and Inns
Dakar, Senegal
1 review
“Great spot for a calm, relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

We had a very nice and relaxing two night getaway from Dakar thanks to this charming little hotel. Very calm atmosphere, friendly staff, great food, breathtaking view and a nice little pool area make this a perfect place for a cool, relaxing weekend. There didn't seem to be so much to explore in Mbour itself and the beach could be cleaner, but luckily there wasn't much need to leave the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    7
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

This is a fantastic hotel right on the beach of Mbour. The staff is friendly and fun to talk to, but that's ontop of the great service. A beautiful pool to dip into and a patio with perfect views of each nights sunset over the Atlantic. If you want some exercise, one can train with the senegalese wrestlers on the beach, which is located just down the steps from the patio. Prices for food are reasonable and the breakfast is fantastic. The owners are retired Italian educators, so their pizza is fantastic. I highly recommend this place for anyone staying in Mbour!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

We had a fantastic 4-night stay here in January, 2013. The hotel is cool, clean, and comfortable, with a spectacular ocean view and a wonderful terrace & pool for relaxing in the sun or shade. The staff and manager are incredibly friendly and accommodating, and really true to form for the famed Senegalese hospitality.

Although the beaches in Mbour (and most of the Cote) aren't as clean as the privatized ones in Saly, the staff at Keur Marrakis does make an effort to clean the beach below the hotel, and there are several promising swimming spots nearby. The benefit of being in Mbour is that you don't have to be in complete isolation in your hotel if you don't want - there is a real town there with a bustling fishing market, which is definitely worth a visit with a local guide. At the same time, if you DO prefer an isolated resort experience, Marrakis is so peaceful it's rather easy to forget you're near such a big village. And it is much more affordable than hotels in the resort towns further up the Cote.

Thanks, Marrakis, for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: They have "deluxe" doubles which have an ocean view - definitely worth the tiny additional...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

I spent a very jolly good time at Marrakis on my way to the Sine Saloum delta, and it was a refreshing oasis of calm, with nice pool and some excellent Italian food. Next time I'm in the region, this will be my port of call!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2012

Spent a heavenly week here some time ago and suddenly wished we were back there, sitting by the pool, reading, admiring the view and doing not much else. Utter bliss.
Wonderful staff and a great peaceful location, perched above the beach looking at the ocean.
We also had an unforgettable fishing trip in a canoe and our catch was cooked perfectly for our dinner.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
torino italia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2012

Quiet family hotel to relax and enyoy your journey.Warm and friendly welcome.A very nice place to stay and make excursions.Trusted taxi drivers available for tours. Beautiful location.Staff kind and careful.Price and quality good. Excellent italian and international cooking with fresh daily fish.Bread and pizza home made

Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012

We spent more than a week at this hotel and we had a great time. We were there for Christmas and New Year's eve and we just felt at home!

The location, the food and the people were very nice. The hotel is located just 5 minutes from the jetty.

If you arrive from Dakar get a private taxi or the wonderful 7 place. From the city centre of Mbour instead the "charrette" is fine.

The rooms are good and offer great seaviews . The food is excellent! In the hall you can easily get relaxed in the swimming pool with a beesap (karcadè) or a Gazelle (local beer).

It's close to several interesting touristic places such as Joal-Fadiout, the Réserve de Bandia not very far from Mbour.

Thanks to Marisa, and all the staff of Marrakis.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Mbour hotels
4.0 mi away
Hotel Neptune
Hotel Neptune
#1 of 23 in Mbour
4.5 of 5 stars 443 reviews
2.3 mi away
Le Warang Hotel
Le Warang Hotel
#11 of 23 in Mbour
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
5.0 mi away
La Teranga Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Royam Hotel
Royam Hotel
#6 of 23 in Mbour
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
4.9 mi away
Hotel Keparanga
Hotel Keparanga
#5 of 23 in Mbour
4.5 of 5 stars 51 reviews
2.3 mi away
Tama Lodge
Tama Lodge
#2 of 23 in Mbour
4.5 of 5 stars 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Keur Marrakis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Keur Marrakis

Address: Serere Souf, Mbour 10000, Senegal
Location: Senegal > Thies Region > La Petite Cote > Mbour
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Mbour
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Keur Marrakis 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Keur Marrakis is a bed and breakfast situated on the beach in a green and flourished oasis, only 5 minutes on foot from the handcraft market and from the fish market of Mbour.Our house comprises 11 comfortable and well equipped rooms, each with its own tiled bathroom, with ample sinks and showers. every room ceiling fans ensure a maximum of freshness during the hottest days, even though the maritime breeze keeps Keür Marrakis in a place cool and pleasant the whole year round.Keür Marrakis è un bed and breakfast situato sulla spiaggia in un'oasi di verde e fiori, a 5 minuti a piedi dal mercato artigianale e dal mercato del pesce di Mbour. Camere doppie e quadruple confortevoli e ben equipaggiate: servizi in ogni camera piastrellati in carreaux cassés, con ampio lavabo e doccia. Armadiature ad ante incassate e spaziose. Gli abbaini ricavati nel tetto di paglia e legno conferiscono alle camere del primo piano un'atmosfera bohémienne. In ogni camera il ventilatore a soffitto consente di godere di maggior frescura nelle giornate più calde, anche se la brezza dell'oceano rende Keür Marrakis un luogo dal clima fresco e gradevole tutto l'anno. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Keur Marrakis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Keur Marrakis Senegal/Mbour

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Keur Marrakis, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.