We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ibrahim, was the perfect guide and made it the perfect experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Trekking in Morocco - Day Tours

Trekking in Morocco - Day Tours
Douar aitsouka imlil | Atlas Mountains, Imlil 42152, Morocco
+212648688808
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 18 attractions in Imlil
Type: Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: We are specialists in trekking and climbing in Atlas Mountains, with over 20 years experience of organising a wide variety of trips for clients from all over the world.Atlas Mountains and sahara are a unique and very special part of Morocco. I will be very happy to share my expertise with you to plan your dream trip,
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ibrahim, was the perfect guide and made it the perfect experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

We spent 3 days trekking in the Imlil Valley which Ibrahim made both insightful and pleasurable.
He showed us a true view of Berber life. We stayed at an idyllic Berber guesthouse, we were given perfect hospitality by the family that owned it and made to feel very welcome.
The food was exceptional the entire tour and given the limited cooking facilities the chef and Ibrahim's mule helper produced some wonderful simple cuisine.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    2
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Imlil - 1 day trek”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Our day trip was organised with Hassan at Trekking In Morocco Services S.A.R.L
Adventure & Outdoor Holidays In Morocco.

We went on an organised trip to the Atlas mountains on a culture trek and were picked up on time from the hotel and driven in a lovely clean people carrier (with air-con) to the Berber village of Asni. At Asni, we were met by our guide Ibrahim who gave us a brief history of the local region and confirmed what the trip would consist of. Part of the trek was on foot so if you decide to do this make sure you have strong knees and sturdy footwear! The rest of the trek was by donkey and each donkey had it's own guide. Our journey took us past the waterfalls, through local villages on the way to the Asni, which is nestled in the hills of Imlil. A delicious but basic traditional Berber family lunch was served in beautiful surroundings (included in the price) before we walked back to the village and local shops and were driven back to Marrakech. Wherever you are in Morocco beware people trying to sell you trinkets and souvenirs, even in the mountains!

Our guide spoke fluent English and French and throughout the trip he shared snippets of information about the region and it's history, which was fascinating.

Booking was easy and arrangements were flexible. We were able to email our numerous questions to Hassan before arriving in Marrakech, which he answered promptly and efficiently, giving us confidence that we would have the trip that we wanted.

The local Berber people are very proud of their heritage and keen to show it off. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this trip to anyone wishing to travel to the Atlas mountains and would definitely recommend this tour company.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifden, Ireland
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Trekking in the High Atlas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My experience in Morocco and particularly in Imlil in the High Atlas was very enjoyable and satisfactory. At all times the people were extremely friendly, both in the service industry such as in shops, hotels and restaurants and the local population. Without a doubt, the Berber people, I think are one of the friendliest people in the world. The service at all times was prompt and the staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. Our guide, Ibrahim Amzil, displayed a very good command of English, were very professional at all times and very informative. One of the things I enjoyed most about the my trip was my education on local culture and practices. Our guide explained everything to from farming methods and irrigation systems to the political history and religious culture of the area. It was fascinating, especially to hear it first hand from a local who was keen to show us their culture and welcome us into family life. Ibrahim Amzil at all times acted responsibly and professionally regarding the pace of the trek, route choice and observing the abilities of the members of the group. I could find no fault in Ibrahim Amzil and would recommend Ibrahim Amzil to anybody. Ibrahim Amzil had a very kind and caring nature which made everybody in the group feel welcomed and cared about. The food was of a superb quality and delicious. We ate the freshest of vegetables and fruit at every meal and the local tajine was mouth-watering. Our accommodation was very comfortable in Dar Tighoula with clean, spacious, bright rooms with Western toilets and hot showers. The staff were very helpful and attended to our every need, even to the smallest of things like fetching milk for a coffee.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“The Infamous Tour of the Atlas Mountains”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

We, as a group of over 50 students, embarked on a fieldwork module that needed expert knowledge, advice and understanding of our objectives. To say the least, the tour was exceptional, the sights were fantastic, the tour guides were completely amiable, friendly, knowledgeable and patient with our negligence. Our accommodation was fantastic; a completely 'traditional' style hotel yet with subtle hints of modernity so you still feel safe and reassured. Not to mention you get to ride a 'mule'. Don't use the work donkey. Just, don't.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“trekking marrakech atlas mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

We did a day trip from marrakech, with two children 5&8 years, We were picked up from our hotel by a friendly, English-speaking driver and taken to meet our lovely guide - Ibrahim, and the drive to Imlil Atlas Mounains was 90 minutes from marrakech with beautiful views and plenty of opportunities to stop for photos,
At Imlil, we met our guide Ibrahim, who looked after us superbly.

We trekked through some traditional Berber villages around Imlil, and Ibrahim was extremely patient with our constant stops to take photographs of the views! He was friendly and knowledgable,

We stopped for a break at a berber home in one of the higher villages,with (naturally) mint tea while enjoying the views of the atlas mountains from the roof terrace,
we wound our way down the valley proper, following the river tobeautiful waterfalls.
Lunch was provided at Chez Les Berbéres in Imlil. It was fantastic,
I will definitely go back to the Atlas Mountains for 2 or 3 days trek in atlas with our lovely guide Ibrahim

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Trekking in Morocco - Day Tours also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Trekking in Morocco - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Trekking in Morocco - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Trekking in Morocco - Day Tours to your Saves list