We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautyfull” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Toubkal

Mount Toubkal
Douar Imlil, Imlil 42152, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 11 things to do in Imlil
Certificate of Excellence
Activities: Hiking, Skiing, Mountaineering
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mount Toubkal is the highest peak in North Africa.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Poznan, Poland
2 reviews
“Beautyfull”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

It is not easy because low oxygen. I did it with my kids Mary 12 and Igor 15 years old. We had very good weather, sun and not windy.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    159
    48
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dun Laoghaire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Marrakech to Mt Toubkal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2015

Please bear in mind that this is written in April 2015 and I'm 60 years old and traveling with a friend who's slightly older.

We hired a taxi in Marrakech after negotiating a price of 300 dirhams to go to Imlil.
When we arrived in Imlil about 90mins later we were dropped at the Trekking Guides Office at the beginning of the village.
The guides tried to rent us accommodation in a pretty poor house way out from the village which we rejected. Fortunately, we came across The Imlil Refuge, in the centre of the town which proved to be really excellent and reasonably priced.
The owner of the hotel hired us crampons and day packs and booked us a room at the mountain refuge for our climb up Toubkal. Really very helpful.

The following morning my friend and I headed off without any guides on the track to Toubkal.
It's about a 4 to 5 hour hike through the most beautiful mountain scenery to reach the group of refuges at the foot of Toubkal.
Personally, I don't think that you need to hire guides unless you're of a nervous disposition. There's only one track and you'd need to be pretty stupid to lose your way. Also, it's very busy, so it's just a matter of following the people ahead of you.

We stayed in the first, more expensive, refuge and had a really good night with other like minded trekkers. There was no need for sleeping bags as the refuge had an infinite number of heavy wool blankets. This cost us €50 for the two of us sharing a room including dinner and breakfast.

The next day we headed up Toubkal. We had to use crampons as there was quite a lot of snow and it would have been impossible to walk otherwise.
To be honest, it was a really, really tough climb, despite the fact that I'm quite fit. It took us 3 hours to climb the 1000 meters to get to the summit. It is a very steep walk all of the way.There was a slight shortness of oxygen which meant a lot of stopping and starting, but it really was worth it. The views are breathtaking. On this final ascent, we met a few people who couldn't manage the climb because of altitude related difficulties, but most who tried the climb were successful. Once again we were unguided, but the way was obvious.

When we returned to the refuge we just carried on walking down to Imlil. The entire day involved 10 hours walking. A fantastic day, all in all.

Beware of the mules on the mountain paths!!! My friend went to pat one on the head and it kicked him ferociously, luckily without injury.

So, don't be rushed into hiring a room in Imlil by the guides, and think twice before you hire a guide, you mightn't actually need one if you're just climbing Toubkal.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Breathtaking and Beautiful Scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2015

Well worth a visit, the drive up to Imil was fascinating, beautiful landscapes, the views were stunning, took some amazing photos showing agave and other heat loving plants in the foreground and snow covered mountain tops in the distance. Photos could never do justice to the natural beauty of this area. The restaurant in Imil had almost 360 degree panoramic views and the food wasn't bad either

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
102 attraction reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“Amazing different experience... poor abused donkeys.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2015

PROS: great experience in general - worth the trip, but remember the cons. CONS: there are better views in Morocco, abuse of the donkeys used to cart tourists around (donkeys BTW can only safely carry 80kgs), tourists regularly fooled into thinking this place is remote / donkeys the only way up - on the other side of the hills there are excellent, wide, well kept, dirt roads. If you don't want a donkey, you can pay a local to take you up to the top villages in a car.

Visited September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Definitely worth the visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2015

Went over to Toubkal in March for a winter climb so this review is a bit late. Organising company was Exodus and I cannot fault them at all. All information was clear and all flights and transfers organised by them were excellent. First night in Marrakesh stayed in Hotel Gomassine whch was very comfortable. Next day began the trek and all guides and stops were fantastic. Three nights in the mountain refuge and three climbs. Toubkal, Ouanoukrim and on the last day, a trek up to a high pass. Although its a winter climb, they are not technical in any sense though there is a bit of scrambling and exposure on Ouanoukrim. Fitness wise, anyone that can climb a Scottish Munroe and be able to do another the next day is more than fit enough for this trek. Kit wise ? Again, anyone who has the kit to do Scottish hills in winter will be more than adequately equipped. And crampons and ice axe are most definitely needed. Fantastic views from the top and all in all, worth the time and visit. On the way back you have one day in Marrakesh and a guide which is included in the tour. Excellent value for money and I would definitely book with Exodus again.

Visited March 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Toubkal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mount Toubkal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Toubkal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.