We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful tropical paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tropical Attitude

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Tropical Attitude to your Saves list
Tropical Attitude
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Pelouse, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful tropical paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

For a 3 star hotel, this punches above its weight! Staff were helpful and friendly. Rooms were simple and beautiful - beds really large and comfortable! Views were stunning from virtually every room. Food did get a little bit repetitive, but was fresh and well prepared, and the local wines were much better than expected. I'll definitely be going back - highly recommended!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have great balconies overlooking water - a bit more private than the downstairs rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear guest,

We warmly thank you for your recommendation and kind words on Tropical Attitude, and are especially grateful for your appreciations of the attentive service of our ‘Family Members’.

We look forward to welcoming you again in our ‘tropical paradise’,

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

676 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    369
    192
    70
    27
    18
See reviews for
95
462
26
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We were well looked after by delightful staff at this hotel. The room was adequate, simple and clean, with a lovely sea view. The pool was small, but never crowded. We felt the food lacked interest. We stayed for two weeks and were very bored with the minimal choice on offer.

We enjoyed very much going diving with Ben Cadet at Dive Passion. Great small outfit, with friendly, personal service. As I was a previously nervous diver, I felt safe in Ben and Stephans capable hands and came away from my holiday feeling much more confidant.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Clare,

We thank you for your kind words on our personnel and hotel facilities and your constructive feedback on our food offering.

Please note that our buffet and table d’hôte menu rotate on a 14-day program to ensure our guests do not sample the same food twice. Our Chefs also always try to add a local touch to everything they serve. Nevertheless, your comments will be shared with the F&B team.

Ben from Dive Passion sends his greetings.

We would be pleased to welcome you again in ‘our home’,

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed at this hotel on our honeymoon. Beautiful location, small hotel, very clean and nicely decorated. We had a very relaxing stay and enjoyed most of the food and the drinks. However, we personally found some evenings a bit too quiet with hardly any entertainment provided and the staff seemed eager to wrap up for the night, some nights the lights were taken away as early as 10.30! Other than that we had an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: All rooms seemed similar, we stayed in room 206.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear guest,

We thank you once again for choosing Tropical Attitude for your Honeymoon in Mauritius and for your kind words, which have been shared with all the ‘Family Members’.

We wish to apologise for the inconvenience and have taken this up with our team so as to ensure the experience is not disturbed.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back once again ,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

The minute we stepped out of the Taxi on our arrival we had a warm welcome. We were in room 106 and as soon as the curtain was opened the view was fantastic - If heaven is like that, then don't be afraid - the room was clean and tidy a credit to the staff
Food was really good with many variation to tempt you alway served with a smile and a joke
All staff really friendly and nothing to much trouble for them
They should change the name to Topical Paradise as this hotel and staff did not have an attitude.
Mrs & Mrs Cooper

Room Tip: All rooms are excellant
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Dear Beverley,

All the ‘Family Members’ of Tropical Attitude join me in thanking you for your warm review of Tropical Attitude and your kind words on the sense of Hospitality of our personnel.

Your depiction of our Hotel honours us and we would be pleased to welcome you again in our ‘Tropical Paradise’,

Warm regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

My fiancée and I stayed at this fantastic hotel in the most beautiful surroundings of this tropical paradise. The rooms were great and have recently been renovated. We stayed in room 403, which has a balcony overlooking the lagoon. What more could you ask for. The food was really good, with a selection of authentic and international dishes.

A big thank you to all the staff, especially Christophe,Sunny & Sooraj. They all made our stay at the Tropical Attitude one of the best holidays we've been on.

Also a big thank you to Bertie at the boat house, who organised trips to the Rivière Noire & Ile aux Cerfs. Also Ben from Dive Passion, who instructed me on my first scuba dive. A true professional. The dive in the lagoon was breath taking. The reef and the fish were amazing. I have a real taste for scuba diving now. I would recommend it to anyone.

All in all this is a brilliant hotel and we would definitely stay here again when we come back to Mauritius.

Regards Ross Greer (From Scotland)

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Ross,

I would like to thank you for your kind words and warm appreciations of our Hotel and personnel, which have been shared with all the ‘Family Members’ of Tropical Attitude and Ben from Dive Passion.

We are truly grateful for your note of 5 out of 5 and your recommendation to other travellers.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you in our ‘home’ and we would be delighted to seeing you again next time you visit Mauritius,

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

We added on a few nights in Mauritius following a safari in Kenya and to be honest, had higher expectations of not just this hotel but of the Island as a whole.

The hotel was clean and tidy, staff were always available (but perhaps not always as friendly as they could be) and the quality of the food was fine.

However, there were a couple of major disappointments for us. The first one being the lack of beach in front of the hotel, we must have been going to the a different place to some of the other reviewers but in order for us to access a beach we could lie on and snorkel from we had to walk about 15-20 minutes around the corner, and when the tide was in you actually had to climb around and over a wall with a 5 foot drop at your side (not ideal!)

Also, the food quality was fine but the selection was minimal, my husband has a nut allergy (which we disclosed to the hotel the minute we arrived) but at least 50% of the food served had some form of nut in, meaning his options were limited futher. Even though the management were aware of this no effort was made to offer him alternatives (in fact, I wonder why they asked at all because he actually got served a dish covered in nuts by the waiter so obviously it wasnt communicated to the staff!)

Ile aux cerfs was a major disappoinment for us - I have written a seperate review of this. But the picnic lunch provided by the hotel was actually one of the better meals we had so I would recommend this.

Finally, the day we arrived we got in from Nairobi at 8pm (so were only able to use a few hours of our all inclusive allowance) and the day we left we got picked up at 5pm, however we still had to pay to have lunch at the hotel as our all inclusive allowance ended at 12pm! I realise this is standard hotel practice but feel a little goodwill would not have gone amiss in this situation.

All in all, Mauritius was really disappoining, we found the island quite scruffy overall (litter on the beaches, dogs everywhere, bins overflowing on Ile aux cerfs), perhaps the other side of the Island is nicer.

We may make the flight over here again in the future but we definately would not stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: all rooms are sea facing in 2 storey blocks - our preferance is for a higher floor but if you have a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

We would like to thank you for your review on your recent stay at Tropical Attitude.

We have taken good note of your remarks and would like to address some of the concerns raised in your post, especially regarding food allergy - as we consider the well-being of our guests as being paramount.

We have indeed investigated your comments with regards to the presence of nuts in our daily food offering. Your husband’s allergy was well noted and shared with all those concerned in the restaurant and with our head-chef. We do understand that allergies to nuts are a common occurrence and therefore minimize the presence of these in our daily buffets and / or table d’hote menus. We do confirm the presence of nuts on our Mauritian buffet evening and the latter is served as a dessicated coconut and crushed nuts chutney. This item is present with other condiments and all are clearly labelled and displayed so as to facilitate the guest’s choice. We do take every possible precaution in assisting our guests with their personal allergies and food restrictions during their stay.

Tropical Attitude does not have a beachfront on its door-step (and does not advertise it as such) but offers free daily shuttles to Isle aux Cerfs, one of the most beautiful beaches on the Island.

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

This small hotel is certainly big in character.It gives you a warm welcome with a friendly smile coming
from everyone from reception right through to the gardeners.All the staff had a cheerful hello for you,
The food was good and well presented with many variations of salad,fish,and chicken dishes to tempt
you.drinks were quickly delivered when you ordered with a large choice of cocktails included.
Added bonuses, the free boat transfers to ile aux cerfs three times daily plus other trips could be arranged with reception.Rooms were very clean with towels and bed linen changed every day, all have
a sea view.Swimming pool clean but not too large,though a sun trap if you want a tan.Thanks to all the staff we had a great time at a great little hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms are sea view with the same facilities so all are acceptable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotels_attitude, Jean-Paul Martin at Tropical Attitude, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear guest,

The entire team at Tropical Attitude joins me in thanking you for your kind depiction of our Hotel and facilities; we are particularly grateful for your kind words on the attentive service of our personnel.

It will be a pleasure to welcome you back at Tropical Attitude,

Kind regards,

Jean-Paul Martin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Tropical Attitude? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Attitude

Address: La Pelouse, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tropical Attitude 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Attitude with its gentle way of life is a 3 star sup "Adult Only" hotel, recently renovated and smartened up, built in the middle of a garden planted with coconut trees and right on the lagoon.The hotel faces Trou d'Eau Douce, a genuine fishermen's village and its lagoon, situated on the east coast, and offers direct and free access to paradisiacal Ile aux Cerfs island.The genuineness of the hotel relies on its Creole architecture and its contemporary tropical decoration. The new luminous colours of the 60 rooms contribute to their relaxed atmosphere.This friendly and comfortable hotel is a witness of the traditional way of life of the island, an ideal place to relax either as a family or as a couple.Time here, seems to have come to a standstill, only interrupted by outings in the lagoon and siestas under the coconut trees. The simplicity and kindness of its Family Members* contribute widely to that dolce vita experience... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Tropical Attitude reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Le Tropical
Tropical Attitude Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tropical Attitude, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.