We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Groupon success!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar Imlil

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Riad Dar Imlil to your Saves list
Riad Dar Imlil
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Centre Village, Imlil 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Imlil
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Groupon success!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

By chance saw a Groupon deal for £79 for two nights at Riad Dar Imlil with a hammam and a donkey trek. This became one of the highlights of our trip.

The free breakfast included cereal, yoghurt, eggs, crepes, honey & jam and tea (both black and mint) and coffee and fresh juice. Great if you're prepping for one of the many treks around the mountain area. Dinner and lunch can be arranged in the riad on the terrace (spectacular views) at a price but there are plenty of nice and cheap cafes and restaurants just up the road.

The terrace provides beautiful views and the greenery has been well placed to block out the "less scenic" road and the village lights at night. The roof is a fantastic place to get some incredible pictures of the high Atlas.

The room (standard double) was enormous compared to equivalent room sizes in Marrakesh. Lovely views from the balcony. A huge comfy bed with spare blankets and pillows. Tea and coffee facilities. Free use of the minibar. Wifi router and satellite TV. A bath! And Berber dressing gowns and slippers perfect for the cooler nights.

Abdu and the staff are very helpful and attentive. Would definitely recommend a trip to Imlil and a stay at Dar Imlil, even without the Groupon discount.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    25
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
23
85
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edale, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

We arrived with no booking, and the price given was really reasonable.
The staff were welcoming and generous, and had endless time to discuss trekking options & lend us maps.
The room was clean & spacious & there was plenty of hot water.
The food was great - huge varied breakfasts, with never-ending tea and freshly-squeezed orange juice. Evening meals were simple - the choice was evening meal or no evening meal - but delicious, home cooked, traditional and plentiful.
Abdul was great, and the rugs we bought through him are fantastic back in our home.
I would recommend this riad, it really was the high spot (literally) in our honeymoon in Morocco. A fantastic place to walk/trek/run/bike from. Or just take in the views!
I really hope we return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012 via mobile

A very friendly place with gorgeous rooms looking out on the mountains. We were upgraded to a superior room as the place was almost empty, meaning we had an enormous room with a very comfortable bed, a fridge, a kettle, free drinks and an enormous balcony. The place is very peaceful and very welcoming. The food is also very nice. As there isn't much to do in Imlil in the evenings, having a nice place to stay makes all the difference.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

What a great place to visit.

I visited with my boyfriend in late August as part of our trek to Toubkal. The rooms we stayed in were lovely, clean, airy, with great views of the mountains and big, clean bathrooms with lots of hot water. We had been upgraded twice to a lovely suite with balconies! I'm confident that the standard rooms would also be of great quality.

The food was tasty and plentiful - really great local cooking with lots of fresh vegetables - the best tagine we had in Morocco and lovely soup and fresh fruit. Breakfast was also plentiful with lots of fresh orange juice. I arrived from Marrakesh with a dodgy tummy and was given some lovely thyme tea, which really helped!

All of the staff, particularly Abdu and Hassan, were especially friendly and helpful, providing lots of information about the surrounding area and generally went out of their way to make our stay special.

Really also enjoyed playing scrabble and chess on the terrace which overlooks the mountains...

A bit of a problem when we were leaving with the card machine meant that my boyfriend had to run up to the Kasbah to pay by card - he's very capable and fit, but someone else might have struggled so it could be useful to bring cash to pay.

Otherwise, can't recommend this place highly enough. A lovely and relaxing place to arrive at from the busy city or returning from the trek to Toubkal. Definitely one of the highlights of our trip.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, ON
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We stayed here in the village of Imlil and have to say that absolutely everything was great about this place. Very warm and welcoming, clean and comfortable, with great staff and great views. We had a great view from our balcony and the rooms were a nice size. The food here was sooo good that I wish I could be there right now for another delicious meal. They were very helpful throughout our stay there and helped to organize our luggage transfer up to the Kasbah where we stayed afterwards.

Nothing negative to say here, highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nttingham
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

We arrived at Dar Imlil, waiting to be checked in to our 'standard room', only to be told we'd been upgraded to a 'Suite'! We had got an internet rate of £40 pounds for the standard room, and when I checked online, once in the room from my iphone, the cost of the the Suite was £143, so you can imagine our delight at such an upgrade. Although the guesthouse was lovely, and we had benefited a free upgrade, I couldn't help but feel how they could really justify that amount for the room. I'm not sure I think it was really worth that amount. However, saying that, we had a lovely one night break at the guesthouse, before we began our 3 day trek the following day.
The staff were very pleasant, and once we were shown to our room, we were offered free tea and coffee with a bowl of nuts/sweet biscuits and dates. We arrived late in the afternoon, but were still asked if we wanted an evening meal at the guesthouse for 150 Dirhams each. Although we had heard the food was lovely here, this was slightly beyond our budget, and when we saw others eating here the food smelt and looked delicious. (We ventured down into the village and ate at another guesthouse). Breakfast however, was more than sufficient with an abundance of fruit, pastries, jams, teas/coffee/fresh juice - just what we needed to stock up for our mountain trek!
The suite we were given was lovely and spacious, with a huge double bed and a gorgeous, oversized mirror on the wall next to it. We had a lovely seating area, with a couple of sofas, as well as a long, thin balcony, overlooking some trees, which was nice to sit and drink our mint tea at. The bathroom was also clean and spacious, with hot running water, and shampoos & a hairdryer provided etc. The room also had a kettle so you could make tea/coffee, which was also provided. There was a lovely communal terrace, with some interestingly desgined chairs made of wood/tree branches, where we sat reading in the late afternoon sun, overlooking the village of Imlil, and watching young local children play in the river. They also had a communal roftop terrace which again gave amazing views as you sat relaxing from here. I would def recommend taking a warm jumper for the eve's, as once the sun sets, it is very cold! However, if you are cold, there were ponchos etc provided for you to wear, as well as additional blankets for the bed. I would def stay at this guesthouse again if I was passing through here, although be aware that if you are not here to trek, there is nothing else for Imlil to really offer as a place!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holmfirth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012 via mobile

We drove into the village until we found the guardian for the parking in the centre of the village (where the bridge crosses the stream). Almost instantly our luggage was transported upto the hotel which perches above the stream. We had a family of four of us in one deluxe suite- and that worked perfectly for us. The room was large with lovely views up towards the mountains, and a pair of sliding doors onto a covered balcony area. The room, and the rest of the hotel is well decorated and clean and the views from the terraces are brilliant. I thoroughly recommend that you go to the upper terrace after dark and look at the mountains and stars. We ate in the restaurant two nights- the food was traditional and very tasty. Breakfasts were excellent too. The wifi worked throughout the hotel- not always the case in Morocco. A fantastic hotel, staff and location- we are really keen to come back and Dar Imlil will definitely be our first choice of hotel.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Riad Dar Imlil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Imlil

Address: Centre Village, Imlil 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Imlil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Imlil
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Imlil 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, EasyToBook, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Despegar.com and HostelBookers so you can book your Riad Dar Imlil reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Riad Dar Imlil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.