We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good, not the best :)” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Bougainville

Save Saved
You added Hotel Bougainville to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Bougainville
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   La Pelouse, La Pelouse, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius   |  
Hotel amenities
Bratislava, Slovakia
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very good, not the best :)”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

Very nice place to spend relaxing honeymoon or holiday. Big positive is a beautiful beach, where you can take a long walk with amazing views on turquoise ocean and white sand or just lounge under umbrella on a sunbed. During our stay we had a calm ocean with a pleasant breeze, only last day it was more windy with waves and seagrass. Snorkeling is nice, but boring in one hour.. :) Staff in Bougainville is extremely helpful and friendly. Let me mention Pinky and Pooja, girls with smile in every situation :) Rooms are simple, little bit old, cleaned up every day, with balcony or terrace. When you stay in a ground floor it is a little bit public, you have no privacy, because everyone who is walking through the grounds peer on you :) In the room was a kettle, coffee, tea, good working AC, TV, no fridge. Simple, but sufficient. The only negative is unfortunately the food. Poor selection for breakfast, poor selection for lunch and dinner. Maybe the hotel should stop offer All inclusive and stay by the half board. Food is not tasty, sorry, but we didn't like it. We only enjoyed pancakes and our honeymoon dinner. But food is really matter of opinion, so maybe other people like it :) Pool is small, but clean. Bougainville is a small, family, friendly hotel, 50minutes from airport and we really liked the stay here. Very good value for money!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

424 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    170
    161
    60
    18
    15
See reviews for
84
251
19
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

We stayed at Bougainville Hotel with my husband and 2 sons(7, 8) from 04 DEC - 11 DEC 2013 and had a lovely time. Our family room was spacious and clean, hotel has very relaxing, well maintained garden, nice swimming pool and beautiful beach.
We really appreciated rental of kayaks, peddal boats and snorkeling equipment, all free of charge. Children didn't have any problems with corals on the beach and refused to wear shoes - no need for it.
Having read some reviews here on Tripadvisor we were worried about the food little bit but there was no problem at all. There was always selection of fresh fruit for breakfast, pastries, cereals, yogurts, eggs etc., selection of salads for lunch and dinner, usually some chicken and fish, rice, vegetables. Kitchen staff even offered to prepare something different for our children but they have enjoyed the buffet. All staff was always very friendly and attentive.
We booked 2 trips through Lamas ("man on the beach"), Ile Aux Cerf and fishing trip, both of them were really good and excellent value for money. Hotel chef also prepared the fish we caught , making it special occasion for our family. Thanks to all of you at Bougainville, we had a great time and we hope to come back again. Ivana from Prague

Room Tip: We stayed at 201, very close to reception,therefore wifi in the room :). But they are rooms with bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

If you want to go to Mauritius to a beautiful beach, have good food, friendly service and not get ripped off, this hotel is what you´re looking for. Go only in the summer, since in the winter this side of the island is windy (unless you want to do water sports, for which it would be a paradise in the winter - with your own equipment, there is no rental service in this beach - ).
We went a family of four including a 4 year old and a 1 year old and we had a very pleasant holiday.
Out of the hotel there is not much to go by foot. Out of the 7 days we spent there, 2 days we did a day excursion. One to Ile Aux Cerfs, really close to the hotel and 100% worthwhile. It was really beautiful. It is a public beach but totally cleaned and full of services (restaurants, sports, etc). The downside is that it can get a bit crowded.
You must be aware of one thing that could happen to you in the hotel if you come in peak season, and this is something I had never experienced in a hotel, only in flights. They do overbooking and you might be of the ones that get relocated to another hotel. I met two groups to which this happened. They offered them free massage, lobster, etc, but I really wouldn´t like this to happen to me whatsoever in a hotel you have planned (and paid!!!) long months earlier and which you might have selected because you thought it was the best choice you could find for the money you wanted to spend. The two groups were relocated to Emeraud hotel, from the same chain, in case you are curious to see where you could end up. What I heard from them is that they preferred Bouganville. Also you need to cross a road to get to the beach, although it is a really easy and narrow road and you are just there, but if you are with small kids it could be a slight bit more of a problem (honestly, not a big deal).
Lastly, cleaning. Though generally good, I felt that in the restaurant where breakfast and dinner was served, the glasses were not always as clean as they should be. A couple of times I asked to have my glass changed. Cleaning in the rooms was quite good, towels were changed every day.
The bathroom in our room, at least, didn´t have a window, something that was not a big deal for me but bothered quite a lot to my wife.
Overall, I recommend the hotel and I would definately go back.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms with real sea view of which I didn´t even know about before making my booking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

great staff can't do enough for you, beautiful beach great hotel, had the best time ever we will be returning here again for sure cant praise this hotel and staff enough thanks to Pinky,Iqbal and the rest of the staff for a great time.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013 via mobile

Arrived on the 10th December on arrival greeted with drinks and a very warm welcome, the hotel staff are exceptional willing to go the extra mile anything you need they will accommodate your needs from the reception to the bar staff cleaners and maintain emcee staff they are all very friendly, the room and hotel was cleaned to a high standard, the food was great only one day where we were a little disappointed (portion size)but when we spoke to reception we were offered an alternative. The beach is the beautiful very clean, shops were a 15 mins walk away where you could buy gifts, swim wear and food cheaply. We hired a car and went on the dolphin swim though Pinky and she got us a great deal this was a great day out.
Another nice touch was the late checkout that was give to us our flight was 11 pm and we were given it free of charge until we were ready to to leave.
Also if you are a football fan you are more than welcome to watch premier league Ames as a lot of the staff are Man U and Liverpool fans so we had great banter . We would highly recommend this hotel and we can't wait to return here. Thanks for the best holiday ever.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2013

my stay at bougainville was awsome ....the friendly staff- always willing to go the extra mile - all the barmans and waiters always willing to make my stay and family a super trip - they always entertained my son Ethan Liam Moodley .....I cannot remember all the names but they performed great service and yesterday was my wifes Stephanies birthday ...excellent food Lobsters and prawns and they even baked a vinilla cake which was delious .....my two favorites receptions...pinky and pooja , always with a smile ....food and stay well worth it and i definately will return with my South farican firends and family

Seelan Moodley

Room Tip: choose one closer towards the pool area then its less walk to the eating place
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wheathampstead, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2013

This was a wonderfully friendly homely hotel with really great staff who provide a 5 star service and nothing is too much trouble. The rooms were very spacious and clean, with fresh sheets and towels every day. Many thanks to all the staff for making our holiday so great and especially to Avinash and his staff for the wonderful breakfasts and providing bacon when we wanted it. Also to his wonderful chef who prepared and cooked the fish that the boys caught when they went out deep sea fishing, which was enjoyed by many of the lovely people we met. The hotel and beach was fabulous and really great value.

If you are booking a trip it's best to go with La Mass who you will find on the beach.

The sea and snorkeling is great. Overall we had a superb holiday at an excellent price. It's not 5 start but the staff and service are. We did have a 2 couples who did nothing but moan from the moment they got there and we were all pleased to see the back of them when they moved to another hotel, but really the hotel is wonderful along with the staff. Thank you to all of you.

Room Tip: Take beach shoes as the coral is a little uncomfortable as you enter the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hotel Bougainville? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bougainville

Address: La Pelouse, La Pelouse, Trou d'eau Douce, Mauritius
Location: Mauritius > Flacq District > Trou d'eau Douce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
#4 Romantic Hotel in Trou d'eau Douce
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Bougainville 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bougainville is a 3 star hotel of relaxed atmosphere, situated in Trou d’Eau Douce, along the east coast of Mauritius.Built along a very wide beach of fine white sand and a protected lagoon, the hotel is appreciated, among other things, for its genuineness, its welcome and the availability of its staff.The 51 comfortable and simple rooms are nested in warm ochre bungalows in total harmony with the trees and flowers of the garden around.Guests are guaranteed total exotic new surroundings between the swaying branches of the filao trees, the elegant paradisiacal Ile aux Cerfs on the horizon and the lagoon with its hues of blues and greens.Bougainville hotel is totally adapted for a relaxing holiday as a couple, a family or a group of friends. Sea activities lovers are spoilt. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bougainville reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bougainville Hotel Mauritius
Hotel Bougainville Mauritius/Trou D'eau Douce

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Bougainville, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.