We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of andBeyond Benguerra Island

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added andBeyond Benguerra Island to your Saves list
andBeyond Benguerra Island
4.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Benguerra Island, Inhambane Province 0000, Mozambique (Formerly Benguerra Lodge)   |  
Hotel amenities
New York City, New York
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

I went there with my parents in march for 12days, it was amazing.

The lodge is beautiful for it is really traditional. The casita right on the beach (compare to Azura that are more in the back) all in wood and beautiful materials with splendid view on the beach.
The Food is also really good served on the beach, on your deck or main room wherever you wish . Your butler is at your entire disposal.
Everything is made so you can enjoy your time with your love-ones and feel you are the only guests in the hotel.
People are unique and make your stay unforgettable
We stayed 12 days which I thought will be a little bit to long but it was the perfect time to enjoy the sea and know the place. Fishing, snorkeling, horse-riding, the dunes everything was WONDERFUL. Picnics settled on wild sand islands , boat cruises around the island.

not having internet was such a blast

IT IS THE PERFECT PLACE TO RELAX AND JUST ENJOY LIFE , BEAUTY OF NATURE IN A UNIQUE PLACE

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    25
    10
    11
    2
See reviews for
16
80
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We stayed for four nights at the end of our honeymoon, the lodges were amazing and the staff were very attentive (although it was quiet season for them). Despite being isolated somewhat, there is plenty to keep you occupied. We did some scuba diving of the nearby reef and the staff set us up a tent/lunch on a nearby beach when we wanted to leave the resort for a while.

Highly recommended, however I would encourage people to be aware that the lodges are not air conditioned, there are slats instead of walls, so you leave them open to get the night breeze from the sea. You sleep within a mosquito net so you don't get bitten.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

I am so happy that we ended up at Benguerra as our last stop for our honeymoon. We had originally booked Marlin Lodge but due to a fire at Marlin we were reallocated to Benguerra Lodge, and luckily so. I must say that we were quite a bit reluctant because we read that there was no air conditioning here but luckily the sea breeze and wind made our nights quite pleasant.
When the weather is in your favor, there are so many outdoor activities to fill your day: snorkeling (gorgeous pristine reefs), picnics enjoyed on the island itself or by boat to surrounding islands, diving, fishing, etc. However if the weather is inclement and windy, you are narrowed to a limited amount of indoor/island options. During our 5 night stay, the majority of the time it was too windy for many of the outdoor activities, however the staff was great in trying to accommodate us the best they could: island drives, walking up the sand dunes, options to watch a local soccer game, etc. And of course, the best of all was just being able to rest and relax with my husband. We take for granted the little things in life, and this experience at Benguerra made us understand the concept of barefoot luxury…

The staff is amazing. Each room is assigned a personal helper/waiter. Enya was ours and she was absolutely fantastic. A couple of nights she even beautifully decorated the dhow bar for a private dinner. She was extremely attentive, friendly, and polite. Arlindo, manager, was also wonderful. He is very courteous; you can tell how much he loves his job and how he genuinely cares for all of the guests.

The food is also fantastic especially the seafood. It is just so fresh. Notably, one lunch we had stuffed crabs; they were easily one of the best things we have consumed EVER! Before dinner, you are welcome to partake in a “social” hour and mingle with the other guests with drinks and snacks. We really enjoyed this but of course if you choose you can be as private as you like. If you would like, you could have all your meals in your casita. The accommodation is fantastic. It is private, cozy, and relaxing. You have your own private plunge pool that looks out into the water, just so gorgeous.
If you are looking for a commercialized resort, this place is not for you. BUT if you are looking for peaceful, idyllic, unspoiled, romantic and authentic getaway…I urge you to book here immediately.
This is Africa so it will be hot and there will be mosquitoes but it is part of this paradise. From the decoration to the staff all is done with love, passion and dedication. We will never forget our Mozambique experience, such a beautiful country with wonderful people. Thanks :)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

A high class and absolute premium choice for a special treat. The place is extremely well managed ("no compromises"), with charme and a dedication of really everybody who works there. Restricted number of guests underlines the unbeatable feeling of staying at this exclusive (and family-run) place. Not cheap on first sight, BUT taken into account the remote location (island + country of Mocambique), and in spite of that the availability of everything in top quality: very stylish furnishings, variety of food/drinks, activities down to individual wishes and at ANY time individual service more than justifies it. If in doubt where to go with all the many choices, this is the place to look for.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salussola
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

What an experience! Incredible location, on a beautiful beach, coral reef 20 minutes, everything perfect, beautiful and easy, with personal butler that takes care of everything you need. Great food, good activities, but more than that, a great place to relax and enjoy life.
Rooms are beautifully set, when you come home at evening an hot bath is waiting for you, staff is efficient and kind.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Three of us (myself, my partner and his cousin) have just spent an idyllic five days at Benguerra over Christmas, and reading the previous review I am wondering if we stayed at the same place. Benguerra is an enchanting small island off the coast of Mozambique with its own lush vegetation and attendant wildlife. The Lodge has been sympathetically constructed and the attention to detail is remarkable from the furniture, to the wooden floor inlays in the casita to the copper baths to the beading on the wires supporting the mosquito nets. This attention to detail is also manifested in the staff who could not be more friendly, accommodating and delightful. To be assigned your own butler is a treat, and to have one as obliging, polite and amusing as Castigo was one of the many highlights of the holiday. My partner and I have stayed at several lodges in Mozambique and around East Africa and can genuinely say Benguerra is the best we have stayed at, and one to which we will certainly be returning. The cabanas and casitas are lovely, the main bar and dining area is beautiful and the beach dhow bar unique. Considering the location and the no doubt enormous logistical challenges of running the Lodge, the facilities provided and the food and drink served are excellent. If you are looking for all mod cons and full air con, then this is not the place for you, but if you are looking for a stylish, beautifully appointed, well run piece of paradise in the middle of the Indian Ocean, then you've arrived. Sally and Arlindo run a great team and could not have been more welcoming. We are literally counting the days until we can return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We spent the last four nights of our honeymoon at this lodge, with high expectations. Here is our honest view, and I would like to point out that, but my husband and I consider ourselves seasoned travellers and always like to look on the bright side of things and give praise when it's due.

- food was average and simple. Given the locality of the lodge, we expected a wider variety of seafood. However at best we ate tuna 3 out of the four days, only on the last day we had some lovely crayfish. If you are expecting the same as us, you will be disappointed. There is little variety at dinner, and at times we passed on courses.
- service, our mozambiquan butler was extremely lovely. She was attentive and kind. She thought of us throughout our stay and was happy to provide alternatives to the stodgie desserts on offer. Much appreciated.
- accommodation. This was authentic, however completely exposed to nature. We had rats in our room every night. The rat droppings were reported to management four times and cleaned up ourselves but we saw little action. The manageress of the hotel tried to tell us the droppings were from a gecko, I am sorry but after seeing three of these rats larger than a gentlemans size 12 shoe you cannot pull the wool over my eyes. Yes, this is Africa, but given this is advertised as a 5* lodge this is unacceptable! Even after all of the discussions with management on this issue, nothing helpful to us was done. I also noted a senior representative acknowledging there was probably a rat nest in our room. I don't care if these animals are harmless, given the cost we bared to stay here, I was stunned. Wild animals can carry diseases...
HOT - no air conditioning in any of the rooms. Given the temperatures reaching 40 degrees during the day, the nights are competely unbreable. We were advised to take a cold shower before going to sleep by the manageress when I raised this issue. Not offered an additional fan which other guests were privy too.
- status. We stayed In a Cabana not a casita. We felt like a poor relation the entire trip. Not even a torch to guide us home after dark. General lack of real attention and the manageress showed little interest even when we were giving praise, such as for the wonderful beach picnic they provided, a real highlight.
Ambiance - lovely, great group of guest made up for the rodents.

Overall, I would not recommend this hotel. We had friends staying at the Azure up the beach. Their accommodation was lush, with AC and fully enclosed. Given the cost is the same, save yourself the hassle. I would especially avoid this place if you have children.

Again, we have travelled across Africa, Asia, Europe and America, and generally turn a blind eye to the odd poor review on tripadvisor. However, this is a genuine account of experience perhaps you will have a different one if you decide to stay.


  • Stayed December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to andBeyond Benguerra Island? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Benguerra Island

Address: Benguerra Island, Inhambane Province 0000, Mozambique (Formerly Benguerra Lodge)
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Bazaruto Archipelago > Benguerra Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Benguerra Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — andBeyond Benguerra Island 4*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Benguerra Lodge, situated on beautiful Benguerra Island in the Bazaruto Archipelago, Moçambique. A small, intimate lodge offering personalized service and barefoot luxury, on a gorgeous beach washed by the warm, turquoise waters. Enjoy snorkelling or scuba diving over pristine coral reefs, experience world-class fly fishing or simply relax on secluded beaches. Benguerra works closely with the local community to conserve and protect the pristine marine environment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your andBeyond Benguerra Island reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Benguerra Hotel Benguerra Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage andBeyond Benguerra Island, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.