We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice trek” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Toubkal

Mount Toubkal
Douar Imlil, Imlil 42152, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 attractions in Imlil
Type: Mountains
Activities: Hiking, Skiing, Mountaineering
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Mount Toubkal is the highest peak in North Africa.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
College Station, Texas
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013

Very doable hike and makes for a nice day out and back. The Toubkal shelter is quite nice and very large.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    37
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
26 attraction reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Hiker's Paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

The hiking paths are rocky and a bit tricky to navigate, especially when avoiding the usual donkeys who are on it, but the views are spectacular and the paths are not real steep.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Rough Going”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Everyone on here saying that the route is "not technical but strenuous" is right, but that isn't really doing the peak justice. This is a tough, exhausting hike. Girlfriend and I are in our 20s and considered ourselves decently in shape, but it became clear that we really should've been training ahead of time to undertake something like this. The route from Imlil to the refuge is uphill all the way with literally no reprieve. The refuge itself is understandably no frills accommodation and seemed a bit pricey to me, though I suppose they could easily be charging us more. As for the hike itself, we didn't actually make it to the peak. We set off on the wrong trail in the dark (be sure you know where you are going!) and went about an hour out of our way before some friendly trekkers corrected our course. Long story short, the shear climb and scree rock proved too much for us on our second ascent, so we hiked until we were satisfied with the view and began the descent back home.

Let our unpreparedness serve as a cautionary tale: this is a very difficult hike, so do your training beforehand. I still don't think a guide is necessary as long as you get adequate assurance you are going the right way when you first set off. The views are spectacular along the way, and I hope to come back to complete it some day.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful time at Toubkal with Tourdust”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Me and my four friends went on a holiday in Morocco organised by Tourdust with five days on the mountains and two days in Marrakech. We were picked up from the airport and from then on to the end of the trip everything was very well taken care of. We were very impressed by both Rebecca's patient and knowledgeable responses from the Tourdust office and our guide's, Abdul's, experience and friendliness hauling us up and down the mountains. I also have to praise the mountain food that was amazing with great tajines and wonderful "Berber Whiskey" (very sweet mint tea).

Our group was a mix of people with varying hiking and high altitude background, but Abdul managed to adjust the trek to all of our needs. The Toubkal circuit is at times physically demanding, so the more you train in advance, the better off you are. But the hike is mostly relatively easy (it's still only a steep hike, not a proper climb, so no technical skills needed) and none of us suffered too much from the altitude. Two things to bear in mind are that, though a relatively easy hike, you do it at very high temperatures even in May (we had about +30-35 on most days, even at altitude) and the summit day is a very long one and does not end at the sense of achievement of having happily returned to the base camp but continues for several hours back to Imlil.

In addition to the wonderful time at the mountains, we had a lovely two days at Marrakech. We stayed at Dar Vedra, a much recommendable guest house that was just what we needed after the trekking, with its beautiful rooftop terrace and extremely friendly and helpful staff. Marrakech is a lot of fun and should be part of any Atlas Mountains trip.

All in all, I thoroughly recommend Tourdust and hope to use their services in the future as well.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Prepare for a fabulous trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

The Toubkal trek is a fantastic experience, but not one to be underestimated. I was glad I had prepared with a few warm-ups on (English) Lake District summits, but even so the first day trek to the valley head in from Imlil was more strenuous than I had anticipated - basically, imagine walking up Rossett Gill for 5 hours (6 with breaks)! Although Day 2 is steeper, it is much shorter (still about 4 hours) and I found it easier after the previous day's exertions. The scenery is great throughout and the sensational views from the top make the ascent well worth while.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Toubkal also viewed

Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mount Toubkal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Toubkal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mount Toubkal to your Saves list