We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home in the High Atlas” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Tighoula

Save Saved
You added Dar Tighoula to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dar Tighoula
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Douar Aitsouka, Imlil 42152, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Imlil
Murchison, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Home away from home in the High Atlas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2014

Hadijah and Ahmed were so friendly and extremely helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Their concern for our welfare made us feel like family. When we left each day for our mountain excursions they were careful to ask which way we were going. Imlil is a great place for hiking. Ahmed will drive you back to Marrakesh for the price of a taxi or collect you in the first place. Dar Tighoula is a great place to stay on a low budget option. Meals were good and breakfast and afternoon tea were included in the room tariff. We would be very happy to return.

Room Tip: We had the choice of two rooms on the top floor which have an adjacent rooftop lounge. We chose the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    10
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
15
34
12
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2014

I highly recomend this hotel for anyone that needs to get away from it all.
The staff is beyond great and the location gives you a sense that time has stopped just for you to relax.
-- Thank you Ahmed for your berber hospitality ---

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We couldn't speak highly enough about Ahmed and his family. The guesthouse is cosy and friendly but what makes staying there great is the warm embrace from Ahmed and his lovely wife. When my husband became ill he took us in and rearranged our trek for us. We also learnt a lot about Berber culture and by the end of it were sorry to leave, we felt like we had made friends and would happily return - and will certainly recommend to friends :)

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Stayed in Dr Tighoula for 4 nights this February. The location is superb, in a quiet part of the village with great walks into the mountains nearby. The facilities are good and we had a very confortable stay despite the cold nights. What made Dar Toughoula exceptional however was the quality of the hosting provided by Ahmed and his family who went above and beyond to make our trip something I will remember very fondly for a long time. The food was absolutely delicious and we were also provided with mint tea in the afternoon and meals in the evening (evening meals were paid for extras - totally vegetarian too which we had asked for). Ahmed provided good advice for our walks and not only taxied us to Essaouira once our stay in Imlil had finished but also came from Imlil to Essaouira to taxi us back to Marrakech once our time was over there: this was hosting in another league, absolutley outstanding. Thank you very much Ahmed and family.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canterbury, Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We were picked up from our hotel in Marrakech and instantly felt confident in Ahmed. He drove us to Imlil with one stop en route to a womens cooperative where they pressed Argan oil. He left us with 3 nice guides for a trek in the mountains (our two children aged 11 and 7 rode the mules)
We stayed in Ahmed's house/hotel and loved everything about it. His wife provided the most delicious meals, and his son, great entertainment.
The following day we drove to a village for a camel trek, then went to a Berber market, which was all great. Ahmed took us up into the mountains for some very basic skiing - which we hadn't expected but were delighted as none of us had ski'd before. He then drove us back to our hotel in Marrakech. The whole time chatting freely and answering our millions of questions. Nothing was too much trouble for him.
He was lovely, honest, and provided us with his vast knowledge of Morocco. Not once did we feel pressured to consume tourist tat while with Ahmed and he took care of us very well.
I highly recommend using this tour company - Trekkingatlasmountains - and his hotel in Imlil.
If we go back to Morocco, we will definitely be staying with Ahmed, only for much longer than one night!!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

What a good feeling after rip-off after rip-off in Marrakech. These people were honest and welcoming. It's a family with 4 children and they built 8 extra rooms in their house to welcome hikers. When we arrived the whole family was working for us: the sons turned on the fireplace for us, the wives and daughters started cooking a delicious dinner and the father gave us advice about hiking opportunities (in French).

Oke, it's not a Marriott, but it's a very authentic Moroccan place that introduces you in the berber culture and next to beautiful hiking routes. We went in February and learned that we needed all kind of clothing: During the day it's 25 degrees and you need sunscreen (we were red as lobsters as we kind of underestimated that), at night it can be as cold as -10 celsius. And don't expect central heating here. We had a fireplace in our room, which was awesome and they brought us a gas heater. But as that's too dangerous (and smoky) to leave on during the night, it get's freezing cold. Be prepared!

For 15 euro's you get more than you pay for here, highly recommended!

Room Tip: In winter, ask for a room with a fire place. You will be glad you did.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

We stopped for a night last week in the guest house, while we were on a 5 day trek. Like many places in the Atlas Mountains, the amenities tend to be very basic. There was no heating in our bedroom, but there was a fire in the main guest / dinner room. Fortunately we had our sleeping bags and used these along with our bed sheets....so when it came to actually sleeping we were warm! I am sure in the summer months, it is a very different story and heating in the rooms aren't required. Our hosts were lovely people and the food provided was very traditional and good too. We are hoping to stop there again this summer, as we plan to hike Toubkal.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Tighoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tighoula

Address: Douar Aitsouka, Imlil 42152, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Imlil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Imlil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Tighoula 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Tighoula : It is in a safe and quiet place in Imlil close to the the main tourist attractions in imlil such like water falls and a few berber villages as it is close to the way of toubkal the highest peak in north of africa,it is built and furnished in a Moroccan style.The Riad Dar Tighoula features a large terrace with views of the Atlas Mountains.You can enjoy the hammam and free Wi-Fi access is provided in the public areas and free drinks time to time.The reakfast is served every morning on the terrace... Moroccan meals are prepared for dinner upon request,Our aim is not just to rent our guesthouse but also to show people our traditions,culture and offer them the opportunity to live and to discover the beauty of the berber life.In our riad you will know more about our traditional food,you will see how we prepare and serve tea, you will be able to ask and find answers For all your questions in real,not just from books and stories that you heard about our culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, Tingo, HostelBookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your Dar Tighoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Tighoula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.