We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Toubkal

Mount Toubkal
Douar Imlil, Imlil 42152, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 19 Attractions in Imlil
Type: Mountains, Outdoors
Activities: Skiing, Hiking, Mountaineering
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Mount Toubkal is the highest peak in North Africa.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Cardiff
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

A very hard climb which knocks the spots off the stroll in the park that is Kilimanjaro. Tough but exhilarating when you reach the top.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    42
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Hard but worth it!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

We did a 3 day trek which included a climb to the top of toubkal. Our guide Brahim from trek toubkal / natur-atlas was great and the accommodation and meals served before during and after any of the trekking were perfect and actually as good if not better than some of the traditional morrocon meals we had eaten in the city.

The first day trekking was relatively ok but the surroundings were beautiful and the company good with the route taking us from Imlil up to the Toubkal retreat at around 3300m. The second day was hard as we walked from retreat, to summit, to retreat to Imlil but absolutely worth it when we reached the summit and the sun was shinning! There was a great atmosphere at the summit and one which i won't forget in a long time.

I would recommend climbing mount Toubkal to anyone with a reasonable level of fitness and a will to get to the top.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Meknes, Morocco
1 review
“Q”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

thx for sharing ur experince , i want to go to this place at middle of october . i wonder if any one .
.went in this time of the year! how was the weather
also i kind of feel scared when i have to walk in a narrow high palce with an edge of high palce
so it will be like this??
and do i have to climb alot?

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Highest Mountain in North Africa”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

The views from the top are incredible though the climb is a bit strenuous, especially for those who aren't in amazing shape. I wish the trails had been better marked from the refuge up to the top but otherwise the hike from Imlil to the refuge is beautiful and easy to follow.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Tough one day hike. Poorly signed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We did the Toubkal hike in a day which is not what most people do. Above the refuge, there is poor signage to summit the mountain. I almost think it is punishment for not using a guide. If you have hiked in Colorado, it will feel much the same.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Toubkal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mount Toubkal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Toubkal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.