We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peace and tranquility to Maroco” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tamatert Guesthouse

Save Saved
You added Tamatert Guesthouse to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Tamatert Guesthouse
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Douar Taourirt cercle d'Asni, Imlil 42152, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 25 Imlil B&B and Inns
Mende, Languedoc-Roussillon, France
1 review
“Peace and tranquility to Maroco”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Such a nice place, realy cheep, with confortable rooms, and kind welcoming. The view is amasing. It's a perfect place to stay before and after a big trek, here you can prepare your trek, or relax after it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    17
    3
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Meknes, Morocco
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Wonderful trek, adapted rythmous (walking a long morning, resting and seeing around afternoon), very interesting and sympathetic guide, changing landscape... a great opportunity to climb clouds! We made the 6 days trek around toubkal, from imlil to tizi likemt, tizi nourai, ifni lake, toubkal and then aremdar valley.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granada, Andalucia, Spain
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

We were welcomed into this charming house and shown into a wonderful sitting room with an open fire and fresh mint tea. Nothing was too much trouble and the food was delicious. The bed was comfortable, the shower room nicely fitted out, the view of North Africa's highest mountain, Toubkal, amazing! Just the day before we had been in the Sahara and now there was snow. Definitely plan to return.

Room Tip: There is no real tip to chosing a good room, just state whether you require a double or single beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

our stay here in Imlil was simply wonderful. the staff at the guesthouse was extremely accommodating and very friendly. the meals we were served were beyond our imagination and completely satisfying every time. the property is surrounded by breathtaking mountains and a picturesque village. We climbed Toubkal and spent a few days at basecamp before returning to Tamatert. i highly recommend this guesthouse and area for anyone interested in climbing Toubkal or just spending a few days in a Moroccan mountain town.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stupava
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2011

The decision of climbing Toubkal in December was determined by the fact I had a business trip to Morocco and my wife could join me but we had a good luck with the weather.
We had limited time and tried to see as much of Morocco as possible and Mohammed Imerhane (found through Google as a representative of Imlil Bureau des Guides and the co-owner of the guest house) offered us excelent services for reasonable price:
- best regards to Jamal (our mountain guide for Toubkal) !
- accommodation at Tamatert Guest house
- crampons and other equipment rental
- and later we even agreed to trip Marrakech - Dades Gorge - Todra Gorge - Merzouga/Sahara and back, which was also perfect.
The Tamatert guest house has a magnificient view of mountains (watch the sunset and/or sunrise from the terrace !), traditional Berber interior and the diner taijins are excelent.
The accomodation at Armoud village or upper Imlil may save some walking or donkey/taxi riding when ascending Toubkal but the walking through the village is interesting and the donkey riding to guest house after Toubkal descend was a lot of fun for my wife.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2010

Tamatert Guesthouse is set in the vallet above Imlil surrounded by breathtaking mountains of the high Atlas, including Jebel Toubkal (Morocco's highest mountain). By day the mountains and the apple blossoms by dusk the warming sound of a world of crickets plays out on your ears, by night the sky sparkles with more stars than your eyes can behold. Mohammed's familly are warm and welcomng and cannot do enough to make sure your stay is a pleasant one.
During our stay Mohammed arranged a guiuded walk for us through and over the surrounding mountains passing through 4 or 5 Berber mountain villages on the way. We stopped in one village for mint tea and food,...there we tasted the best Tagine we had the whole time we were in Morocco. As it was friday prayer was longer than usual and to hear the call resonating on the mountain walls created a feeling of tranquility and wonder.
The first night we stayed in one of the rooms, snug somfortable and cleam. The building is newly refurbished in a traditional Moroccon style and has been charmingly done. The second two nights we had booked to sleep on the roof but as the night was cold the family let us sleep in the magnificent spacious upstairs lounge.
We would definately like to return and would highly recommend a stay here. We owe Mohammed and his family a BIG thank you.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2008

The Tamatert guesthouse is owned by 3 brothers and is a 20 minute walk up a dirt track from the mountain village of Imlil. It is a bit of a pain to get to (luggage had to be transported by mule!) but the setting more than makes up for the walk. The accommodation is basic but clean (we stayed in a double with a shared bathroom but I believe there are shared 'hostel' type rooms as well). The price of £12 pp/pn includes breakfast and an evening meal. The owners are very helpful and can arrange guided treks to suit your needs. The guesthouse is perfect if you want a relaxing break in a tranquil setting. The scenery of the Atlas mountains from the terrace is stunning.

  • Liked — Views from room terrace
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Imlil hotels
Best Value, Mid...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Dar Imlil
Riad Dar Imlil
#1 of 6 in Imlil
4.5 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Independent Hot...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Auberge Atlas Tichka
Auberge Atlas Tichka
#3 of 6 in Imlil
4.0 of 5 stars 11 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Oussagou
Riad Oussagou
#2 of 25 in Imlil
4.5 of 5 stars 107 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Dar Adrar
Dar Adrar
#4 of 25 in Imlil
4.5 of 5 stars 120 reviews
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Douar Samra
Douar Samra
#1 of 25 in Imlil
5.0 of 5 stars 231 reviews
B&Bs, Independe...
Show More
0.0 mi away
Riad Atlas Toubkal
Riad Atlas Toubkal
#9 of 25 in Imlil
4.5 of 5 stars 30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tamatert Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tamatert Guesthouse

Address: Douar Taourirt cercle d'Asni, Imlil 42152, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Imlil
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 25 B&Bs / Inns in Imlil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tamatert Guesthouse 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The guesthouse has 2 double rooms, 3 triple rooms and rooms for larger groups. If you bring your own bedding, you also have the option to sleep beneath the shooting stars on our rooftop terrace at an astronomical price. Wherever you stay, we want you to make yourself at home! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Tamatert Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tamatert Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.