We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WOW!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Imlil

Save Saved
You added Riad Dar Imlil to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar Imlil
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centre Village, Imlil 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Imlil
Plymouth
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“WOW!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Wonderful Riad - spacious room, huge bed, fantastic welcome by the staff, great views... can't recommend highy enough. We came here for 2 nights from Marrakech for the walking with Trek in Atlas and the hot bath after 8 hours walk was very welcome. The food was great - nice breakfasts too. I was worried we would feel the cold at night but the room was very toasty and we had a roaring woodburner to create a lovely atmosphere and kick out the heat at meal times.

Room Tip: First floor rooms have a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    79
    22
    7
    1
    1
See reviews for
14
66
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Betws-y-Coed, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2013

We booked our transfer to Imlil through Abdou and arrived at night. Abdou showed us to a room and we had been upgraded from our original booking as the superior rooms were empty. Abdou our host was insistent that 'guests happiness' was the most important and we could not fault the service we received. Breakfast and dinner were served next to the log fire and our feet were toasty with the underfloor heating. It was an amazing start to our trekking holiday. Imlil was a good base with lots of local knowledge with which we could plan our trip.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

We stayed in this Riad on New Year's eve to escape the madness of Marrakech and give ourselves a honeymoon treat. We loved it. The surrounding scenery is stunning - we had paid for a room with a balcony and it was well worth it. The room itself was beautiful and cosy. Abdou and his team were fantastic. We had dinner in the restaurant (which was traditional and delicious) in front of a roaring fire and as a special New Year's treat Abdou had arranged for his friends/family to entertain us with some Berber singing and dancing. LOVED IT! Abdou got everyone involved and it was a great experience. The following day we were able to keep the room until our taxi (booked by Abdou) came later in the afternoon. Huge thanks to Abdou and his team for such an excellent (and different!) new year.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

My cousin suggested Dar Imlil as a treat - it was amazing. After the craziness of Marrakech spending 2 nights in the mountains was very relaxing.

TIP: While they offer a car to pick you up at EUR85, you find that a taxi returning to Marrakech will take you for 300D and it doesnt seem very hard to get there. When you make a booking they send instructions and I think it would be quite easy to get there with a grande taxi.

While the rooms may seem expensive for Morocco it was worth it; the room was very clean and comfortable.

We did one of the day walks which was good, it's probably easy to go off on your own but having a guide enabled us to walk to areas we wouldn't have gone otherwise.

Enjoyed the sauna.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

We stayed 3 nights in this lovely Riad. Like many we were upgraded and got the beautiful Room 9. It's was cold when we arrived in Imlil and our greatest bliss was to walk into Room 9 with its gorgeous under floor heating ! ! ! Bliss. . . . Abdul and his team were great and very helpful throughout and breakfast is very generous!!!! Highly Recommend

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012 via mobile

We arrived when it was already very dark. We had pre-arranged a taxi to pick us up through Abdou for 30 euros. Driver was confident and when we reached Dar Imlil, it started to snow which made the atmosphere really magical.

Entered Dar Imlil and was immediately served hot peppermint tea and nuts. Gracious welcome indeed! Abdou upgraded our room and it was spacious and absolutely beautiful! The balcony's view was exceptional and it's phenomenal. Snow mountains just outside, simply amazing!

We had dinner at Dar Imlil and it was delicious. Chicken tangine was soft and aromatic and was filling. Price for dinner was 150 dirhams per person. Worth it! Hassan served our dinner and he was polite and gracious. Amazing service. We decided to have dinner the next night as well. Was a good choice as the other British couple said that they had dinner at a shop nearby and there was no heating, so they were eating delicious food but shivering. Dinner was a cozy affair. The chocolate bread pudding is fantastic!

We explored the town on our own. It was minus 6 degrees but it was manageable. First time I touched snow! Historical moment definitely. People around the area were polite and will greet you. Felt very secure in the area. Kids were friendly as well and we spoke to people who were chimney makers, and other random people. Some even offered us a cup of tea in their homes.

Place was beautiful and overall, the coziness of Dar Imlil would forever remain in our minds. We keep talking about the delicious food and the picturesque views.

One of their staff even recognized us and talked to us when we were visiting Marrakech. Very sweet lady. :)

One improvement I can suggest is to have proper heating in the room. That was our only gripe. Didn't ruin the experience at all as long abayas were provided which helped warm me up.

Paying by credit card would also have helped :) so do get ready cash.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

This is a great little riad, with about a dozen rooms, all of a reasonable size. Plenty of terraces for lying out in the sun. The noise of the fast flowing river is always present. Meals are good, and the manager speaks good English and is very helpful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Riad Dar Imlil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Imlil

Address: Centre Village, Imlil 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Imlil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Ski-In / Ski-Out Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 hotels in Imlil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Imlil 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Venere so you can book your Riad Dar Imlil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Imlil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.