We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach hotel in Africa” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marlin Lodge

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Benguerra Island
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marlin Lodge
Save
You added Marlin Lodge to your Saves list
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Airport Road | Vilanculos, Inhambane Province, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best beach hotel in Africa”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Our family stayed in this resort for 1 week in July 2012 - FANTASTIC . It was the last leg of our great first trip in Africa - and it was voted the best time unanimously. Admittedly it is had to get to -
pretty good local airport though and only short 20-30 min by boat .
The whole set up is beautiful and elegant - it is hard to describe . Indian ocean is fantastic there .
Rooms are spacious and secluded with full ocean view due to its elevation.Food to die for and spectacular common areas - massive hatched roof rooms to enjoy and meet other people. Nice pool and endless beach . The beach we can compare to our Australian Whiteheaven Beach !
Plenty activities to enjoy - diving is great depending on weather , world class snorkeling and sunset cruises to name a few. And of course fishing if you can pull out Blue Marlin !
Should absolutely mention island picnics - a must !!!
All staff was great - management , diving guys and kitchen and cleaning etc .
Highly recommended and will consider coming back if in the South of Africa.
Thank you very much for the great experience and lasting memories.
Andrey /Natasha and Sam

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinLodge, Manager at Marlin Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Dear Andrey,
It was so interesting to meet you and to have you on the island with us. Thank you for your kind words. We hope to welcome you back soon. Next time we have to take you for dives at San Sebastian - now that you are all advanced divers. Take Care Colette, Jayson, Billy, Nadia and all the staff at Marlin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    15
    4
    6
    2
See reviews for
11
77
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Genk, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

We stayed 5 nights, 2 adults 2 children. Excellent attention to detail on every level. Staff and management couldn't have done more to make our stay perfect. Excellent cuisine. Perfect location. We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinLodge, Manager at Marlin Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Thank you for your feedback, we look forward to welcoming you and your family back again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm, Sweden
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2012

We were lucky to visit when there were few other guests and we had an absolute fantastic stay. On the other hand I don't think you actually ever get crowded even during peak seasons, since there is considerate distance between the suites and there are plenty of places to relax in and hang out.

Suites were very nice indeed and spacious. Loved the two big showers (one outside), and your own semi-private beach just some steps away.

The meals wew superb, often set up in different places and always offering new and very tasteful dishes. And the seafood was of course sensational. You got to choose between a couple of starters, mains and desserts and they managed to surprise us every day, so you never got tired of any food.

Most importantly the service was both super friendly and personal, as well as very professional. We enjoyed some great diving, visited a serene and beautiful spa and was all in all really well taken care of when we needed.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarlinLodge, Manager at Marlin Lodge, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
What lovely feedback - it is great t hear that you were able to appreciate the tranquility of Marlin Lodge and Benguerra Island. We hope to welcome you back again and spoil you once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

My wife and I spent 5 nights of our Honeymoon at Marlin lodge in May 2012. It was an absolutely amazing experience. The lodge has an incredible staff that works hard to make sure your stay is both relaxing and unforgettable. From the moment you arrive you feel like you are in paradise. The decor, scenery, and food were spectacular. The lodge offered plenty of activities as well. The Snorkeling, Pansy Island, Bush Bath, Spa, and Dhow cruise were definitely highlights for us. Highly recommend to couples and honeymooners. Thank you to everyone at Marlin Lodge for making our stay truly memorable. We hope to get back sometime soon!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2012

From the moment we were collected at the airport right until the sad goodbyes when we were dropped off again 3 days later, our wedding weekend at Marlin Lodge was perfect!! The staff are incredibly helpful and friendly, the food was sublime, and the beach too beautiful for words. We were treated like royalty from start to finish and could not be happier that we chose Marlin Lodge as the venue for our dream wedding. Colette and her team pay attention to every detail and nothing is too much trouble. Tessa and her kitchen staff conjure up meals that are worthy of photographs and taste just as good as they look. We had a wonderful bush bath and can definitely recommend the diving as well as the trip to Pansy Island.

A truly magnificent lodge in an idyllic setting. Thank you Marlin for making our wedding so very special!

Room Tip: Stay in rooms 11 to 14 for spectacular views over the ocean, direct access to the beach but stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Marlin Lodge, responded to this review, July 16, 2012
Thank you Cathryn and Shaun! It was so incredible to have you with us and to be able to share in your special day. Cathryn you looked gorgeous and Shaun definitely a dashing groom!! We wish you happiness, love and laughter in all the years to come. Enjoy Italy and we hope to see you back at Marlin again soon. All the staff send their best wishes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

What an awesome place , the staff both Managment and junior staff treated us like kings , the food was absolutely devine . I would recommend this 5 star lodge to any person , world standard superb .

Room Tip: All rooms are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiesbaden
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We (2/couple) stayed at Marlin Lodge for four nights after a safari in May 2012.
At the airport we were greeted by a driver of the lodge and transferred to a passenger boat that was moored on a sandy beach. The ride takes about 45 minutes and the boat has plastic covers to prevent you from getting wet in case of rough seas, but our journey was a calm and pleasant one. It might be good to know that you have to wade through water knee deep on embarking and disembarking.
The staff choir welcomed us on the beach with singing and dancing. Everybody was all smiles and greeted us warmly. Immediately we felt at home!
The rooms are accessed by a wooden construction that leads through dense vegitation to the seperate bungalows that have direct access to the beach, a terrasse with a hammock and fantastic sea view.
The variety and quality of the food is amazing and the meals are served in different places (i.e. Barbecue at the beach, luncheons in the garden etc.).
Benguerra is a paradise for divers, snorklers and deep sea fishers and Marlin lodge is well equipped for all of those activities. Although we are no divers, we could tell from the cocktail hour talks with other guests and the logde management.
Thank you Colette, Jason, Eusebio and everybody at Marlin Lodge for the wonderful time we had.
We highly recommend this place for couples, especially honeymooners and everybody who needs a break from city life or stressful jobs as we found it impossible not to relax on this beautiful island while being looked after so well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Marlin Lodge, responded to this review, June 25, 2012
Thank you " TheodorWiesbaden" for your review - we always look forward to hearing from our guests and appreciate you taking the time. Although you did not go diving - I am so pleased to hear you were able to rest, relax and be pampered by our staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marlin Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marlin Lodge

Address: Airport Road | Vilanculos, Inhambane Province, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Bazaruto Archipelago > Benguerra Island
Amenities:
Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Benguerra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Marlin Lodge 4.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Marlin Hotel Benguerra Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marlin Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.