We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Uphill all the way” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mount Toubkal

Mount Toubkal
Douar Imlil, Imlil 42152, Morocco
Update attraction details
Ranked #6 of 19 attractions in Imlil
Type: Mountains
Activities: Hiking, Skiing, Mountaineering
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Mount Toubkal is the highest peak in North Africa.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Seaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Uphill all the way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

The scenery is worth any discomfort to get there, We had a local guide to take us on a mornings walk and since this Morocco you get used to the unusual. In this case a shop selling all manner of touristy articles on the side of a track that couldn't have had more than 40 people passing it on a good day. As I say in the title, you seem to spend all your time walking uphill, but I am retired and not really the best person to discuss serious walking or climbing

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    30
    4
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Rachid a brilliant guide”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great guide, good weather and food. Kind Berber people. Interesting and varied landscape.
Strong winds and cold in the mountains which did not affect too much on ascending Toubkal and Ouanoukrim.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graz, Austria
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great 2-day trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

Great experience trekking up to the summit of Mt Toubkal and back. All handled very smoothly by Ahmed. Assan, our guide was very patient with us. Everyone involved was very friendly.
The trip was beautiful, the sky was blue, the hills were steep - rather steeper than expected, but it was great.
Our trip was arranged through Ahmed from Dar Tighoula in Imlil,
Would definitely recommend.
As I would recommend his beautiful guest house Dar Tighoula in Imlil. Thanks!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great Trekking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

I have now climbed Mt Toubkal to many times to remember, Toubkal has to be one of my favourate mountain treks in the world and most cetainly the best in Morocco, Personally I prefer winter or spring to trek.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Almost got there!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

Walked up to the foot of Toubkal in February 2013. Very hot and sunny, we took down jackets and lots of kit but only needed at night. Having said that people we spoke to had been in snow 1 week earlier. Fantastic walking, keep within your comfort zone probably great in the summer months but caution needed in winter months.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mount Toubkal also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region, Morocco
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Mount Toubkal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mount Toubkal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.