We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pestana Bazaruto Lodge

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Pestana Bazaruto Lodge to your Saves list
Pestana Bazaruto Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Bazaruto Archipelago | Bazaruto Island, Inhambane Province 4376, Mozambique   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bazaruto Island
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

On arriving at this beautiful island via plane...which is an amazing experience-one is met with a drink and a wreath of flowers...nice touch! i expected the lodge to be in better condition then it is though. Unfortunately it has a neglected feel about it. Our room was beautiful and perfectly situated near the beach. Pity they positioned the walkways right in front of the door. Food was disappointing. You did get the feeling of recycled food for the next day. Also not enough fish! one has to bear in mind availability and the fact its an island....so difficult to get supplies all the time. Staff were super friendly and Paradise Island is a MUST...swimming with the fishes was the highlight of my trip.

Room Tip: Room No 10 has a double bed and not 2 singles pushed together.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    55
    36
    13
    11
    5
See reviews for
24
63
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Was at Bazaruto Lodge last week at the same time as Megan and cant understand Megan's anger/ dissatisfaction..... The lodge was wonderful as always and service as impeccable - food was divine (could eat myself to death) and beaches were heavenly!

The weather played up a bit - but as always, weather is an 'act of God' and beyond the control of any human being or hotel staff member - but nothing in our holiday fell short because of this
I love the fact that the lodge has now gone AI on its meal plan - what value for money! The pristine beaches and prime location on the archipelago, for all types of water sports make Bazaruto Lodge THE spot to be on.
My husband caught quite a few good fish even though the weather wasnt too good, and we thoroughly enjoyed the excursions to Paradise island - and the pampering at the Spa!

Loved every minute, regret not booking a longer stay!!
Definely back for Xmas and New Year - cant wait !!!!!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
1 review
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

My husband and I looked so forward to a romantic getaway...but boy were we dissappointed. This is no exaggeration and understandibly unbelievable to most people, but this is our experience and we are hoping that no one ever has to have the same.
This hotel has been neglected in every area. From stained bed linen and towels all with holes in. Broken furniture in our room and throughout hotel. Broken toilet and tap in our room. The bar ran out of drinks to make certain cocktails, beer was warm daily, coffee machine broken. The food was pure army food. From biltong dry prawns to sand in rice and puddings. Steak as tough as leather, old veges in salads...there speciality is recycling the previous days food for the next day! Used sanitary pads and rubbish not even 20 metres from hotel..never mind the SMELL. The beaches had so much litter, we saw more washed up plastic than shells. Hasseled daily by locals while lying on beach. I cannot explain the sadness we feel and dissappointment of spending over R60 000 on this holiday. 4 other couples that we met on this trip had exactly the same experience with us and we will all be making formal complaints. The only highlight was our trip to Paradise Island to go snorkeing-it was amazing and the sand strip to fish from, where we found pansy shells in abundance. 4 Star hotel? 2 Star is more like it!

Room Tip: Pictures are deceiving!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Back to Bazaruto Lodge again, I found the lodge and setting continues to live up to my expectations.Staff wonderfully attentive as always. A special treat at this time of year is the presence of hundreds of flamingos in the bay in front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Near to the reception area with a sea view gives good access to the beach and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middelburg, South Africa
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

Although regular travelers to Mozambique, this was our first trip to Bazaruto Lodge, staying on the island for 5 nights. When arriving at Vilanculous, my wife got onto the "funny looking" little plane (ZS-BLV) with some reservation, but all this was forgotten the minute we took off and headed over the Indian Ocean toward Bazaruto Island. The view and deap blue ocean is hard to describe to those that have not undertaken this trip.

From the moment we landed on the airstrip close to the lodge, we sensed that this was going to be an awesome trip. The staff were magnificent and Tony (General Manager) needs to be complimented in the way the resort is managed, which is also manifested through the friendly and helpful staff team. It is difficult to single out anybody in particular as, from top management down to the cleaning/service staff, we were made to feel very special at all times.

The food was incredible and, being seafood fanatics, my wife and I could not get enough of the (always fresh) stuff. Having said that, there was alway sufficient variation to cater for those that preferred beef, chicken, pasta, vegetarian, etc.

The weather was perfect except for the last day when it became a bit windy, but still did not deter me from going out to sea with one of the lodge boats.

Some of the highlights for us:

* Charter flight from Vilanculous to the lodge
* Fishing - thanks to the expert assistance of Alex and Patricio, I was able to land a rather large King Mackerel which almost won the fight!
* Victoria and Jose, who made us feel so special during dinner time.
* Tranqulity of the island and ample opportunity to go for walks. The walk up to the light house is a must, tests your energy levels somewhat, but just be sure to take some water along, as it is about a 2-hour round trip.

It was with sadness that we left the island yesterday and my wife and I arrived home in South Africa feeling that part of us was left behind on Bazaruto. We are already planning our next trip to coincide with our 35th wedding anniversary!

Lastly, being the type of person that I am, I did look at most of the trip reviews submitted by travelers before we departed to Bazaruto, mainly to understand what to prepare for (positively or negatively). Without referring to any specific negative responses, all I can say is that during the 5 days we were at Pestana Bazaruto, none of these were evident to us.

Room Tip: Superior suites with direct beach/bay access.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ostend, Belgium
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We spend four days in the Pestana Bazaruto Lodge. The beach cabins are wonderful: close to the beach, very clean, beautiful outdoor shower, our own beach chairs...
The staff was excellent: everything you ask, is done with a smile.
The food was excellent too: a wide variety for breakfast (cereals, pancakes, waffles, yoghurt, toast...) and a choice for lunch and dinner.
If you look for peace and quiet, this is the place to be. Recommended are a trip to Paradise Island, snorkling, a day of sunbathing in Dolphin Bay (only 10 minutes walking from the resort).
We had a great (romantic) time on the island.

Room Tip: Take a room close to the beach !!!!! It will cost more, but it is definitely worth it !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Bazaruto island is a magical paradise, away from the crowds. The location is absolute paradise, not to mention the amazing flight to get there. Unfortunately the hotel itself is a bit disappointing in terms of value for money. You don’t get better rooms in terms of location. However the food is average to not great. Buffet meals that are very bland. In terms of activities there is not much to do. At the price of the hotel you would think they would add some hobbycats, windsurfing etc. They only provide two paddles. If you are keen for snorkelling and diving the area has the most amazing coral reefs. A good holiday to get away from the crowds just don’t have big expectations.

Room Tip: Chose a bungalow on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Pestana Bazaruto Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pestana Bazaruto Lodge

Address: Bazaruto Archipelago | Bazaruto Island, Inhambane Province 4376, Mozambique
Location: Mozambique > Inhambane Province > Bazaruto Archipelago > Bazaruto Island
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Bazaruto Island
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Pestana Bazaruto Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your Pestana Bazaruto Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pestana Bazaruto Hotel Bazaruto Island
Pestana Bazaruto Island Hotel
Pestana Hotel Bazaruto Island

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pestana Bazaruto Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.