We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good easy trip to Toubkal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Toubkal

Mount Toubkal
Douar Imlil, Imlil 42152, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 Attractions in Imlil
Type: Mountains
Activities: Hiking, Skiing, Mountaineering
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Mount Toubkal is the highest peak in North Africa.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Moscow
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Good easy trip to Toubkal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The road from Imlil to the base camp take around 5 hours of a slow walk. The view on the way is quite beautiful. And there is a 4 hour walk from the base camp to the peak.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    40
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Masset, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Jebel Toubkal - Trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Even if you are one to get off the beaten path, I highly recommend this doing this hike while you are in Morocco. This 2420m ascent to the summit of Jebel Toubkal (4167m) lends you stunning views of the surrounding mountains, valleys and villages. Mountaineering experience is not necessary, but be sure that you are in shape as the hike is up the whole way with lots of exposure. It is possible to do this trek without a guide, but I recommend hiring one. Altitude sickness is a risk, and your guide will be helpful in ensuring you get off the mountain safely if you fall ill or get injured. Not to mention your guide will be familiar with local flora and fauna, be able to translate local language, and you will have more friends in the Moroccan mountains having emplored a guide.

I went with toubkal traveler (www.toubkaltraveler.com) and had an amazing time. My guide and co-partner of the agency, Jean-Habib, first summited Mount Toubkal at age 9. Clearly passionate about life in the High Atlas, Habib and the team work hard to make your trip memorable. Toubkal Traveler offers round trips from Marrakesh. If you are in Imlil and have not already arranged a guide, Toubkal Traveler is located at Dar Zaratoustra, previously known at Atlas Gite Imlil; Chez Jean-Habib. Jean-Habib was also very approachable and informative when we were seeking information about other local hikes. When I hiked Toubkal, I was traveling alone as a single woman in Morocco and felt completely safe Toubkal Traveler.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“trek on Mount Toubkal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

we went with a group called Exodus, and they arranged that all guides and all the camping equipment were provided.our main guide and tour manager was Mohamed Maachou from active treks Morocco who was excellent.the views were magnificent as we checked around and up the mountain and we were favoured with beautiful sunny days for all the days we were on our holiday. You should be aware that on the mountain it gets cold at night even in May. A grade 4 sleeping bag is a must.you must also realise that toilet facilities are very basic basically a small hole in the ground.the final 1300 m up the mountain is over rocky scree that is done slowly though one needs to be reasonably fit you don't need to be a real carrying mountaineer

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My first ascent after knee surgery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great non-technical trek with some snow slopes, crampons up, slide down. Very professional guide provided by the local tourist office, but if you are healthy and experienced you can do without. Refuge is clean and comfortable, just don't get stuck in the dorm room with school kids (we were lucky)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience with " Trekaumaroc.Net"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Best Place to stay in Morocco and His Berber Villages
My husband and I spent 6 days in the Atlas mountains, including an ascent of Toubkal,
We arranged the whole trip via email with Ahmed, who was very quick to respond to all my questions.
at the start of our trip in Imlil, Ahmed gave us plenty of excellent advice and assistance (arranging mules, muleteers & porters etc
I would really recommend trekkinginmorocco.net and would certainly use them if we go back to Morocco - thanks guys!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Toubkal also viewed

Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mount Toubkal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Toubkal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.