We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Combined trip to High Atlas and Sahara” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Aztat Treks - Day Tours

Aztat Treks - Day Tours
Imlil, Morocco
+212 668-760165
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 Attractions in Imlil
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Based in Imlil year-round, Atlas Trek Shop (TM of Aztat Treks ) is an independent Berber operator owned by Mohamed Aztat, organising private trekking, camel-trekking & 4×4 adventure holidays in Morocco's epic outdoors, alongside tailor-made tours. We are a professional and competent team (Guides, Drivers, Muleteers, Cooks,..) lead by Mohamed & Ibrahim Aztat, two official mountain & desert tour guides Berber by origin and locals to the Imlil region.We are member & co-founder of "MTM" travel adventure company based in the high Atlas (Imlil) registred by the ministry of tourism under N° 20P/11
Ilkeston, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Combined trip to High Atlas and Sahara”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Guides:

Driver from Marrakech to Setti Fatma = Score 5 out of 5 - Great driver, very friendly and helpful

Rasheed = Score 100 out of 5 - Very difficult to score Rasheed, he is so polite, caring and helpful,with excellent mountain experience, it was an honour and a privilage to meet him and we class him as a friend and not just our guide.

Cook = Score 25 out of 5 - A very happy welcoming individual and an excellent cook was refreshing to see him after a tough walk always lifting our spirits.

Omar = Score 5 out of 5 - Excellent driver, we hold alot of respect for him for the amount of driving he did in one time, felt very safe with him he stayed with us and made sure that we got to our hotel no matter what.

Desert Guides = Score 5 out of 5 - Fun, Fun, Fun, with lots of singing, drums, dancing, and joke telling loved every minute of it with them.


Accomodation:

First Night from Setti Fatma = Score 3 out of 5 - Basic but clean and friendly, slightly cold as the door on the room would not shut properly
Second Night in mountains = Score 4 out of 5 - Clean and well kept, fantastic views and again very friendly
Third Night in Imlil = Score 5 out of 5 - Great hotel, very friendly welcoming and stylish, slippers on arrival were great along with the open fire and decor, we felt really at home.
Fourth Night in Dades Valley =Score 5 out of 5 - Amazing building with really beautiful decor, friendly staff and the most amazing food ever.
Fith Night in the Sahara - Score 5 out of 5 - Great set up in the desert, was supprised by the flush toilets in the middle of nowhere, was really authentic, cant comment on the hotel itself as it was only used as bag storage.

Food:
Score 5 out of 5 - All of our food was excellent with some special memories that have been made with our mountain cook and the hotel in the Dades valley with their fine cuisine and 6 course meal

Service:
Score 5 out of 5 - Excellent service with fast response to email,the only let down was on our part as we didnt realise how much driving was involved in the trip from Imlil to Merzouga and then on to Marrakech otherwise an amazing service.

Overall:
Score 5 out of 5 - We have had the most amazing trip and are very, very happy with the itinerary, service and teams that have been put together for us. We are now looking forward to coming back to Morocco and will most certainly be using your services again.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    6
    1
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, England
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
177 helpful votes 177 helpful votes
“Affordable, Awesome Aztat Treks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We enjoyed our week long trek and tour organised by Aztat Treks. Mohammed (owner) is honest and trustworthy as were all his team (guides, drivers etc along the way), you weren't hassled for money and we never felt unsettled or unsafe. The helpfulness of Mohammed in arranging the trip and the efforts of the muleteer and cook (another Mohammed) are to be commended, this was very well organised and we were well looked after on the trek. The food was amazing considering he was cooking after transporting goods up a mountain on a mule and the standard of the food was second to none.
After trekking and finishing at Mohammed's riad Dar Ardrar we continued the second part of our organised tour with a driver. The places we went to and the scenery we saw along the way were absolutely amazing, this involved some long days in the car resulting in little else other than driving. This didn't match what was in the itinerary as we did not have time for the quality time at some of the places we visited such as Ouarzazate studios and Dades Gorge, although the journey itself was still very interesting. The tour was good value for money, although some of the accommodations along the way were a bit too basic compared to what we were expecting. We seemed to stay in 2 star all the way, which is probably reflective of the price we paid, however if we booked in the future I would look into this a bit more, and would possibly expect to pay a bit more just to get a bit better standard of accommodation; although they were all clean and tidy.
I would definitely recommend Aztat Treks and we will be using them again in the future.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Well organised trek in spectacular scenery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 day trek from Imlil to Setti Fadma. Everything was very well organised by Mohamed, with a punctual pickup from our riad in Marrakesh, in a solid 4x4 with working seatbelts and a driver we felt safe with (in total contrast to most of our taxi rides in Morocco!). Our guide Hassan was young but very professional, and spoke good English (his fourth language). He was interesting to talk to, with a good knowledge of the local flora, fauna and geography. Our muleteer Ibrahim was a splendid cook, providing three proper meals per day (with at least one cooked dish) even in the middle of nowhere. The overnight stops were in mountain village gîtes - the first in Tacheddirt was surprisingly smart, and the second in Timichi was more basic but still quite adequate. The scenery was absolutely superb; we'd like to think we might return for another trek in the Atlas mountains, and would certainly consider this agency again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Hague, The Netherlands
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“A memorable honeymoon - for all the right reasons!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I contacted a number of tour companies several months ago trying to find the right fit to help me organise part of our honeymoon.
I had a number of replies and quotes which to a greater or lesser degree were able to offer us the kind of thing that we were looking for in the format of a “template” booking, where we would be expected to fit in around an existing format for a trek.
Mohamed at Aztat Treks was the only person to offer a bespoke service taking in to consideration the short check-list of desirable activities I had provided him with.
He sent a detailed proposal, with clear pricing and a good description of what to expect from their services.

I immediately felt confident that Aztat Treks would provide us with a good service and after doing a little bit of online research, I quickly learned that Mohamed was trustworthy and reliable.

When we arrived in Marrakech Mohamed was waiting at the train station to take us to the Riad he had arranged for us.

When we left Marrakech to start our trek his colleague collected us at 9am on the dot to drive us to the mountains. Everything was smooth, the riad had been paid for, there was nothing for us to worry about.

The car was a sturdy 4X4, with functioning seatbelts. We had a comfortable drive to meet our guide.

Brahim was waiting for us, alongside Mustapha, our muleteer / cook and the strong, healthy mule.

We instantly liked Brahim. He was friendly, calm, confident and knowledgable. He is a real class-act.
He struck just the right balance of giving us information, without bombarding us with endless facts. And walking with us without denying us time to be together.
He was fun to be with, interesting and interested and very intelligent.
We both had an enormous amount of respect for him.

Mustapha and our lovely mule were excellent too.
The food Mustapha managed to produce on a small stove, with a tagine was simply incredible.
It far outstripped any of the meals we had had in Marrakech. It was fresh, delicious and plentiful.
I am vegetarian, so I worried a little that I might not be able to eat enough during the trek. The reality was very different!

Mustapha created absolutely delicious meals, packed with flavour and lots of fresh ingredients.
These would be served to us in beautiful locations whilst we relaxed on cushions under a shady tree, accompanied by mint tea and the most breathtaking views imaginable.
The trek itself was everything we hoped it would be. Challenging enough for us to feel that we had achieved something by the evening, but not so difficult that we worried we’d bitten off more than we could chew.
We saw varied terrain, Berber villages and very few other walkers!
On the whole Brahim took us away from the overused trails, so it felt like a real adventure.
The scenery is spectacular – as Brahim said, “you see many different countries in Morocco” – the constantly changing surroundings proved that to be true. The trek really was the most memorable part of our honeymoon. We loved every moment of it.

The accommodation in the trekking lodge on the first night was basic but comfortable.
We were fed incredibly well by Mustapha again and slept like logs until a delicious breakfast (including porridge! – wonderful!) was served.

The accommodation in Dar Adra was great. Big comfortable bed, great shower and a FANTASTIC dinner cooked by Hamed (the charming and hardworking manager of the guest house) followed by an excellent breakfast on the roof terrace with more fabulous views.

The rest of the trek was excellent. A fun horse ride and efficient, on-time transfers to our next destination. I really cannot fault it.
Mohamed had everything arranged, kept a close eye on every part of proceedings and checked that we were happy with how things were going without being overbearing at all.

All I would say to other people using Aztat Treks would be:

· Have faith in Mohamed to deliver what you ask him to - communicate what your expectations are at the start of your enquiry,then trust Mohamed to deliver.

· Make sure you bring enough water with you (we stupidly forgot to pick up enough on the way to the mountains)

· Bring a hat (I don’t know why we ignored that piece of advice!!)

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Trekking around Imlil”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

Overall I enjoyed our 4-day trek in the Atlas mountains organised by Mohamed. If based solely on the helpfulness of Mohamed in arranging the trip and responding to questions etc prior to the trip, and on the efforts and hard work of the muleteer and cook (Rashid & Ibrahim) (and of course the mules!), I would have rated the trek 5/5. However, I felt that the trek was let down by the actual guide (also called Ibrahim) who did little to make the trek informative and interesting (may as well have done this trek with no guide...), and similar to another reviewer's comment, the guide wasn't very professional (too busy flirting to do his job properly!). Having said that, I've seen several positive comments on other guides that Mohamed uses so overall would recommend using Aztat Treks.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aztat Treks - Day Tours also viewed

Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Imlil, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Aztat Treks - Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aztat Treks - Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.