We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 Fantastic Days in the Atlas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aztat Treks - Day Tours

Aztat Treks - Day Tours
Imlil, Morocco
+212 668-760165
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 19 Attractions in Imlil
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in Imlil year-round, Atlas Trek Shop (TM of Aztat Treks ) is an independent Berber operator owned by Mohamed Aztat, organising private trekking, camel-trekking & 4×4 adventure holidays in Morocco's epic outdoors, alongside tailor-made tours. We are a professional and competent team (Guides, Drivers, Muleteers, Cooks,..) lead by Mohamed & Ibrahim Aztat, two official mountain & desert tour guides Berber by origin and locals to the Imlil region.We are member & co-founder of "MTM" travel adventure company based in the high Atlas (Imlil) registred by the ministry of tourism under N° 20P/11
USA
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“2 Fantastic Days in the Atlas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I booked a 2 day trek for my wife and I and our two children age 8 and 6 in the High Atlas mountains. From beginning to end, we had a fantastic experience with Mohamed's trek company. I would heartily recommend it to anyone looking to hike in the mountains.

Pre-Trek: I booked the trek online with Mohammed Aztat. We corresponded multiple times via email. I was anxious taking my children on an overnight trek. Mohamed guided me through the options and suggested an appropriate route. We settled on taking a guide (Ibrahim), muleteer (Ibrahim) and cook with us as well as two mules. Prior to departing on the trek from Imlil, Mohamed reviewed the trek details with us in person. His demeanor is very professional. It is clear he runs a tight ship. Every person we met associated with the trek company held himself to high standards.

Transfer: The transfer Mohammed had arranged was exactly on time for pick-up at our hotel in Marrakech. The van was new, spotless and the driver spoke english. We were welcomed at Dar Adrar, Mohamed's guest house. On our return, we had a 4x4 drive us down from the mountains all the way to Marrakech. The driver was expert at navigating the narrow single lane road on a wet day. Again, the driver spoke English. The vehicle was new and spotlessly clean.

Guide: Ibrahim is a berber who had grown up in a neighboring village. He is a proficient guide. He speaks english very well. He answered our many questions about berber culture, his own experiences growing up, the geography, the plants etc. Ibrahim kept us moving at a steady pace. He helped with the children who, even when tired, were anxious to walk rather than ride. After dinner at the refuge, Ibrahim joined us for cards and general fun. He was great.

Other: The muleteer and cook did their jobs professionally. The food was better than I would have expected and was served in quantities well beyond what we could eat. The soup, breakfast porridge and bean tagine stand out in my memory. The muleteer did a great job of handling the mules and keeping the kids safely on them on inclines and declines. We also used sleeping bags provided by Mohamed. The were clean and lightly used.

I heartily recommend hiking the Atlas and doing it with Aztat Treks. Overall a fantastic experience!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    6
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hove, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Trekking in Atlas Mountains”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

I booked online with Mohamed for a group of ten friends wanting a three day trek in the Atlas Mountains. Mohamed had been recommended to me by a friend. He arranged for us a trek where the food was superb, a guide,called Adill who was knowledgeable, considerate and great company and accommodation which was in keeping with the price we paid. We were met at the airport and transferred at the end of the trip to our riad in Marakech. I would have no hesitation in thoroughly recommending Aztat Travels.Annie 22.11.2012

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Combined trip to High Atlas and Sahara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Guides:

Driver from Marrakech to Setti Fatma = Score 5 out of 5 - Great driver, very friendly and helpful

Rasheed = Score 100 out of 5 - Very difficult to score Rasheed, he is so polite, caring and helpful,with excellent mountain experience, it was an honour and a privilage to meet him and we class him as a friend and not just our guide.

Cook = Score 25 out of 5 - A very happy welcoming individual and an excellent cook was refreshing to see him after a tough walk always lifting our spirits.

Omar = Score 5 out of 5 - Excellent driver, we hold alot of respect for him for the amount of driving he did in one time, felt very safe with him he stayed with us and made sure that we got to our hotel no matter what.

Desert Guides = Score 5 out of 5 - Fun, Fun, Fun, with lots of singing, drums, dancing, and joke telling loved every minute of it with them.


Accomodation:

First Night from Setti Fatma = Score 3 out of 5 - Basic but clean and friendly, slightly cold as the door on the room would not shut properly
Second Night in mountains = Score 4 out of 5 - Clean and well kept, fantastic views and again very friendly
Third Night in Imlil = Score 5 out of 5 - Great hotel, very friendly welcoming and stylish, slippers on arrival were great along with the open fire and decor, we felt really at home.
Fourth Night in Dades Valley =Score 5 out of 5 - Amazing building with really beautiful decor, friendly staff and the most amazing food ever.
Fith Night in the Sahara - Score 5 out of 5 - Great set up in the desert, was supprised by the flush toilets in the middle of nowhere, was really authentic, cant comment on the hotel itself as it was only used as bag storage.

Food:
Score 5 out of 5 - All of our food was excellent with some special memories that have been made with our mountain cook and the hotel in the Dades valley with their fine cuisine and 6 course meal

Service:
Score 5 out of 5 - Excellent service with fast response to email,the only let down was on our part as we didnt realise how much driving was involved in the trip from Imlil to Merzouga and then on to Marrakech otherwise an amazing service.

Overall:
Score 5 out of 5 - We have had the most amazing trip and are very, very happy with the itinerary, service and teams that have been put together for us. We are now looking forward to coming back to Morocco and will most certainly be using your services again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Affordable, Awesome Aztat Treks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We enjoyed our week long trek and tour organised by Aztat Treks. Mohammed (owner) is honest and trustworthy as were all his team (guides, drivers etc along the way), you weren't hassled for money and we never felt unsettled or unsafe. The helpfulness of Mohammed in arranging the trip and the efforts of the muleteer and cook (another Mohammed) are to be commended, this was very well organised and we were well looked after on the trek. The food was amazing considering he was cooking after transporting goods up a mountain on a mule and the standard of the food was second to none.
After trekking and finishing at Mohammed's riad Dar Ardrar we continued the second part of our organised tour with a driver. The places we went to and the scenery we saw along the way were absolutely amazing, this involved some long days in the car resulting in little else other than driving. This didn't match what was in the itinerary as we did not have time for the quality time at some of the places we visited such as Ouarzazate studios and Dades Gorge, although the journey itself was still very interesting. The tour was good value for money, although some of the accommodations along the way were a bit too basic compared to what we were expecting. We seemed to stay in 2 star all the way, which is probably reflective of the price we paid, however if we booked in the future I would look into this a bit more, and would possibly expect to pay a bit more just to get a bit better standard of accommodation; although they were all clean and tidy.
I would definitely recommend Aztat Treks and we will be using them again in the future.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Well organised trek in spectacular scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day trek from Imlil to Setti Fadma. Everything was very well organised by Mohamed, with a punctual pickup from our riad in Marrakesh, in a solid 4x4 with working seatbelts and a driver we felt safe with (in total contrast to most of our taxi rides in Morocco!). Our guide Hassan was young but very professional, and spoke good English (his fourth language). He was interesting to talk to, with a good knowledge of the local flora, fauna and geography. Our muleteer Ibrahim was a splendid cook, providing three proper meals per day (with at least one cooked dish) even in the middle of nowhere. The overnight stops were in mountain village gîtes - the first in Tacheddirt was surprisingly smart, and the second in Timichi was more basic but still quite adequate. The scenery was absolutely superb; we'd like to think we might return for another trek in the Atlas mountains, and would certainly consider this agency again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aztat Treks - Day Tours also viewed

Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Aztat Treks - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aztat Treks - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.