We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best in Marrakech” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Tighoula

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Dar Tighoula to your Saves list
Dar Tighoula
2.0 of 5 Lodge   |   Douar Aitsouka, Imlil 42152, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Imlil
Varsovie
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best in Marrakech”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

I came to Dar Tighoula for peace and calm, surrounded by beautiful nature while experiencing traditional Moroccan hospitality and it exceeded all my expectations. A beautiful place to relax with great food and excellent service from the kind and friendly Family,
Tank you, Ahmed, Saida, Asan.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    11
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
16
35
14
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Warszawa, Poland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

If you are looking for a true Berber experience with good-hearted, humble and honest people this is the place you want to go to. I stayed at Dar Tighoula for more than a week and I didn't want to leave. The family who run the place will make you feel at home. The house is very clean and the food is excellent. Feel free to ask the owner (fluent english not to mention french) about any advice regarding your trip. You can fully trust his opinion and help. Staying at Imlil was one of the best travel experiences I have ever had. I would highly recommend this place to anyone who is interested in meeting true Berber people and finding out how good and magical they are. The surroundings are spectacular. Enjoy it.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We were a little unsure as we entered this unusually decorated property. Coming from Marakech where we were pummelled by bargaining all day, we expected some sort of dodgy deal going on. BUT after one night, we realised that we had stumbled upon a gem in the hills. We extended our stay in the mountains for two more nights, because of how at home we were made to feel.
Ahmed and his family run this homestyle b&b with incredible views from the rooftop.
Breakfast was included, which consisted of the most amazing spreads and honey, and the best butter i'd ever tasted..
Ahmed and his family are the epitome of the words "gracious hosts" and were accommodating in every way possible.
If you stay - GET THE DINNER - it's delicious and cheap.
Ahmed's brother is an expert mountain guide (if you need one). We were adventurous and decided to hike ourselves, but the family gave us plenty of information and passed local knowledge to ensure our safe exploring!!
It was a beautiful experience, and we were lucky enough to accidentally book during the Feast of the Sacrifice festival in October which gave us insight into very traditional festivities that were a mix of Muslim, Berber and Jewish tradition. Very special.
Some tips:
If you need something, just ask for it. If the water's cold, ask about it. If the internet stops working, just let them know. etc etc.. they are gracious and will listen.
(there are no ATMs, or alcohol on the mountain, so take them if you need them)
ENJOY!!

Room Tip: We enjoyed our room upstairs.. they can move beds about to accommodate different travellers' nee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012 via mobile

I spent one night here and wished I could have stayed longer. the location is amazing, the views are spectacular from the roof top. Have your breakfast, which is included in the sun up there. Yummiest honey and fresh butter I have ever tasted! The owner, Ahmed, and his family are so lovely and helpful. He speaks good English and will help you with your journey and suggest treks for you to take, along with a hand drawn map...
Book a home cooked meal there to have a real local experience .. yum!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sliedrecht, The Netherlands
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Stayed a week in Imlil, and of that 2 days in Dar Tighoula. Had a very pleasant stay!
Ahmad and his wife are very friendly, always willing to help and makes you feel welcome and at home. Rooms are arranged with care. Bathroom I had was a bit dark, but with hot water.
Breakfast is lovely and tea is possible during the day. The dinner I had was always great, for a good price. Laundry was done on request.
The other days I spend in the mountains with a trekking, which we arranged wit Ahmad. That also worked out very well!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jena, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We arrived at night and the house was so welcoming, Ahmed and his family really made us feel at home. The food is delicious and homely,
Once we woke up in the morning we were confronted by this amazing view over the mountains and had breakfast on the terrace.
We had a days trek with another Ahmed through the Berber villages. It was so insightful to see how the Berber's live, Ahmed even took us to his house for mint tea!
I am looking forward to going back and doing more treks and to see Ahmed and his lovely family.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We stayed in the suite and enjoyed the the beautifull views of the mountains.
The hotel has it all Great views, a warm comforting atmosphere,. The food was very high quality Room were beautifully decorated with amazing views

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dar Tighoula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Tighoula

Address: Douar Aitsouka, Imlil 42152, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Imlil
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Imlil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Dar Tighoula 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Tighoula : It is in a safe and quiet place in Imlil close to the the main tourist attractions in imlil such like water falls and a few berber villages as it is close to the way of toubkal the highest peak in north of africa,it is built and furnished in a Moroccan style.The Riad Dar Tighoula features a large terrace with views of the Atlas Mountains.You can enjoy the hammam and free Wi-Fi access is provided in the public areas and free drinks time to time.The reakfast is served every morning on the terrace... Moroccan meals are prepared for dinner upon request,Our aim is not just to rent our guesthouse but also to show people our traditions,culture and offer them the opportunity to live and to discover the beauty of the berber life.In our riad you will know more about our traditional food,you will see how we prepare and serve tea, you will be able to ask and find answers For all your questions in real,not just from books and stories that you heard about our culture ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, HostelBookers, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Dar Tighoula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dar Tighoula, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.