We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just for the day.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kasbah du Toubkal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Kasbah du Toubkal to your Saves list
Kasbah du Toubkal
Toubkal National Park, Imlil 40000, Morocco   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Imlil
Wales
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Just for the day.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

I went with a group of artists to the Kasbah . We were day visitors so cannot comment on hotel facilities. .
We were warmly welcomed, it is very beautiful with amazing views. We had a lovely meal on the terrace. An artists paradise.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    268
    100
    33
    18
    9
See reviews for
69
226
11
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

This place was amazing. I would go back here. Service is unbelievably friendly, everyone was so sweet. The architecture of the place and where it is situated is unparalleled. I wouldn't have stayed anywhere else!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Dont be seduced by the photograph used for advertising this hotel as it bears vitrually no resemblance to reality. It is earthy and may be a former monastery. There are cats EVERYWHERE. There was hardly any welcome and the staff really don't have a clue about how to treat guests. The Kasbah is the main starting point for all the treking that goes on around there, consequnetly they have a steady stream of new guests. My advice is to rely on your exploring instincts as there's never anyone around to show you where anything is. It is punching well above its weight with the tarrif and if there was a local alternative I would stay there.

Room Tip: Dont stay there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikekasbahtoubkal, Owner at Kasbah du Toubkal, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
As always, I have to assume good intent but your review does cause me some concern I would make the following comments.

Yes there are a lot of cats but they are outside cats and most guests like them and some comment favorably you are the first, I think to be negative about them.

There are plenty of local alternative to our property in Imlil you would have walked past several on your walk up to the Kasbah du Toubkal there are several listings for other accommodation on TA in Imlil

Strange you say there was never anyone around over 70 registered guides work out of Imlil and of course there are many unregistered guides also eager to guide people around. I would think the main problem if you walk on your own which of course you can and many people do is that some people (they are very friendly so not a problem) would be offering guiding services to you.

I hope these comments are useful and ask that reviewers look at all our listings on TA and judge for themselves.

Regards

Mike McHugo and all the Kasbah du Toubkal staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

It is true what the other reviewers say - this is a very particular sort of place and will not be everyone's cup of tea. If you are happy to go with the flow and enjoy what it does offer - stunning views, a chance to commune with nature and be proud to support the local community - then you'll be happy. If you are expecting a more "self centred" holiday, then suggest you go down the road to the Branson place. The food was actually quite good, though you start to wish for more than tagines and couscous after awhile. The fact large groups of young people were coming and going was fine by us (we have our own teens so maybe see life through their eyes) but again, it provides a "different" atmosphere. We did meet some very interesting other guests - as you might expect at such a place - so that was a bonus.

Room Tip: We had to shift around a bit - we were there 3 nights and moved twice. That seems to be the norm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mikekasbahtoubkal, Owner at Kasbah du Toubkal, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your response and glad that overall you enjoyed your visit and met some interesting people. Many of the points you make are highlighted on our website in “who should visit”. It is true at times we have young people staying but we tend to know this well in advance and if you want to visit when it is quieter we can generally tell you this well in advance. We have a large range of prices which hopefully allows the Kasbah whilst having an exclusive setting to be more inclusive than the more conventional hotels and we are glad that you appreciated the range and interest of our other guests.
I would like to comment on your point about having to move rooms, this is generally not the case and you would/should have been told this at the point of booking, if you were not please contact me as I would like to apologize and understand why this happened. It is true that at times we have very high occupancy and only having 14 ensuite rooms sometimes it might only be possible to stay if you move rooms but we always mention this and it is up to the guest to accept or not. So moving rooms is definitely not the norm.
Thanks again for your feed back and if you were not told about moving rooms in advance please contact me.
Regards
Mike McHugo and all the Kasbah du Toubkal staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alaro, Spain
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

The amazing views you have from the roof terrace are worth a million, so are the hiking possibilites.
A dream setting to wake up in the morning. We enjoyed every minute of our stay! Nevertheless I would not call it perfect. All in all we did find the Kasbah a bit overpriced,the food was not of a very high level and the (free) hamman was not what you expect from a hamman experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This is such a special place. While the Kasbah won't wow you with decor or luxuries, it occupies a place so peaceful and so beautiful that nothing else really matters. The service here is some of the best I've experienced anywhere on my travels. It's a rest for the soul, especially if you're coming from Marrakech.

Room Tip: The rooms in the stone tower at the end of the Kasbah are the smallest and cheapest, but offer the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Much of what could be said has been stated in earlier reports. Staying at the Kasbah Du Toubkal is very hard to express in words; it was something completely different to any other hotel we have ever stayed at. The setting was simply incredible and with the sun rising above the Atlas Mountains as your alarm clock, nothing could be better. Other establishments could also learn so much from the hospitality and level of customer service you receive from all those that work at the kasbah. Taking the set meals in the restaurant was a real experience whilst lunch on the terrace surrounded by the Atlas mountains was breathtaking. Free wi fi was a surprising bonus; as was tean / coffee in the rooms. Yes ... it can appear expensive (if one has an en suite room) and the flies can prove a constant nuisance. However, that should not detract from recommending a stay at the Kasbah Du Toubkal. People will feel at home whether or not they choose to take a hike and the steep climb to the kasbah from to the village can be by mule if necessary. We named our mule (that became our regular means of transport) Sampson; be sure to say hi to him should you ever visit ... and you should!

Room Tip: Simply choose a room to suit your own individual budget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kasbah du Toubkal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kasbah du Toubkal

Address: Toubkal National Park, Imlil 40000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Imlil
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Hotels in Imlil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the heart of Toubkal National Park, in true Berber country, there exists a sublime haven of peace, nestling in the imposing mountain scenery. Located in a stunning natural environment, Kasbah du Toubkal is truly unique. Formerly the summer house of a feudal caïd (local baron), it has been restored using traditional Berber techniques by the inhabitants of the surrounding villages as is now Morocco's premier mountain retreat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with World Independent Hotel Promotion so you can book your Kasbah du Toubkal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kasbah Du Toubkal Imlil
Kasbah Du Toubkal Hotel Imlil

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kasbah du Toubkal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.