We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful view and good customer service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Atlas Toubkal

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Atlas Toubkal to your Saves list
Riad Atlas Toubkal
BP 94 | Asni, Imlil 42152, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 30 Imlil B&B and Inns
Copenhagen, Denmark
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful view and good customer service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here 3 nights and I loved the customer service and rooms. I had a very comfortable stay where I almost felt home. The hotel has a good location and can be accessed easily from the main road and the bridge in the top of Imlil.
The only thing, the hotel could improve is to have a wider selection for dinner and offer more options than the classic tajine. As a Moroccan, I also need something else sometimes :-)

They helped me find a local guide that could accompany me on my trek to the summit of Toubkal. If you are well rested and fit, you can trek from the hotel after breakfast to the summit and back to the hotel again by around 7 PM or sunset time the same day between April and October. It will be a tuff day, but it's much better than staying overnight in the dirty and cold base camp and not necessary at all if the weather weather conditions allow it. But do yourself and bring a guide, since the terrain is challenging.

Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    13
    6
    0
    0
See reviews for
6
22
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brighton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very basic however this is expected in the mountains! toilet was a bit grubby, sink didn't work very well and there were lots of flies!, however, brilliant views of the mountains, good breakfast and lovely staff who were very helpful when my mum broke her arm trekking and needed to get back to Marrakech!

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2014

First up would like to thank the staff at Riad Atlas, just phenomenal customer service. The manager actually gave our taxi driver a call to say goodbye as he was unable to see us off in the early morning.

The Riad itself is hard to find, and if you are dropped in Imlil you are looking at a 15 minute uphill walk. No worries however, as the staff will meet you and walk you up!

Facilities are nice - bedrooms clean with hot showers. For dinner (an extra 100 DH) a night, you will get traditional Moroccan fare - soups, tagines, spiced puddings and is very filling. Fast wifi to keep you connected if you so wish and an intimate dining area for guests. (If you are an anti-social traveller you won’t like this shared area).

The guys will organise airport transfers (one way) for 300 DH (the 400 DH quoted for a nicer car is unnecessary in my opinion)

All in all, the Riad Atlas took all the stress out of travelling and staying in morocco and provided a top notch service. It is a very peaceful place with stunning views. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

This is not a luxury hotel, but we had a brilliant couple of nights here. Our room (Room 6) had a wonderful view over the High Atlas mountains.

We were in a hire-car, and almost went the wrong route to get here, due to Google directions being a bit wonky. Basically, just drive up the main street, to the centre of the village, until there is a kind-of junction. Don't take the right-hand fork, as google maps may suggest. Just on your left is a parking layby, where a guy will look after your car for 20D per night. The steps up from here take you to the riad (there is a sign). You actually have to walk through another Riad (Dar Imlil I think it is called), and out the back door, then keep going up more stairs to get to Riad Atlas Toubkal. It's a bit of a hike with large suitcases, but the staff will certainly help if you go and ask them.

Our room was beautifully decorated - lots of nice touches - carved wood and metalwork. There was a kettle, with tea and coffee which was a welcome surprise (this was the only place we stayed in Morocco with this facility). The free wi-fi was meant to just be in public areas, but we managed to pick it up from our room. The view from the room was spectacular, but there was also a roof-top terrace with even better panoramas. We went up one clear night to the roof to look at the stars, and got fabulous views over the milky way. The staff also provided us with helpful driving directions when we left, including a shortcut to avoid going through Marrakech again.

The riad was perfectly located to do some trekking in the Atlas. I loved being woken up by the call to prayer in the mountains. I would definitely recommend staying here.

Room Tip: Room 6 had a great view over the mountains, and managed to pickk up the free wi-fi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2014

The title says it all! If we ever visit Imlil again, we will definetely stay there for a few nights again.

Staff supplied us with great info, arranged our mountainbikes, cooled our beers and made us great breakfast and dinner every day!

Room Tip: Ofcourse, you will hear the mosques every morning everywhere in Morocco. But maybe a room on the oth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2014

My wife and I stayed here for three nights at the start of a multi-stop stay in Morocco.

The Riad is relatively basic and functional but so is Imlil itself. It's in the mountains and there is a level of luxury that you shouldn't be expecting up here. In many ways, the rustic feel is entirely in keeping with the surrounds and anything more luxurious would feel out of place and inappropriate.

It is however well presented and clean and our room, room 6, had a wonderful view of the Toubkal through the huge panoramic window. The bathroom had nice big bath perfect for soaking in after a 7 hour hike along one of the well-marked routes in the peaks around Imlil.

We ate each night in the Riad and the dining room, which its log stove glowing in the corner, is charming and a lovely way to end the day. Our three-course meals each night were substantial, tasty and well presented and excellent value for 10 euros each.

What made the stay though, was the attentive service that we received from Ibrahim and the team. They were always available to help and were always checking that everything was satisfactory. They couldn't do enough for us. On Friday afternoon, heading back from a bit of carpet shopping in town, we bumped into Ibrahim on his way back from Friday prayers and carrying a large platter of cous cous and chicken as a traditional Friday lunch for him and his colleagues. He immediately asked us to join them which for us just underlined the point that he had been making to us since we arrived 'It's your home', which had been repeated to us several times. We politely declined but were touched by the genuine offer nevertheless.

We had a lovely stay. Make a point to watch the sun go down from the roof terrace, or lie back in a deck chair after dark and gaze at the stars. It is a charming little hotel in a wonderful location.

Room Tip: Room 6 had a stunning view and was a little bigger than some of the others I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

At first the riad looks like a backpackers hostel but it is much more than that, the rooms are all different and some are very large with balconies, the staff is very welcoming and will do anything to help and the food is good and unpretentious. It has fabulous views on the Toubkal range and is, obviously a meeting place for guides and trekkers. A very convivial place. Admittedly, it is up 88 steep steps but how else would you get such a view? Don't forget to give the key to a member of the staff if you want your room cleaned.

Room Tip: Room 1 is spacious but next to the kitchen, room 3 is very cramped and room 4 is next to the dining...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Atlas Toubkal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Atlas Toubkal

Address: BP 94 | Asni, Imlil 42152, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Imlil
Amenities:
Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Imlil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelWorld, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Atlas Toubkal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Atlas Toubkal, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.