We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The trip of a lifetime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlin Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Benguerra Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marlin Lodge
Save
You added Marlin Lodge to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Airport Road | Vilanculos, Inhambane Province, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
JHB
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The trip of a lifetime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Our stay at Marlin Lodge was, in my opinion, one of the best vacations I have ever had! The most amazing location i have seen, one that rivals, and even, dare i say it, tops Mauritius (the snorkeling at 2 mile reef was incredible, and backs up my claim about Mauritius too!)! The service was really second to none with all of the staff going the extra mile with a smile to ensure we were comfortable and happy at all times. Our accommodation was beautiful, luxurious, comfortable, spacious and best of all, about 5 meters away from the warm azure sea. The food too was spectacularly brilliant in flavor, texture, freshness and presentation. All in all, I can confidently say that our trip to Marlin Lodge was one of the most enjoyable, relaxing and fun holidays I have been on yet. I would highly recommend Marlin Lodge to any traveler wondering where to book when planning a trip to Benguerra Island, or to Mozambique. or even to Mauritius, for that matter!

Oliver Nathan

Room Tip: Room 17, the suite which we stayed in is so beautiful, spacious and comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    15
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
77
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cape Town
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

After a very comfortable 30minute boat ride that really gets you into holiday mode, you are met on arrival by the warmest smiles of a dozen singing ladies to welcome you to the lodge, a cool facecloth and a cocktail before a seamless check in to your private chalet.
All chalets are spacious, with indoor and outdoor showers and have a deck with hammock, chairs and a private beach lapa where cushions are layed out each morning. Turn down includes lovely small touches from some local language tips to romantic poems.

We went for a snorkel and a dive; the equipment, skipper, boat, guides and dive instructor were all great. Although this is a perfect time to travel in the Mozambique winter as the days are beautiful and warm but there is low to zero humidity and no chance of cyclones, the evenings can get chilly and I recommend you wear a long suit to make your snorkel and dive more enjoyable! We saw humpback whales en route to our dive site which isn't called the Aqaurium at Two Mile reef for nothing; together with schools of manta rays, a honeycomb moray eel, a turtle and plenty of tropical shoals. Also remember that this area is tidal so you will have a few hours each day where you won't be able to swim in the sea but there is a lovely pool with loungers and bar service so its not a problem.

But what made Marlin so special for us was the people, the great value, the surprise inclusions and the general atmosphere which is relaxed, easy going and friendly. We also loved the passion for the the environment the staff at Marlin have, and enjoyed learning about the endangered Dugong and the local village projects.

I think Marlin is great for anyone looking for a relaxed beach break in a remote setting without compromising on the creature comforts of great food, good service and warm hospitality.

Room Tip: All the chalets are great - get something close to reception if you don't want to walk far other...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinLodge, Manager at Marlin Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
What wonderful feedback - thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Marlin Lodge. We look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dubai
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Exquisite location, excellent service, romantic getaway. Don't know honestly where to start. Our stay in Marlin lodge was a special one, first of all can not forget the private lunch on a remote island with all delicious foods, romantic bush bath (highly recommended) with sparkling wine, ultra relaxing message by Nadia and expert diver Jayson, F&B Zac and lovely Colette. Thank you for making this stay an unforgettable one, thank you for the professionalism and thanks all Marlin Lodge staff.

Room Tip: ml 2 and ml 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinLodge, Manager at Marlin Lodge, responded to this review, September 5, 2012
Thank you for your kind words and the lovely feedback. We are delighted that you got to experience just a few of the magical moments we offer at Marlin! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you again sometime soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Wow...the was part of our three week honeymoon. The last nature part before we finished up in Cape Town, and it was like a dream.
The beach is almost entirely private...miles and miles of it, which was dotted at the time with enormous (like size 12 foot size) bright blue star fish!!! So cool!
The snorkeling was with out a doubt the best I have ever done...exotic fish by the barrel full--and the island we snorkeled off of...OMG, it was like Lawrence of Arabia! Immaculate, gorgeous, white, giant sand dunes! Crazy fun!
We had private tabled dinner on the beach one night. Private bath tubs with a beach/sunset view. A lovely beach side private bungalow. Walking endlessly at low tide beach side. And, as I mentioned-the boat ride to the snorkeling, and private sand dune island. Do this before it ceases to exist!

Room Tip: Ask for a private bungalow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinLodge, General Manager at Marlin Lodge, responded to this review, August 23, 2012
Thank you Lisa for your incredible feedback. We are only so happy that we were able to help create some magical memories on your honeymoon. We look forward to welcoming you back one day soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle UK
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012

My family & I (husband 3 children, 18, 13, 9) stayed for 8 wonderful nights at Marlin. Everything about our stay was very special. The island is beautiful, real Robinson Crusoe beaches, the picnic we had on the last day was magical. All the staff are fantastic, very friendly & helpful. Would especially like to thank Zac with his help with our very fussy daughter. Nothing was too much trouble for providing food she would enjoy, even naming a breakfast choice after her! All the food is amazing, every meal was a delight. The rooms are spacious, with the most amazing view to wake up to. We were very sad to leave really felt part of the Marlin family. We hope to be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our family stayed in this resort for 1 week in July 2012 - FANTASTIC . It was the last leg of our great first trip in Africa - and it was voted the best time unanimously. Admittedly it is had to get to -
pretty good local airport though and only short 20-30 min by boat .
The whole set up is beautiful and elegant - it is hard to describe . Indian ocean is fantastic there .
Rooms are spacious and secluded with full ocean view due to its elevation.Food to die for and spectacular common areas - massive hatched roof rooms to enjoy and meet other people. Nice pool and endless beach . The beach we can compare to our Australian Whiteheaven Beach !
Plenty activities to enjoy - diving is great depending on weather , world class snorkeling and sunset cruises to name a few. And of course fishing if you can pull out Blue Marlin !
Should absolutely mention island picnics - a must !!!
All staff was great - management , diving guys and kitchen and cleaning etc .
Highly recommended and will consider coming back if in the South of Africa.
Thank you very much for the great experience and lasting memories.
Andrey /Natasha and Sam

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinLodge, Manager at Marlin Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Andrey,
It was so interesting to meet you and to have you on the island with us. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back soon. Next time we have to take you for dives at San Sebastian - now that you are all advanced divers. Take Care Colette, Jayson, Billy, Nadia and all the staff at Marlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genk, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed 5 nights, 2 adults 2 children. Excellent attention to detail on every level. Staff and management couldn't have done more to make our stay perfect. Excellent cuisine. Perfect location. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinLodge, Manager at Marlin Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marlin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Lodge

Address: Airport Road | Vilanculos, Inhambane Province, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Bazaruto Archipelago > Benguerra Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benguerra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlin Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Marlin Hotel Benguerra Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlin Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.