We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“trek on Mount Toubkal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Toubkal

Mount Toubkal
Douar Imlil, Imlil 42152, Morocco
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 18 attractions in Imlil
Type: Mountains
Activities: Hiking, Skiing, Mountaineering
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Mount Toubkal is the highest peak in North Africa.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Tavistock, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“trek on Mount Toubkal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

we went with a group called Exodus, and they arranged that all guides and all the camping equipment were provided.our main guide and tour manager was Mohamed Maachou from active treks Morocco who was excellent.the views were magnificent as we checked around and up the mountain and we were favoured with beautiful sunny days for all the days we were on our holiday. You should be aware that on the mountain it gets cold at night even in May. A grade 4 sleeping bag is a must.you must also realise that toilet facilities are very basic basically a small hole in the ground.the final 1300 m up the mountain is over rocky scree that is done slowly though one needs to be reasonably fit you don't need to be a real carrying mountaineer

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    37
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My first ascent after knee surgery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great non-technical trek with some snow slopes, crampons up, slide down. Very professional guide provided by the local tourist office, but if you are healthy and experienced you can do without. Refuge is clean and comfortable, just don't get stuck in the dorm room with school kids (we were lucky)

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Experience with " Trekaumaroc.Net"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Best Place to stay in Morocco and His Berber Villages
My husband and I spent 6 days in the Atlas mountains, including an ascent of Toubkal,
We arranged the whole trip via email with Ahmed, who was very quick to respond to all my questions.
at the start of our trip in Imlil, Ahmed gave us plenty of excellent advice and assistance (arranging mules, muleteers & porters etc
I would really recommend trekkinginmorocco.net and would certainly use them if we go back to Morocco - thanks guys!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muenchen
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“one of the easiest 4000m hike you can find....”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

You almost can climb till the top without special equipment and guide. The path from Imlil is an easy 4-5hrs walk till the refuge. From the refuge it takes another 3-4 hours to the top through the small glacier. Spikes are needed to climb the last 800m to the peak. Better to climb the last part early in the morning before the sun rise up so to be in the shadow.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Uphill all the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The scenery is worth any discomfort to get there, We had a local guide to take us on a mornings walk and since this Morocco you get used to the unusual. In this case a shop selling all manner of touristy articles on the side of a track that couldn't have had more than 40 people passing it on a good day. As I say in the title, you seem to spend all your time walking uphill, but I am retired and not really the best person to discuss serious walking or climbing

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Toubkal also viewed

Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mount Toubkal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Toubkal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Mount Toubkal to your Saves list